We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely the most beautiful Cathedral in the Netherlands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. John's Cathedral

St. John's Cathedral
Parade/Torenstraat 16, Den Bosch, The Netherlands
0900/112-23-34
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 Attractions in Den Bosch
Type: Religious Sites, Architectural Buildings
Attraction Details
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Definitely the most beautiful Cathedral in the Netherlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful place of worship, with a chapel to the Sweet Lady of Den Bosch inside. A Roman Catholic Church with all the icons of saints, beautiful stained glass windows, giant music organ with great acoustics, definitely a site worth visiting. Den Bosch is just an hour away by train from Amsterdam, but the difference is awesome, from the crowded city to the quaint little town with a pretty square. The church is still an active Catholic Church where we were able to attend mass in Dutch.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    58
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“My daughter's wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Absolutely loved this church! My daughter had her wedding here in June and it was fabulous! The church was so beautiful and they made a huge effort to accommodate us Americans as we do things slightly different than the Dutch. (The Dutch do not process down the aisle with father of the bride and bride as we do.) This would be a landmark that I would visit again just to tour the inside of the church and walk around, it was that lovely!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cathedral!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Beautiful cathedral! I spent 3 months in den Bosch, and always enjoyed staring at the cathedral whether walking by (day or night, although night is particularly beautiful) or sitting in a local cafe examining the angles and other creatures on the exterior. The organ is supposed to be one of the best in the Netherlands, and I was lucky enough to catch one of the free Saturday recitals. Unreal. Interior architecture and artwork are equally amazing. A must see!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cathedral”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Very impressive cathedral. Was very full when I got in there, tourists, media etc but it is not usually like that. If you go to Den Bosh the cathedral is a must see

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuenen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Above main entrance modern glass in lead”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Admire this cathedral, outside and inside. Do not forget to look at the two large paintings of Jeroen Bosch (mid, left of the main entrance, the modern glass in lead just above the main entrance made by Dutch artist Marc Mulders and Sweet Lady Maria, patroness of Den Bosch.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. John's Cathedral also viewed

Den Bosch, North Brabant Province
 
Den Bosch, North Brabant Province
Den Bosch, North Brabant Province
 

Been to St. John's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. John's Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.