We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and fair trade…” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Merici

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Merici to your Saves list
Hotel Merici
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oude Markt 25, 6131 EN Sittard, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sittard
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Voorburg, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Luxury and fair trade…”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel is very nice and beautifully designed. Rooms are spacious and bed very comfortable. Merici Hotel is suitable for the couples wanting to spend weekend away and enjoy the quietness of the surroundings. Our dinner in the De Kroon Wine & Dine restaurant and breakfast in the hotel were delicious. Attention to the Fair Trade products! Very recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    42
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
70
1
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed in the Hotel Merici on a recent vacation because of its architecture and convenient location. I was very happy with my choice.

As other reviewers have noted, this hotel is located in a former cloister that has been extensively and tastefully renovated. Touches of the old building remain in the high ceilings, arched windows, beautiful wooden staircases, and (in a few places) old tiles. Primarily, however, the building has been decorated with warm mocha and beige walls, sleek furniture, and modern lighting fixtures that nevertheless evoke an earlier era. Instead of bland "hotel art," the bright hallways contain large photos mounted on unframed canvases showing Sittard-area scenes that juxtapose old and new architecture: exactly what is happening so harmoniously with Hotel Merici.

One cautionary note: this building is truly in the middle of a very old city, which means that the views from the rooms are of the other buildings nearby. The nearest building is a lovely cathedral (unsurprisingly, next to a former cloister) that nevertheless looms very large when it is viewed at very close range out of the hotel's windows. If you are looking for wide open spaces and a bucolic view, this hotel will not be right for you. If, on the other hand, you are looking for a hotel of distinctive architecture that is a few steps from the main market square and pedestrian-only shopping district, the hotel's location couldn't be more perfect.

One reviewer noted that parking was a "bit removed" and that it required some walking. In fact, while the entrance to the parking garage is 3 blocks away, the private parking area for the Hotel Merici is entered by driving 3 blocks *underground* back towards the hotel, with the result that the parking spaces are approximately 30 feet from an elevator directly into the hotel! So, once you learn the "trick" of how to get in and out of the private parking area, parking is extremely convenient to the hotel and does not, in fact, involve much walking.

I must say, however, I was glad that I talked to the front desk about arrangements for the car prior to our arrival. Parking needs to be reserved separately from the room, so she took our parking reservation at that time (10 euros/day). She also advised me to drive directly to the hotel to unload our luggage and receive instructions for getting to the private part of the municipal parking garage. There is one VERY IMPORTANT point regarding driving to the hotel which I was very glad that she mentioned: one needs to drive down a one-way street in the wrong direction! The front desk attendant reassured me that this breach of traffic rules is allowed when going to and from the hotel; and the street is quiet enough so problems are unlikely. Had I not spoken with her in advance, I would have been very frustrated with trying to get to the hotel. (Google maps did not handle this situation very well, as you might imagine.)

Based on these preparations, our arrival went smoothly and check-in proceeded quickly. The friendly front-desk person gave us very clear directions to the parking garage so parking was accomplished quickly, as well.

Our room made an excellent first impression. The large bed was topped with a comfortable, thick mattress pad that completely eliminated the problem of falling into the "crack" between the 2 separate mattress/box spring sets by stretching across the two sections. (Yay! I wish more European beds would take this approach!) Reading lights and controls were convenient for reading in bed and a desk alcove was perfect for setting up my computer. The rock-solid, free internet was very much appreciated. The room temperature controls were responsive and we were able to warm the room quickly during the day then cool it easily for sleeping under the thick featherbed comforters.

I only had one small quibble with the room set-up. Our room's bathroom consisted of a sink (open to the main room) with a shower on one side and toilet on the other. Both the shower and toilet areas were entered via frosted glass doors. Unfortunately, the doors swing out past the sink, which means that I couldn't use the sink when my husband wished to enter or leave either of the other compartments. If they had made the doors swing out towards the room, that problem would have been much diminished. There was no tub in our room, but the shower was roomy and it was nice to have a choice of two shower heads.

Breakfast was the best I can remember of any hotel in the Netherlands (and I have been to a number of them). The breakfast attendants cook the ubiquitous soft-boiled eggs plus eggs to order, including fried, scrambled, or omelets with cheese, ham, and mushrooms (or any combination thereof). The buffet tables contain rolls, croissants, crusty loaves (both white and whole grain), and crisp cracker-like breads; all the makings of open-faced sandwiches (slices of cheese, ham, and chicken, plus tomatoes, cucumbers, and vegetable relish); fruit, yogurt, cereal, high-end jams (strawberry, cherry, apricot), Nutella (chocolate-hazelnut spread), hagels (chocolate sprinkles), and more. Besides coffee and tea, they noticed that we drank a lot of water and brought a 0.75-liter bottle of mineral water to our table.

One sunny afternoon we asked if they had a terrace we could sit on, and they opened up their outdoor drink service area just for us. Another evening, we hosted drinks for our friends in the sophisticated (indoor) lounge area. Our friends were very impressed by the attentive service and the "prachtig" (wonderful in Dutch) atmosphere.

