We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Hotel in the Heart of Eindhoven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel Lumiere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Boutique Hotel Lumiere to your Saves list
Boutique Hotel Lumiere
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hooghuisstraat 31 A, 5611 GS Eindhoven, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Eindhoven
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“City Hotel in the Heart of Eindhoven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice stylish hotel in the heart / pedestrian zone of Eindhoven! Renovated rooms. Clear minus: no breakfast room in hotel! You can have breakfast in a bakery next door. Plus: selection! :-) minus: limited space and small tables! Over all: nice hotel not perfect for business trips!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    47
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
74
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amersfoort, Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Lastbweekend we stayed in boutique hotel Lumiere for the second time and it was fabulous again. The rooms are beautiful and spacious, the beds are extremely comfortable and breakfast at 'bakkertje Bol' feels like being in a candy store where you can choose anything you like. Location is very central with shops, restaurants, bars and railway station all in walking distance. Officially a three star accommodation this definitely feels like a fourvstar hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a top quality hotel right in the centre of Eindhoven. The room I had was an upgrade, which I paid for, it's worth doing that as it was a fantastic room.
Extremely clean, very stylish and HUGE room.
Good sleep quality, great bathroom.
Service also very friendly at the desk - nice and helpful. Free Wi-Fi is always nice and this is provided along with a discount sheet for nearby restaurants. Also free water in the room is very welcome.
The only slight negative if I am truly picky is the lack of restaurant, but breakfast is served at the bakery, unfortunately I didn't have time to try it.
Would be back if I am anywhere near Eindhoven to this great place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The first room we were given had a nasty problem - a very strong smell of mold. Fortunately, we were moved to another room at our first request (and even given an upgrade). What we cannot understand - they were not surprised when we complained about the smell, so why did they give us this room in the first place?

Hotel is located near the main shopping street and is in a short walk from the Central Station. Staff is very friendly, however make sure to notify them if you need an early check-out, as there is no-one at the reception desk during the night. The rooms look somewhat tired - walls are scratched in some places, the flooring seems to have not been touched during the last refurbishment, as it stands out from the overall decor. The bathroom however is very clean and recently renewed. The beds were too soft for our liking. Breakfast is served at a bakery next door, but it's not worth ordering it through the hotel - you'll end up paying more.

Overall, it can be a good place to stay if there is more effort put into it.

Room Tip: Avoid the room next to the laundry - it seems to have a mold problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed at this Hotel for 2 nights from 11/09 on reviews from Tripadvisor. This is a great hotel in the centre of the town. Upgraded to an exec. room on arrival. Great Nespresso coffee machine in bedroom and a nice bathroom with large walk in shower. Water provided free of charge in the room fridge. I cannot think of anything negative about this Hotel. The lovely lady at reception Susan, could not do enough to help you. I had a problem with the coffee machine and she attended the room to help. A welcome email before I left the u.k. and a thank you for staying email on my return. What a great service. As a retired London Police Officer I always like to see some directions to Hotel. Take the 401 bus from the Airport which takes you to the rear of the Railway Station. Walk through the Station to the front, turn right and walk to the front of the Department Store. On the left between the C & A Sore and the Macdonalds is a pedestrian walkway. Cross over the road and walk for about 5 Minutes. Hooghuisstratt is on your right. Turn right and the Hotel is on the left. Great breakfast bakery next to Hotel as per the other reviews.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed there for two nights. Wifi and AC work perfectly. Though after the first night, I reported disfunctions from the dvd player in my room.
Since they couldn't fix it, I asked them if we could switch the device with some of an unoccupied room.
Instead of that, they offered me to move to another room.
The staff is definitely among the nicest and most helpful ones i've encountered.
The second room I got was as good as the first one, plus (quite!) a balcony.
Both rooms were very spacious and plenty of dresser drawers and a wardrobe.
Awesome breakfast buffet too.
Besides of dvd player and phone issues, I would CERTAINLY get back there.

Room Tip: in the range of executive rooms, room 320 has a ~20mx2.3m terrace above Hooghuisstraat
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Large & spaseous room, perfectly placed in the city center, clean, free wifi, coffe mashine in the room, breakfast is optional at the next door bakery... i do not need anything more... will recomend the hotel and will stay again ...;)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique Hotel Lumiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Lumiere

Address: Hooghuisstraat 31 A, 5611 GS Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Eindhoven > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Eindhoven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel Lumiere 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Boutique Hotel Lumiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel Lumiere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.