We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel and building site combined!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Van Der Valk Eindhoven Hotel

Save Saved
You added Van Der Valk Eindhoven Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Van Der Valk Eindhoven Hotel
4.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Aalsterweg 322, 5644 RL Eindhoven, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A hotel and building site combined!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

When I stayed the old hotel building was being demolished which resulted in large marquees being used for the dining room and long walk to reception.

When finally getting to reception, the staff were polite and my non-smoking room which appeared to have been recently refurbished was large and clean.

Generally it is a very nice hotel but I don't think I'd want to return until the building work has finished and the tents removed.

Stayed November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    58
    32
    9
    2
See reviews for
12
25
9
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Groups of divers (springboard and platform) from The Netherland, Great Britain, Belgium, Germany and Italy, Swedend stay at this hotel every March in order to participate in a Open Masters Championship. The rates are always good and the hotel is within good striking distance of the swimming pool. The staff are helpful and are multilingual. the local Club obtains a good rate for us, but anyone can get comparable rates on various hotel booking websites.

The hotel is currently undergoing big changes to become a conference venue. During our time at the hotel, which included daytime on a Friday, we were not disturbed by any ongoing works and were very impressed with the temporary restaurant - effectively a solid marquee type building with windows. The bar is one of the places that has been extended and is finished (we think). Very well stocked, lots of comfy seats and a splendid fire - albeit gas.

Some of the bedrooms still have the musty smokey smell from days past when smoking was allowed, but this is changing as the hotel is refurbished. The bedrooms are fairly large and comfortable, always very clean and generally have a small balcony, albeit they are looking a little tired. This will change as the refurb continues.

Breakfast is always included in our rate, but a word of warning for those of you who like to make 'lunch' while at breakfast - there is a hawkeyed manager in the restaurant and taking food out is frowned upon and she has a good way of making one feel very small, almost like a criminal! Only doing her job of course.

Car parking is fairly secure and plentiful. Although situated by a fairly main road, we did not find the rooms noisy (previously we've had rooms facing onto the hockey pitches).

The hotel has a reasonable sized swimming pool - around 20 metres in length - and tennis court(s). May have other facilities but we've never enough time to sample their delights.

This year we had a choice of hotels to stay in for the event, but as the saying goes 'if it ain't broke, don't fix it' We are happy here and would recommend this hotel for anyone wishing to stay out of the city centre. The buses into the centre are frequent and its an easy run from the airport too. Driving from the UK was fairly straightforward, probably better value than hanging around airports!

Room Tip: For a little bit more money you could have a deluxe room in the Tower Block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed for a large sporting event. We were a family of 4- 2 adults and 2 kids. I was not happy that they charged us extra for the kids- then upon checking out there was an additional charge for pull out beds 12 euro per bed per night! That to me was a bit sneaky. It made the room much more expensive than we had planned!! The hotel is under construction. The parking is a bit messy. The restaurant is in a large tent like building. It looks odd from the outside but is nice inside.

The rooms were sort of clean. The maid service was spotty. One day they hung towels, made beds and cleaned the tubs/sinks. They never removed trashed or cleaned the coffee mugs and glasses. I had to wash those myself in the sink. They were out of tea in the room and only offered decaf coffee. Maybe they did not check the supply? The next day the only service we spotted was made beds. The trash had not been removed again, nor had the glasses/tea mugs cleaned. For a 5 star hotel it was lacking the details. More like a nicer Holiday Inn by US standards. The bathroom was a nice size with a large tub and sink. Ours had a jetted tub which was a nice surprise.

I did not find the staff to be very friendly. We stayed at the NH Geldrop last year and for less money the service was so much better. Granted this room was nicer but I'm not sure that it was worth the high extra charges per night. Breakfast was extra and was not that great. Not worth the more than 10 euro charge per person. We had the dinner buffet one night. It was not as good as the last time we were there. The cost was the same but they had 1/2 the selection. Maybe because they are not in the main building. From the lobby to the restaurant it's covered but a chilly walk at night or in the rain.

