We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Boutique Hotel I have ever stayed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Het Arresthuis

Save Saved
You added Het Arresthuis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Het Arresthuis
Pollartstraat 7, Roermond GC 6041, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Roermond
Bangkok
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Boutique Hotel I have ever stayed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Interiors are superb, unbeatable!!
Staffs are all attentive, we stayed here over 9 nights with other 8 guests in our groups, we all love the places. Thumb ups in all aspects, wish to return Roermond and this hotel again one day. I did the best decision to select this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    24
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
52
1
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

It's an ex prison and this mood it's the inspiration of the hotel. Rooms are very particular, as they are 3 small jail cell connected: a small lounge, a bedroom and the bathroom. A pity the bedroom TV set was not working. Following the mood they have a cold atmosphere too. In addition there''s a "fake drug sachet" as amenity: funny but cheap. The restaurant in an elegant design room; it offers a sort of nouvelle cuisine, with a lot of sample dishes. It's a bit expensive, but a way to try something different. It's in the centre of the city and 5 min. walking to the outlet. It's my second time here: the staff is very gentle and professional as usual.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

As mentioned in other reviews this hotel is a converted prison. We were in a comfort double room which was very spacious and was originally 3 prison cells.
We traveled with our baby and this hotel was very baby friendly. All staff was very friendly and helpful too.
Breakfast was very varied.
Dinner, we ordered the 4 and the 5 course menu and it was lovely food, however the steak was very salty and we did think that it was a bit pricey for what it was. However eating a la carte looked even more expensive.

Definitely stay here if you need to stay overnight in Roermond!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

A brilliant contemporary conversion of a prison, opened in 2011.
Reception staff were excellent, helpful and efficient. We stayed 2 nights as we went to the Floriade in nearby Venlo. Staff assisted in advising the best way to get there, as I was considering getting a train. They suggested using our car, as a new road system had been built and it was very straight forward. They were spot on.
Deluxe Cell 2 is a good size with a large, comfortable double bed. It has separate duvets, which we liked. Good storage, a safe, coffee maker, decent size TV and two easy chairs add to the comforts.
TV had a few English speaking channels which was a pleasant surprise.
The 'corridor-shaped' bathroom has a super shower, a large shallow sink and a toilet, in that order, if you get the picture.
The room is on the ground floor and has large picture windows on two sides. These look onto two outside, public spaces - a corridor between
the room and restaurant, and the terrace. White blinds are provided for
privacy. These appear to allow you to look out but block anyone looking in. Curtains also offer a good blackout.
We found this hotel on Tripadvisor, so I am aware of some reviews,
particularly regarding the restaurant.
Our only gripe was in that direction. It may have been a misunderstanding due to broken English, but the waitress gave us the impression only 4,5, or 6 couse menus were available. Although she had what I thought were the menus in her arms, she did not give them to us, but proceeded to tell us the content of the 4 course menu.
She was happy to alter some of those courses due to dislikes.
As it turned out, apart from those courses, 3 appetisers were included as well as a good portion of bread. Courses could be considered small, but we were struggling with dessert by the end.
While waiting for our first course, a person I believed to be the restaurant manager brought something to the table. I then queried whether there was an a la carte menu. There was, and she produced the full list of menus. I explained what had happened and she offered to cancel our original order if we wanted ALC. We declined.
Here is the gripe, and thereby the loss of one star. By this time we had been in the restaurant for at least 45 minutes, without anything to eat. We couldn't bear waiting any longer.
Bread isn't delivered until the first course, so we couldn't even nibble on that. Our first appetiser arrived about an hour from when we first sat down. Service was painfully slow. From first entering, to finishing desserts, took 2 hours 20 minutes and, again, that's including an hour
when we didn't eat anything. We declined coffee!
Having said all that, the food was very good.
Breakfast too was excellent with a good selection, which also included freshly cooked dishes if you wanted them. Special mention to Yvonne V.B. who was serving at breakfast on our first morning. She was bright and cheerful and most helpful.
We'd certainly try this 'prison' again if in the region, and just hope dinner service was a blip.

Room Tip: Our bathroom had a plain glass door, so privacy maybe an issue for some. In fact the door was a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This hotel was built into a former prison. Most of the original interior is still visible, normal rooms today are made of three former prison cells. This makes the whole scenery of the hotel quite unique. Interior of the rooms is based on tasteful, timeless design. Service is friendly. Breakfast is quite good. Restaurant: Food is ok (though overpriced for the quality and the expecations which are raised), wine list is terrible - even the most expensive Bordeaux for more than 100 EUR per bottle is not recommendable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Very nice hotel with beautifully decorated rooms and lovely bathrooms in a very authentic building with lots of character. Breakfast was delicious with lots of choice and the service outstanding, staff very helpful and friendly. Location also close to town and an easy distance walking to the designer outlet shops, free parking a bonus! Price a bit on the high side but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Our de luxe room 24 had a nice vieuw of the outside courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We have just spend one night here. I was so perfect. The place is amazing. They have the spirit of the old prison. We also had dinner there, and perfect and very good wine.

Room Tip: We had roome 4 - a littel ekstra space, and very lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Het Arresthuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Het Arresthuis

Address: Pollartstraat 7, Roermond GC 6041, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Roermond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Roermond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsNL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Het Arresthuis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Het Arresthuis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.