We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Het Scheepshuys

Save Saved
You added Het Scheepshuys to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Het Scheepshuys
Teteringsedijk 196, 4817 ML Breda, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Breda
Sofya
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Perfectly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I was in the hotel for three days.The hotel is small but very comfortable, clean and cozy.Rooms are spacious and very clean.Near the center and next to the both universities.Varied breakfast.No 24 hour receptionist but everything is well organized.Free bicycles and parking.Beautiful Garden

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
14
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
hengelo (ov)
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in room 7. We had to call 30 minutes prior to arrival, because there is no 24/7 receptionist. Franka, the owner, welcomed us and was extremely nice, friendly and proud of the work that has been done on the house. And so they should! It is very beautiful, tastefully renovated and decorated. Room nr 7 is quite nice, with a large covered balcony and a good view at the garden. The only minus is that the bathroom is so small that when you are on the toilet, the sink actually is in the way! The shower itself is big enough however. There is a communal kitchen with complimentary drinks, which ofcourse is really good because this is not a hotel with a bar or anything. You get the key to the hotel so you can go as you please and Franka tells you how to call her when you have questions or any problems. Breakfast is really nice. Exceptionally good bread, a lot of choices in cheeses, hams, yoghurt, cereals, fruits, egg, coffee, tea, juices etc. We enjoyed ourselves!! Almost forgot: the location is not fantastic, it is on the corner of two streets, bit far to walk into town but as they have bikes you can use, this is solved very well!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights for a business trip. We were in room #10. Our room was spacious, extremely clean and inviting. The beds and the pillows provided us with a very deep and comfortable sleep. The bathroom is a bit small but that was not a problem at all! Our room was on the street side and it was not noisy but during the summer, when the windows are open, there might be a bit of a problem with traffic noise. It was located outside of the city center, about a 30 minute walk. There are bikes but make sure you reserve one when you make your room reservation. Franca, the owner, was warm and welcoming. The breakfast was varied and very good. I would definitely stay here again and will recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Reserve a bike early, not when you arrive, or else they may be all taken.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a few nights. It actually is not really a hotel as there is no permanent staff around. There are people in the morning to prepare the breakfast (which is quite good) and clean the rooms but thats it. After that you are on your own... The place is quite small, i think 17 rooms in total in a converted villa. As all the rooms were put in later, so the walls are super thin and you can hear the famous needle drop. Bathrooms are also very small (if you like to rest your chin on the sink while on the toilet, you might like it...). As said, the breakfast is nice and they provide free coffee and free beers and soft drinks (limited number available) throughout the day, which you can just take from the kitchen.
The location is a bit out of the center but directly on a main road, so it is a bit noisy with the passing traffic but they have bikes you can use to go to town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed a weekend in Het Scheepshuys when we visited Breda. The little hotel has a bit the atmosphere of a bed and breakfast, which is nice. The hotel has some wonderful decorative elements referring to its glorious past.
The room was comfortable, though the bathroom was rather small but clean. We asked for a quiet room and it was very quit. The breakfast was very nice presented with more than enough choice. And the staff and owners are really friendly!
Some little extra's: the kitchen with refrigerator which can be used by all the guests and the recommended restaurant in walking distance, which is cosy and the food is very good (and you get a free drink as well if you tell that you are guests from the hotel).
For the centre of the Breda itself you have to do a walk of half an hour, but the hotel has also bikes which can be used.
So, a very nice stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Stayed here for one night. Initially thought I would be arriving late, and they were very accomodating. Spoke English perfectly too. Ended up arriving early and got an excellent recommendation for dinner at L'Elegantier - a short walk away. Beds were comfy and shower was great. Wifi didn't work so well in the room (on top floor) but there was a wired connection and it was fine on the lower floors. It's a short walk to the city center too, where hotels may be pricier. Was a great option with lots of character.

Room Tip: If you want wifi, request a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Not sure what Mr Copenhagen is on about. I thought this was great. So clean. Rooms are all styled but not over the top. Bed was so good I struggled to get up in the morning. Power in the shower. Decor and taste throughout the whole building. Kitchen where you can grab a tea, coffee, and maybe a cheeky beer - complimentary. And Franka the hostess with the mostess. Sorry if I've misspelt your name Franka, you were so welcoming and friendly - thank you. Did I mention the breakfast? That was fantastic too. And parking. And flat screen TV. And...

Room Tip: We had room 3. It was great. Didn't see the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Het Scheepshuys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Het Scheepshuys

Address: Teteringsedijk 196, 4817 ML Breda, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Breda
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Breda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Het Scheepshuys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Het Scheepshuys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.