The front desk personnel also helped me address a small dental problem: a gold crown fell out on the Friday night of our stay, and I asked them to help me find a dentist who could replace the crown on Saturday morning (not an easy task). They located a dentist who could see me, patiently gave me very detailed directions so that I could find the office, and then inquired upon our return whether everything had gone OK. I find that exceptional requests, such as finding an off-hours dentist, often test the limits of a hotel's service, and Hotel Medici came through with flying colors.

Restaurant tips: we enjoyed both Restaurant Dafne for Greek food and Chinese-Indische [Indonesian] Restaurant Hong Kong, both of which are in the market square (Markt), extremely convenient to the Hotel Merici.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The exterior is old world charming. Impressive architecture. The interior is wonderfully renovated. Very modern and clean styling. The staff were very helpful. The only issue was parking was a bit removed. there was significant space to park underground, but the distance walked would need to be noted. A person can be dropped off in front of the hotel, but the person parking the car will walk a bit. Much to see near by.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a four star hotel worth every star. It is a fully rebuild monumental building right in the centre of Sittard. (A city worth visiting). The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room is clean, luxury, properly isolated and perfectly decorated. Also the breakfast can compete with every other 4 or 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IJsselstein, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We were offered a junior suite, because I phoned for a last-minute offer one night before our stay.

The room is spacious with a open but integrated bathroom. The sink is placed between the toilet and shower, which both having doors :-)
The tub stays near the windw on a little higher piece of the room.

The bed is very good. It's soft enough without being a waterbed.
We had a good night!

Breakfast is good. They baked croissants and buns during the morning. Tea, coffee, juice, milk, fruit, cereals, cheese, etcetera, it's all available.

The hotel is situated in the heart of the city centre. If you travel by car, you can park in a private parking within the public parking garage.

After checkout, we received two apples and a bottle of water in a paper bag for our journey back home: top!

All staff is friendly and helpfull: thanks!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip.
The hotel seems brand new and is nicely decorated. Lobby bar, breakfast room and guest rooms are all stylish, clean and nice. The service was friendly and they served a great breakfast. The main market place is only 100 meters away. Could recommend for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel building was a former monastery but it's renovated and keeping the beautiful staircases, tiles which you can see from old days but refurnish in good condition. The ceiling is high, good space in the room, good support mattress. I love the rain shower and the Nespresso coffee machine in the room. There is an underground parking which costs 10euro per day. There are plenty of restaurants and bars in the center and quite some choices of food, such as Meditterean, Thai, Japanese food.....etc. The hotel is located in the center but at a quiet street. The front desk personnel are friendly and when we checked out, they offered us bottles of water and cookies for our on the way to drive back to our home town, what an excellent service! I certainly recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Merici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merici

Address: Oude Markt 25, 6131 EN Sittard, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Sittard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sittard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Merici 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Merici Sittard is an unusual accommodation, as the 4* hotel is established in a beautifully renovated cloister in the beating heart of Sittard. The sounds of the city barely permeate the thick walls of the former Company of St. Ursula Cloister. The name 'Merici' comes from the founder of the convent order: Angela de Merici. Between 1843 and 1946 girls were schooled in the hotel's adjoining buildings. Merici is one of the seven special monuments in the Cloister Quarter.Every morning, Hotel Merici serves a delicious breakfast buffet in the former refectory with live front show cooking. A romantic picnic hamper or a practical lunch box can also be ordered on request. The hotel operates in accordance with the Green Key Label, an international hallmark. Hotel Merici strives for a healthy environment, and opts for the use of sustainable products and the employment of energy saving measures. As such, organic, fairtrade and regional products are used wherever possible.The #a la carte restaurant Wine & Dine serves heavenly dishes, and is just 75 m from the hotel. The restaurant has an intimate outdoor terrace on the atmospheric and historic market square. It is also possible to have a drink and a small bite in the hotel's lounge & bar. After a lovely day you can enjoy a wonderful slumber in hotel rooms comprising of harmonious furnishings. All rooms are equipped with airconditioning, free WI-FI, excellent beds, LCD flat-screen TV, safe, Nespresso coffee facilities and a spacious bathroom with rainshower and seperate toilet. The rooms come with a minibar, stocked on request. A complimentary bottle of water will await you in your room upon arrival. Hotel Merici also has an underground in-house car park, a bike/scooter hire and shuttle service. You can request information about fares at the hotel.The historical Dominicanenwal city wall is near the old canals and visible from the rear of the Hotel Merici Sittard. From the front of the hotel, you can easily walk to the Basilica, the Oude Markt and the pleasant shopping area. By train it will take you 40 minutes to reach the exuberant city of Maastricht. Sittard train station is a 10-minute walk from Hotel Merici. Roermond, Dusseldorf, Hasselt and Antwerp are also interesting cities to visit in the area. The German Eifel (low mountain range) or the Belgian Ardennen are wonderful places for walking, no matter the season. Snowworld Landgraaf is a great place to go skiing, while the Thermae 2000 in Valkenburg and Carolus Thermen in Aachen are a blessing for both body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Merici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Merici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.