We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo Hotel Breda City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Apollo Hotel Breda City Centre to your Saves list
Apollo Hotel Breda City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsplein 14, 4811 BB Breda, The Netherlands (Formerly Mercure)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Breda
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Next to train station in Breda and within walking distance of the town centre, which is worth a visit. Hotel is well run with good modern rooms. Breakfast is good with mixture of hot and cold food, although pricey if not booked within a room deal

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelBreda, Front Office Manager at Apollo Hotel Breda City Centre, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear William,

Thank you for leaving your opinion about our hotel on Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important for us, a lot of people decide their stay in hotels after reading reviews on internet.

We hope that the next time you visit Breda you will stay with us again!

Kind regards,

Anniek Voesenek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    79
    31
    11
    9
See reviews for
9
42
5
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sapporo, Japan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I've stayed here for 5 nights.

The location is very nice, a few minute's walk from Breda Station.

The room might be renovated and some are replaced.
Some rooms have a refrigerator (with key!).
A safety box (safe in British English?) is equipped but there is no description.
I asked the reception and got to know the following instructions.

1. Push a white botton in the back side of the door.
In the surface of the door, a green light 'NEW' flushs.
2. Push 'Enter'
3. Push your original pin (at least 4 digits),
4. Push 'Enter'
In the surface, an 'OK' gets green.
5. By eliminating 'OK', turn the handle in the door.
6. Repeat 3-5, then you'll open/close it.

The reception staffs are all polite and friendly.

The dishes in breakfast is so-so.
The taste is good, however, almost same dishes are served every day.

Breda itself is one of the small cities in the Netherland.
Then, the most nearest store is in the station.

Room Tip: In the reservation sites, you'll make a reservation with higher price. Then, you'll use a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Comfortable clean room in the new part of the hotel. However no free wi-fi and the charge to use was ridiculous. No water or drinks of any kind in the room. Breakfast was poor, the fresh fruit was either under or over ripe and little choice. Over-priced.
Next time will stay at the Novotel which is cheaper but definitely more value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at this hotel during the Breda Jazz Festival 2013. Very nice, clean and modern hotel. Very friendly staff and good breakfast.

Besides the positive stay, it is absolutely rediculous that they charge 12 euro for one day of Wifi connection in the room. This is 2013! Also the 15 euro for parking is pushing it.

Room Tip: Try to reserve a room in the new wing of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I've stayed here at least 10 times, as we've an office nearby, and the prices are right, and I can get on the train at AMS (the Fyra when it is not broken) and for €21 and just under an hour walk off at the Breda station, and into the lobby. Service has always been good, and all but one stay I've stayed in the newer rooms. The older rooms nearer the train station, when I did stay, we older and noisy. The newer rooms are quieter and cleaner. I get the breakfast package included and it has most of the staples needed to get one's day going. Heating, cooling in the room work fine, and there's a power outlet by the desk. The big benefit is being able to walk across through the park and into city center which I did solo Sunday night, just to try a new restaurant, one that I had not been to, and one I had not read any reviews about. You'll have to watch for those related reviews soon. One was sushi, one was Indonesian, and one was a brew pub with upscale food. Great food (but that's another review). I love the beds and pillows and the simple bed throw. The giant painted face on the accent wall put me off at first - now I think of her as my NL mascot, welcoming me.

Room Tip: A newer room, not close to the tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloHotelBreda, Front Office Manager at Apollo Hotel Breda City Centre, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Steve,

Thank you for your nice review on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy to hear that you have again enjoyed your stay at our hotel. And hope that we can welcome you again soon this year and provide you one of the rooms in our hotel which you like.

See you soon!

Kind regards,

Anniek Voesenek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

First review I've ever done but i felt compelled
some perspective: I just stayed centre of Berlin for less money with a million dollar view, giant bed and bathroom
My room was a cave
shower is over a bath and hard to get into - im small and fit
You have to pay for internet which is ok BUT you have to pay to watch the 22inch TV in english
I was told breakfast was part of the 165 Euros - it came up on my bill at 18 euros
I was locked out of my room half way through my stay - 4 trips back to reception to sort this out
my internet cut off half way through my 2 night stay - 2 trips to reception.
Bed is comfortable
At 165 Euros i don't expect sueezy everyone-shares dove body wash/shampoo
My room was not serviced

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel is nice, great welcoming staff, and the rooms are nice too. Whats not to like, well, the main problem I had was I think the my room faced toward the station - or something - as I must have heard every train pass through. Its unfortunate, and I'm sure I could have moved rooms, but really couldn't be bothered.

Other than that, good food, good beer - I would stay again - but request a different room.

Room Tip: Choose a room thats not facing the station...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apollo Hotel Breda City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Breda City Centre

Address: Stationsplein 14, 4811 BB Breda, The Netherlands (Formerly Mercure)
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Breda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Breda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel Breda City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apollo Hotel Breda City Centre which is housed in the former post office is less than a 10 minute walk from the Market Square and right next to the central station of Breda. The hotel also has private parking and WIFI in all Deluxe and Superior rooms.With a meeting area of ​​640m2 is Apollo Hotel Breda City Centre is unique in the centre of Breda! Ask for the possibilities!During your stay in Breda you definitely will not be bored! Breda offers many attractions, including the Breda Museum, the Graphic Design Museum, and the Great Church. For the sportive guests Breda has enough features, with beautiful walking and cycling routes in the immediate vicinity and a ride in a motor boat or canoe on the webbing is definitely recommended. At the reception you can get more information and to rent bicycles.We hope to see you soon as our guest soon!With friendly greetings,Team Apollo Breda ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Apollo Hotel Breda City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Breda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo Hotel Breda City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.