Overall it was ok but not worthy of 5 stars. They need to working on cleaning better and the customer service. The staff was not friendly at all.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Stayed here for two nights just after Christmas. The decor for the Festive season was fabulous!!!!
The hotel is under construction but this did not deter from any aspect of the stay.
The service is second to none and the food in the restaurant in the evening is first class.
The breakfasts were amazing. the selection of food, variety and presentation were superb.
the rooms are bright and spacious with everything and more, that you would expect to find.

I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.
One of the best that I have ever come across.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkel en rodenrijs
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We arrived late at this hotel that was undergoing some reconstruction works when we arrived. The night guard checked us and we went to our room, this all happened efficiently. The rooms are relatively specious and in general clean and tidy. The beds however are horrible and because of that I wasn't as rested as I wanted to be for my flight from Eindhoven early the next morning.

Breakfast was ok and the location relatively close to the airport and highways ensures an easy access to the rest europe.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

I stayed here for 6 nights for a conference expecting a business hotel. I found the advertised free internet was not usable - you have to log on to a hotel home page and once you are in you get just a few minutes of very slow access and then you get logged out. Impossible to do business or personal mail or work. So don't stay at this hotel if you need to use your interent.
The location of the hotel is apart from Eindhoven and so guests are marooned with no options for restaurant or other facilities. The first night I went to the restaurant and asked for a meal to take to my room and they wanted to charge me 2.5 Euros for tap water! No water provided in the room and no tea and coffee facitlities.
I asked for a non-smoking room and they put smoking people in the floor below so all the smoke came through all night along with the noise so I became ill.
On checkout there was one receptionist for a huge line of people with other staff in the office but not helping her. Everyone was late that morning.
On the good side the rooms are clean and large with nice bathrooms. However no conditioner in any of the rooms of my colleaugues or myself. So bring your own toiletries, water, internet access, tea and coffee, kettle
An unpleasant experience.

Room Tip: The rooms are all very far away from the doors so don't come here unless you are fit and you lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monster, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

I stayed here 1 night during the week for business. The distances are quite big in this hotel, because it is quite busy the parking is not very close to the entrance, from the reception to your room can be quite far as well, I slept in the room the furthest away from the reception. Ask for a room closer to the elevators ! Last but not least the breakfast is again on the completely other side of the building. Advantage was that I could skip my workout that night.

Outside of that the rooms are good, it is clean, the breakfast is very good and the price is not bad. So overall it is average, but if you do not like walking or if you cannot walk very easy I would try something smaller.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Van Der Valk Eindhoven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Der Valk Eindhoven Hotel

Address: Aalsterweg 322, 5644 RL Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Eindhoven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty lodging in Eindhoven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van Der Valk Eindhoven Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Van der Valk Hotel Eindhoven is an imposing state of the art Hotel. Located directly next to the exit roads of the A2/A67 and near Eindhoven Aiport. The hotel is also situated next to the green centre of the Genneper Parks. The hotel is an ideal location for international business guests as well as leisure guests. The Hotel boasts 3 restaurants: an artisan á la carte restaurant ‘Martinus’, a live cooking restaurant ‘HET BUFFET’ and a trendy sushi restaurant ‘OZZO Sushi & Lounge’ which also is the hotel bar. Jack’s Casino is located underneath the hotel, perfect for a “Las Vegas Casino” evening. The hotel boasts a large sports center with a heated indoor swimming pool.The brand new 040 Congress and Events center, with more than 20 meeting rooms and a large conference hall of approximately 1000m2 is suitable for any kind of (business) event. Our stylish decorated room & suites have facilities such as: wireless internet, (free) coffee and tea facilities , telephone, television, a safe, seating, a bathroom with bath and/or (rain) shower, toilet and hairdryer, and either terrace or balcony. Discover the lively city center of Eindhoven by bicycle with a wide range of shops, countless pubs and restaurants, sociable outdoor cafés and a vibrant nightlife. Furthermore Van der Valk Hotel Eindhoven is the perfect place to stay for the sportive visitor. There is a wide range of sports facilities situated nearby the hotel, such as the Olympic swimming stadium, several golf courses, and nice cycling and running areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Van Der Valk Eindhoven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Der Valk Eindhoven Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.