We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful themed hotel, excellent attentive staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Het Arresthuis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Het Arresthuis to your Saves list
Het Arresthuis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pollartstraat 7, GC 6041 Roermond, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roermond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful themed hotel, excellent attentive staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

I have started to travel to Roermond, Netherlands on business every month, I hit upon the Het Arresthuis by chance while performing an Internet search, It is a beautiful themed hotel with lots of character and history, the staff are extremely attentive and staying there is an absolute joy, I'm looking forward to my up coming trips.

Michael Smith
European Order Fulfilment Manager
AFFYMETRIX

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    52
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
112
2
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aachen, Germany
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We spent one night at the hotel, but long enough to be impressed. The hotel used to be a prison; the former cells have been redesigned and converted into rooms. Though everything is very modern and stylish- the basic theme of a prison has not been lost. The staff were very friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is very clean, which we liked very much. The breakfast of a very good standard and quality.
We also visited their restaurant for lunch, which was also excellent. Two courses for 29,5o € - well worth it. On our next visit we are planning to have dinner there as we were truly impressed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I am well travelled and generally 'bored' with hotels, but I felt inspired to write a review about the Arresthuis. It is distinctive because it used to be a prison and each standard room consists of 3 cells - one each for the sitting area, bedroom and bathroom. All very high quality and it has a very posh / expensive / good quality restaurant too. This hotel is an excellent place to stay for the Floriade, about half an hour drive away. The only downside I can think of is that the toilet and shower are fully open plan as part of the room, which may not suit some couples (glass doors would not go amiss...) and there is not 'full' air-conditioning, which might upset some energy-wasting Americans...

Otherwise fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuw-Vennep, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Besides being a great new hotel it's also a great experience. An old prison transformed into a designer hotel. Great idea. The rooms even have authentic things from when it was a prison. Mybroom used to be part of the airing area bthe ceiling is as it used to be. Above the bed there is a painting with several copied frases from cells. Very autentic. The reception is very professional. You are sitting down wile checking in. Usually only found in upscale hotels. The breakfast is good and tou can have a lot made to order or choose from the buffet. I really liked the atmosphere. Very modern yet homey.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roermond, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Very good restaurant in this special hotel. Had a diner here last week, excellent food in a good a modern ambiance. Although not cheap, you pay a reasonable price for the quality of the food. Especially in the weekends you need to make a reservation in advance. If you sleep in the hotel try to have diner once at the place, you won’t be disappointed. The hotel is a former prison which was turned into a very nice design hotel. It is part of the van der Valk group, but really nothing like the other hotels of the group as it is much better and very modern. As we live in Roermond ourselves we never slept in the hotel, however our parents slept here twice and were very positive about the hotel. So if you visit the town of Roermond (outlet, old city center, to enjoy the nice surroundings, enjoy the “southern’ lifestyle) this would definitively be the place to stay and eat.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

A trendy, high end and well situated hotel within walking distance of the historic heart of Roermond. Welcoming, hospitable and friendly staff. Plenty of car parking space in February. Two points for the management: the hotel brochure lists the difference between a 'comfort room' and a de-luxe' as the latter having wall art and an Ipod docking station etc. Our deluxe room (43) had neither - this needs to be rectified.
The hot plate used to keep the cooked breakfast hot is ineffective. My breakfast was lukewarm.
These are only minor points in what was otherwise a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We booked at Het Arrestus for a night, to go shopping and dine. What a nice experience, too short, next time it will be a longer stay. It is so clean! If you have high standards on what should be an excellent hotel in all aspects then this is a hotel for you. Excellent staff, super clean bedrooms and bathrooms, I didnt visit the sauna but am sure its excellent. The restaurant its supposed to be awesome, it was booked out so we didnt dine there, I CAN only say the best about Arrestus!! Can highly recommend it!!!

Only a 5 minute walk from the train station and also a 7 min walk to the outlet!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Het Arresthuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Het Arresthuis

Address: Pollartstraat 7, GC 6041 Roermond, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Roermond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roermond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Het Arresthuis 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Het Arresthuis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Het Arresthuis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.