We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel Lumiere

Save Saved
You added Boutique Hotel Lumiere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Lumiere
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hooghuisstraat 31 A, Eindhoven 5611 GS, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 hotels in Eindhoven
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Hotel Lumiere was perfect for our short stay in Eindhoevn. Its located minutes from the train station in the centre of the city, within walking distance of all the shops, restaurants and pubs and cafes. The room we stayed in was an executive suite,and HUGE! The bed was so comfortable it was hard to actually get up and go sightseeing in the morning, and the room was warm and bright with all the conveiniences you'd expect, and there was a nespresso coffee machine too!
Couldn't fault the place, ten out of ten.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a suite, its well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    38
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
59
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Let's start with the location of the hotel: straight in the center of the city, in a pedestrian zone, just behind the main square, in an area full of good restaurants and shops. It is also at a walking distance from the main railway station.

Staff was helpful and friendly.

Room is spacious, the space was well distributed, with even a kind of small separate area with table and Nespresso coffee machine, suitable for work.
Good choice of complimentary hot drinks (hot chocolate, Nesspresso coffees like Volluto, Roma or Decafeinato, teas).
Bathroom was marvelous, brand new with bathtub and even a quite large shower box.
Bed was comfortable and I slept well, without suffering rumors, although the room was looking at the street.

All in all, I will not miss the opportunity to stay in Lumier Hotel should I return to Eindhoven.

A small remark: hotel provides also a small stereo set, but it was able tune only one station with a kind of Dutch pop-music....which was nice, but there was no choice of different music.

Room Tip: I slept in room 218.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I agree with the reviews I read except for one point. I did not sleep at all. Ii could hear people shouting and talking (Friday night out) were shouting as if they were standing next to my bed. I think there must be rooms which are less noisy. Ask for it!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellevoetsluis, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Stayed at this hotel on Oktober the 8th for one night. The hotel is centraly located and only a short walk from the trainstation, but if you travel by car you can park your car at a garage accross the street.

The lady at the reception desk was very friendly and walked me to my room. The room was very clean, had a good bed ( soft matrasses => not my preference ), lots of pillows, tea and coffee in abundance and great shower.

Eindhoven has a square ( on the Markt ) where all the café and such are located. It can get noisy there in the evening. This hotel is located one street away from that area and therefore in a quiet area.

There are no dining or breakfast facilities inside the hotel, but the bakery next door is the place where you can sit down for breakfast and restaurants are all over the city center.

I would certainly recommend this hotel. Especially if you want to have a central location and not the noise that is accompanied with that.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

As a traveler who spends >200 nights in hotels annually, I've gotten very picky about my choice of homes away from home. The Lumiere passes the test with flying colors.

Other hotels tried in town: Pullman, Holiday Inn, Mandarin Park Plaza, Mercure/Amrath, Van der Valk. Pullman is better but more expensive and too formal for my taste for long-term stays; Van der Valk is passable for a few nights; I found the others unacceptable.

The decor is conservative contemporary, and the staff extremely friendly and caring -- they give you that "family" feeling I value for long term stays as opposed to the formalism of upscale hotels. The decor is upscale, but isn't overdone - similar to what I have at home. The beds are comfortable pillowtops - a great night's sleep for an American who usually can't sleep on Europe's rock-hard beds (if you need American-grade "medium" softness, stay here; if you need "plush", stay at the Pullman). Cleanliness was impeccable - the only problems of note were a couple of rooms where the drywall had a few scratches that needed touching up.

I've stayed in both their standard and executive rooms. Felt just as comfortable in both - the biggest difference I saw was the executive rooms were a touch larger and had a tub in addition to the walk-in shower. Standard rooms only had a walk-in shower. The showers are spacious and comfortable - not typical European.

The hotel itself doesn't have a restaurant. They have arrangements for a reasonably-priced full continental breakfast with the bakery next door (EUR9,50). I eat light, so I skip that and just stop by the bakery every morning for the muffin and coffee to go special (EUR1,95). Ask the staff at the bakery to teach you a word of Dutch a day while you're there - they like that. For other meals - go wandering. There must be 50 good restaurants within 500m.

The location is perfect for short and long stays. It's in the pedestrian-only shopping areas, on a quiet side street that closes up shop at 18:00. I can walk 100m in any direction and find a plethora of good cafes, bars, and restauarants, and face none of the noise when I get "home".

Getting there by car and finding the "Hooghuis" parking garage where they have a contract proved challenging - it's set back from the street making it a bit hidden - you'll turn left onto the sidewalk just before the big iron sculpture. Be prepared to circle downtown for 15-20 minutes to get back there if you miss the turn. The pay surface lot on the right side of the street is easier to find. Driving a car around downtown Eindhoven is tricky in general - so be alert.

I'd say it's about 800m from the train station - pedestrian streets all the way, and for me it's walking distance. You can also look for the #19 or #407 buses from the train station (get off at Hooghuis, the stop in front of the surface parking lot).

With one exception, all rooms have the amenities you expect. The rooms don't have irons, but they are available on request from the front desk. All rooms are equipped with a mini-fridge (not a minibar - it's for food you bring). There is a guest washer/dryer (free including the detergent - the dryer works well). Of course, they have the usual pay-through-the-nose laundry service as well. If you're staying long, there is a full-size Albert Heijn grocery next to the train station.

I found it particularly convenient for working at the High Tech Center. The bus #407 to HTC runs every 15 minutes during commuting times and stops just across the street (50m to the end of the walking street then cross the street - 2011 bus fare is EUR2,40).

My benchmark for long-term stays is Marriott. The Lumiere is a half-star lower in decor and has no room service, but can compete on all the other fronts.

Room Tip: I've stayed in a half dozen rooms and they've all been pleasant. Some of the 3rd floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

The room was stylish, the hotel directly in the pedestrian zone. Excellent free WLAN, friendly staff, just a little bit expensive (I paid 130 per night plus 12 Euro for parking and 9 Euro for the breakfast)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

I reserved a room for my relatives from Germany. The hotel is very clean and the staff is friendly. But then the problems started.
The airco in the bathroom wouldn't turn off at night so they could hardly sleep. The next morning this was reported and they promised ("a promise is a promise") to fix it or give them another room which they would hold back. Late that night they returned (23.30)
and the airco still wouldn't stop after use. The other promised! room was given away to other guests. So they didn't fix anything during the day although they promised. The next morning again this was reported, and they offered not to bill this night which is okay.
And again they promised to fix the airco. But again they didn't do anything so the 3rd night also gave a bad night sleep. :((
Specifically I told them at least 3 times to send the bill to me as they were my guests. The bill was sent directly to thèm. I reported this and I also got a bill. However they never sent a letter with a creditnote or with an apology to my relatives after
a 3 night bad sleep in their hotel and a bill they should never have received. After I called the manager they kept on searching for excuses why everything went wrong: miscommunication within the staff etcetc... (everyday there was a different staff member at the reception).
I think the quality of a hotel in general is defined by a good service at all times whatever happens. Lumiere did not live up to this.
I was ashamed to my relatives they got such terrible service in Lumiere. The limit was they received the bill and never even got an excusenote.
I will never again recommend people to stay in Lumiere. They don't take you to serious when things don't run smoothly...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boutique Hotel Lumiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Lumiere

Address: Hooghuisstraat 31 A, Eindhoven 5611 GS, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Eindhoven > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 hotels in Eindhoven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel Lumiere 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Boutique Hotel Lumiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel Lumiere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.