We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Princeville

Save Saved
You added Hotel Princeville to your Saves list
Hotel Princeville
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Princeville
Princenhagelaan 5, 4813 Breda, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 hotels in Breda
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Short tour of the area with my father (as he was here 70 years ago during WW2), stayed 1 night, nice pleasant staff, lux. Room very clean with safe, wi fi etc. twin beds, very large bathroom, easy parking. Good breakfast with plenty of variety. Required car to get into Breda as the hotel is approx. 4 miles from the city centre. This is a good 3-4 star hotel, although looks a little old fashioned from the outside. The staff recommended IL Padrino restaurant in the Grotesque Market which was very busy and busier still when we left, we had an excellent meal. Breda itself is a busy place in a very nice way, lots of outside cafés and brilliant atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
7
2
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poperinge, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The hotel and service are very good. We could only have breakfast, but this was perfect with a lot of choice. At the evening, the bar was open where you have enough choice for everyone. Very good hotel and hope to have the chance to go back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfortville, France
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Comfortable (although they only have twin beds), large room and bath (bathroom design somewhat poor versus the nice wooden walls deco of the rest of the room.
Correct restaurant. Nice meeting rooms. In-room (free) wifi works only when standing close to the door.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

As part of the big vd Valk chain of hotels in The Netherlands, Hotel Princeville is a typical vd Valk Hotel. To my impression, they are not part of the new exclusive line of hotels (at least the rooms do not appear as such, the typical vd Valk room old style), however the entrance, the restaurant and the bar appear new and designed into the new style. The rooms in the front of the hotel really need better isolation against noise, the A16 highway which lays right next to the hotel really causes too much noise in those rooms. Also, walking back to my room from the breakfast I noticed that housekeeping had all the doors open of the rooms already checked-out, obviously very convenient for them, but not a very nice sight to be honest.
The breakfast on the other hand is very good and plenty of choice. Overall, it is not a punishment to stay in this hotel, however for now average due to the noise level and the doors of checked-out rooms being left open. Looking for these points to be improved (and also the sun shades inside the restaurant need to be better, sitting next to the window with the low winter sun is not very comfortable)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Spent two comfortable nights at this hotel. The room and in particular the bathroom are very spacious, well equipped and clean. lots of parking, breakfast was OK and the room has wifi and international TV. The city itself is very nice to look around. I will come back here again rather than Rotterdam next time as the rooms are better and cheaper and I would like to go back to the city. Recommended for business or holidays

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hotel Princeville is a great facility for conferences, but there is nothing in the neighbour unless you are building a house. The hotel offered comfortable rooms, a large bathroom, free parking and free WiFi. Breakfast was provided on site and the restaurant offered great food. There was no fitness facility, which would have made it a better stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have booked the Princeville hotel because of the special price during the Redhead Days festival, but it took them 5 times for to get the special pricing details and reservation details right, i had to tell them what to correct each time until it was right.
When i reserved i specifically requested a double bed, with a real double mattress, and when we got to the hotel we received a double bed with two twin mattresses, but we also got two single blankets and two sheets instead of a double. I went back to the reception and asked Samantha very politely if she could replace the room to a a real double bed. she told me that there are no double beds available. and only if i order a suite (triple the cost) then i would get a real double bed. all the bedrooms have two twin beds. i told her that i ordered a double bed weeks ago and no one had told me in the multiple emails back and forth that there isn't such an option, and that if she could actually check to see, or at least get a double cover/sheet/blanket (we are a married couple and not two strangers). she raised her voice at me and told me "ITS THE END OF THIS DISCUSSION". i was shocked and asked to see a manager, the manager came, actually bothered to check the hotel system, later he told me that this hotel had no real-double-beds because this hotel is geared toward business people, and actually all rooms except the suites are two twins. i asked him if he could please find a double blanket, his attitude was nice and he said he would search for one (ultimately he couldn't find a double blanket as they were all in use in the suites, but he found double sheets for the bed). i am very surprised that the hotel had no extra double blankets. toward the end of our stay we found a red stain on our sheets which was disgusting (image attached). on the other hand, the room itself was clean and was facing the back garden, which is very lovely, and the breakfast is very nice. i would not choose to go back to the hotel, mainly because the lack of double blankets, the stain on the sheet and the worst customer experience that i have received in my life.

Room Tip: there arent any real double bedrooms, ask for a room facing the back garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Princeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Princeville

Address: Princenhagelaan 5, 4813 Breda, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Breda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 hotels in Breda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Princeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Princeville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.