We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bliss Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bliss Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bliss Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Torenstraat 9, 4811 XV Breda, The Netherlands (City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in Breda
Dendermonde, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice hotel and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

very well situated hotel in the centre of breda, all nice suites
staff is very helpful and friendly
never the less if you want a good sleep you have to ask a room at
the back side of the building, we had a suite at the streetside and
suffered all night long from the loud beats of bars and dancings.....

Room Tip: ask the suites situated at the backside of the building otherwise you will suffer from the loud bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
24
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My colleagues in Breda told me that this hotel was wonderful. I think it's ok. It's truly a boutique hotel. Staff are friendly - when you finally find them. The room was... different. I found the smell of the room quite overwhelming and offensive. I wish I could have some fresh air in there instead. It smells like old, dried grass. Probably because of the jute rug flooring that actually feels a bit painful if you walk barefoot. I would recommend they get rid of it.
It's nice that they give you cookies and wine. I had a Nespresso machine in the room - but it didn't work. And the bathroom is big and cold.
The location is great. You're right in the heart of Breda. It's easy to walk to places, restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central auckland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had a pleasant one night stay at the Bliss Hotel. We arrived Breda on a Friday afternoon with no reservations and this was the only hotel that had one room left, so we where very greatful to get in.
The staff and service is fantastic, the restuarant where we had our dinner delicious.
We stayed in suite 6. It was very tired, the cow hind floor covering was shabby, the sofa covers stained, there are alot of repairs that need to be done etc. It was a shame it could have been great, it was pleasant enough, but one night was definitely enough.
I'm to have stayed but would go again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed in this hotel a number of times over the last few years and liked it very much but having stayed in the Nottinghill room this time (previously the long island suite or the honeymoon suite) we found the room looked very tired with stains on all the stone surfaces in the sitting and bathroom areas making the room look dirty. A vase in the room had water stains around the glass and the room faced the street and was very noisy till early morning.
The breakfast which used to be in a small dining area is now in the main restaraunt and was previously cooked to order now served on an airline type tray (very off puting for a hotel of this so called standard). Also some of the food appeared dried out as if prepared sometime earlier.
The lift did not work (again and had apparently been out for a month)and while help was available for the luggage if you have difficulty with stairs this would be a challenge.
All up pretty disappointing. We did point these things out to the staff.
We hope we read more positive views before we return.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

All had went very well..... Then the last night we were there there was a party of some sort that went on well into the morning. THis party was so loud you could not sleep. People kept coming out to the street and were extremely loud as well as saying and doing other unmentionables. I can't tell you how rough this was.

Now for all the great stuff. One of the nicest hotel rooms you will stay in. Large beyond any expectation. Bathroom was amazing. Location of this hotel is tops.

Breda is an amazing city and I can't wait to go back. This place is worth the visit and the hotel itself was fabulous.

Michael

Room Tip: Get a room on the courtyard side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

This is a great place to stay! Beautiful rooms, large and different from other hotel rooms. In the Bliss hotel you almost want to spend an evening in your room to enjoy the facilities. A nice couch and fireplace....hmmmmmm :-)

But; the restaurant Chocolate calls your name to go out. Just walk downstairs and there you'll find a great trendy place to have dinner.
And if you like shopping; the center is just around the corner.
We had a great time at Bliss!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Bliss has a great concept and delivers on the promise of a unique lodging experience, but there are some caveats here that take away from the lustre.

First, my room smelled of smoke. Not overpowering, just kind of integrated into everything. This is the kind of smoke they can't do anything about. It'spart of the fabric of the hotel. The room was cute but a bit rundown.

The feel is that of a bed and breakfast. You'll never encounter another guest and there is no bar or common area to speak of. It is SO small that its size is the overwhelming impression. The rooms just aren't spectacular enough to overcome the slightly claustrophobic feeling.

Now, this hotel does have a tremendous attached sister restaurant. And I will say that its location is just about as perfect as you can get. So whether this is a three or four start hotel really depends on your own preference. I don;t know how you possibly give it five stars if you've ever stayed at a true five start in your life, but three or four for sure. I'd certainly consider it if I wer back in Breda, especially if I were there for some liesure rather than business.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bliss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bliss Hotel

Address: Torenstraat 9, 4811 XV Breda, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Breda > City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in Breda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bliss Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsNL, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bliss Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bliss Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;