We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, friendly and modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Het Arresthuis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Het Arresthuis to your Saves list
Het Arresthuis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pollartstraat 7, GC 6041 Roermond, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roermond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice, friendly and modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice, friendly and modern hotel that makes you smile. Enjoyed our stay here when visiting family and were surprised by the quality and service. Nice room (#012) which was three former cells combined, with a great shower but NO bathroom door... Really? Send your roommate for a walk when you need to do your no. 2's.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    51
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
110
1
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Interiors are superb, unbeatable!!
Staffs are all attentive, we stayed here over 9 nights with other 8 guests in our groups, we all love the places. Thumb ups in all aspects, wish to return Roermond and this hotel again one day. I did the best decision to select this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

It's an ex prison and this mood it's the inspiration of the hotel. Rooms are very particular, as they are 3 small jail cell connected: a small lounge, a bedroom and the bathroom. A pity the bedroom TV set was not working. Following the mood they have a cold atmosphere too. In addition there''s a "fake drug sachet" as amenity: funny but cheap. The restaurant in an elegant design room; it offers a sort of nouvelle cuisine, with a lot of sample dishes. It's a bit expensive, but a way to try something different. It's in the centre of the city and 5 min. walking to the outlet. It's my second time here: the staff is very gentle and professional as usual.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

As mentioned in other reviews this hotel is a converted prison. We were in a comfort double room which was very spacious and was originally 3 prison cells.
We traveled with our baby and this hotel was very baby friendly. All staff was very friendly and helpful too.
Breakfast was very varied.
Dinner, we ordered the 4 and the 5 course menu and it was lovely food, however the steak was very salty and we did think that it was a bit pricey for what it was. However eating a la carte looked even more expensive.

Definitely stay here if you need to stay overnight in Roermond!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

A brilliant contemporary conversion of a prison, opened in 2011.
Reception staff were excellent, helpful and efficient. We stayed 2 nights as we went to the Floriade in nearby Venlo. Staff assisted in advising the best way to get there, as I was considering getting a train. They suggested using our car, as a new road system had been built and it was very straight forward. They were spot on.
Deluxe Cell 2 is a good size with a large, comfortable double bed. It has separate duvets, which we liked. Good storage, a safe, coffee maker, decent size TV and two easy chairs add to the comforts.
TV had a few English speaking channels which was a pleasant surprise.
The 'corridor-shaped' bathroom has a super shower, a large shallow sink and a toilet, in that order, if you get the picture.
The room is on the ground floor and has large picture windows on two sides. These look onto two outside, public spaces - a corridor between
the room and restaurant, and the terrace. White blinds are provided for
privacy. These appear to allow you to look out but block anyone looking in. Curtains also offer a good blackout.
We found this hotel on Tripadvisor, so I am aware of some reviews,
particularly regarding the restaurant.
Our only gripe was in that direction. It may have been a misunderstanding due to broken English, but the waitress gave us the impression only 4,5, or 6 couse menus were available. Although she had what I thought were the menus in her arms, she did not give them to us, but proceeded to tell us the content of the 4 course menu.
She was happy to alter some of those courses due to dislikes.
As it turned out, apart from those courses, 3 appetisers were included as well as a good portion of bread. Courses could be considered small, but we were struggling with dessert by the end.
While waiting for our first course, a person I believed to be the restaurant manager brought something to the table. I then queried whether there was an a la carte menu. There was, and she produced the full list of menus. I explained what had happened and she offered to cancel our original order if we wanted ALC. We declined.
Here is the gripe, and thereby the loss of one star. By this time we had been in the restaurant for at least 45 minutes, without anything to eat. We couldn't bear waiting any longer.
Bread isn't delivered until the first course, so we couldn't even nibble on that. Our first appetiser arrived about an hour from when we first sat down. Service was painfully slow. From first entering, to finishing desserts, took 2 hours 20 minutes and, again, that's including an hour
when we didn't eat anything. We declined coffee!
Having said all that, the food was very good.
Breakfast too was excellent with a good selection, which also included freshly cooked dishes if you wanted them. Special mention to Yvonne V.B. who was serving at breakfast on our first morning. She was bright and cheerful and most helpful.
We'd certainly try this 'prison' again if in the region, and just hope dinner service was a blip.

Room Tip: Our bathroom had a plain glass door, so privacy maybe an issue for some. In fact the door was a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterton, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Very nice hotel with beautifully decorated rooms and lovely bathrooms in a very authentic building with lots of character. Breakfast was delicious with lots of choice and the service outstanding, staff very helpful and friendly. Location also close to town and an easy distance walking to the designer outlet shops, free parking a bonus! Price a bit on the high side but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Our de luxe room 24 had a nice vieuw of the outside courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We have just spend one night here. I was so perfect. The place is amazing. They have the spirit of the old prison. We also had dinner there, and perfect and very good wine.

Room Tip: We had roome 4 - a littel ekstra space, and very lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Het Arresthuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Het Arresthuis

Address: Pollartstraat 7, GC 6041 Roermond, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Roermond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roermond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Het Arresthuis 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Het Arresthuis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Het Arresthuis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.