We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel in the old town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mabi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Mabi to your Saves list
Hotel Mabi
Kleine Gracht 24, 6211 CB Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NY
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A great hotel in the old town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Mabi is an old converted cinema, but you would never know it. The hotel is a very modern, small (boutique) hotel with a great price-tag. The front desk staff were extremely helpful. The rooms were well appointed, with free wi-fi, very nice bathroom amenities. The beds appeared soft (an initial concern) but we slept very well, so our concerns were unfounded. There was no extraneous noise from outside, although we did not stay over a weekend.

Special touches include: a tray of apples in the lobby for guests to munch. If you prefer, there are jars of sweets. There is a small library from which you can take reading material if you forgot to bring your own. And best of all, every night from 5:30 to 7:00PM there is a free wine-and-olive tasting. And finally, a small cinema that screens films every night (new ones each Friday).

We did not try the breakfast, so I can't comment on that.

I would highly recommend this hotel to all Maastricht visitors. It is very conveniently located (near the market square, and about 200 meters from bus stops).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    109
    28
    8
    3
See reviews for
35
102
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We spend a night at the Mabi for a short weekend break in Maastricht and the location is absolutely perfect for that: all shops and nice bars and restaurants are right around the corner and the room is still quiet as can be at night time. The hotel has a few nice perks for guests, such as a small cinema and a free glass of wine in the late afternoon.
The room is very large, but we did feel it got very hot at night. The welcome at the hotel reception on the other hand could have been a bit warmer. As rooms are not available till 3pm, you are to put your luggage in storage. The lady at reception handed us the key for the storage and let us to it, without further introduction to the hotel. This may have been a one-time fluke, but is still felt a bit cold.
Other than this, we did enjoy our stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had an odd experience at Hotel Mabi. They expect you to leave the key with them when you leave the room which we did. One time the key they gave us didn't work. They said that particular lock was not okay. We had to wait a couple of hours till that small guy who does maintenance came and then magically he opened the door. That's when we realized, if they want to give you a hard time for whatever reason, they switch the key and make you wait a couple of hours to get into your room. Guaranteed to ruin an afternoon. Wonder what else they are capable of doing. On the plus side it is close to downtown. Depending on your interests this may be a plus or minus -- there's a bong shop a few doors down.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms facing the road, too noisy. The fourth floor has a nice terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heemstede
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

A relative small hotel with an eye for spoiling guests with " freebies". One can help oneself to afternoon tea accompanied by Limburg vlaai, ( a tart) at 3pm or at 5.30 pm wine and olives.. no limits! If tired after a day enjoying Maastricht one can take in a film in their once again, free, wee cinema. Beds are of course very good, cleanliness reigns high and reception is helpful and friendly.I think the first floor is probably the best to be on.

Room Tip: Rooms at the beginning of the hall are handiest to the one lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauchringen, Germany
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We chose the Mabi because of reviews on tripadvisor and for its location right in the center of Maastricht.

The location is very good indeed, right in the center, just steps from 'everything'. The downside: Parking. You park your car in a public carpark - once you find it - and have to carry your bags up a very narrow staircase and for about 200 m through the streets - once you find your way. The hotel staff was not extremely helpful. They suggested using the backdoor, which is certainly closer to the carpark, but it was locked.

The hotel design is nice and creative. The Mabi offers a lot of small treats (from sweets for free everywhere in the hotel to movies in the hotel's own cinema). The rooms are adequate and offer everything you need - except a chance to sleep at night. We had a room facing the street - and some places that spelled p-a-r-t-y until about 4 a.m. As it was hot and there is no A/C, we had to keep a window open - which was also not easy, as you can only open them about two inches.

The breakfast was ok - but with a staff that was somewhere between unfriendly and rude.

Taking everything into consideration, we will definitely not stay there again and found that you don't get an adequate value for your money.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street = rooms to definitely avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We spotted the hotel on-line and it looks really interesting, it being an old cinema it had some really nice touches, like keeping part of the old cinema that shows film for most of the day.. it was showing Fawlty Towers while I was there..! . the room was nice and clean with a great bathroom, its hard to believe the hotel has been open for 9 years it looks new. They have some nice touches like a free glass or wine (or two) in the evening and the breakfast was really good.
Great location, sitting between the river and the square and great value.. Recommended.

Room Tip: hotel is happy to safely store cycles
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at the Mabi Hotel in Maastricht for the Andre Rieu concert recently, following advice from trip advisor contributor.
It was one of the best hotels we have stayed in. It felt like home. Room was excellent with really nice extras, shampoo,bodylotion toothbrush and many more thoughtful items for guests.

It is located about 5-7 minutes from square where the concert was held.

Lots of sweets, apples and icecream in the lobby for guests, at all times. Each day in afternoon they served beautiful cakes with tea and coffee and in the evening wine and canapes.

It was so homely, as you came and went they were very attentive, with umbrellas in wet spells.
Would highly recommend it also provided information on activities in the area.
Browtal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mabi

Address: Kleine Gracht 24, 6211 CB Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.