We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beluga

Beluga
Plein 1992 12, 6211 GJ Maastricht, The Netherlands
043 321 3364
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 261 Restaurants in Maastricht
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Kortemark, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A great evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Beluga is truly one of the best restaurants in the Netherlands. We enjoyed a 8 course meal with
accompanying wines. While tasting delicious amuses the chef himself (!), a dutch tradition I
guess, came explaning the possibilities for that night.
The courses were for some part prepared next to our table, with an element of show however.
The young sommelier was very enthousiastic about his wines, but they couldn't compete with
the excellent qaulity of the meal itself. This convinces me even more that if you can afford,
you better choose 2 or 3 good wines of the map to honour the delicious food.
Anyhow Hans van Wolde deserves his 2 michelin stars.
The interior and the views are great.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    27
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a great meal yesterday at Beluga!

After a personal welcome by the head chef we chose a 8 course meal with accompanying wines. the dinner started with 8 exquisite amuses (the parmesan foam with tomato was to die for) The flavors and textures were unbelievably good and really showed the quality of the kitchen. We tasted like we never did before! All dishes were great but we especially liked the 25 preparations of vegetables,the coquillles and the langoustine and veal.
The service was very good but quite informal (sometimes almost too informal) but this did ensure a very relaxed and lively evening.
Overall we had a fantastic time, and even though the bill was hefty (over 1000 for 4) it was a very unique and great experience and much nicer than a very formal 3 star meal I once had.
I would definetly reccommend this to everyone! You have to experience this!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittard, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
454 helpful votes 454 helpful votes
“It was good, it was delicious, but it did not knock me off my feet.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

For a diner with collegues and partners we went to Beluga. At previous occasions I was really impressed by the creative cuisine of Chef Hans van Wolde.

There was a warm welcome by an attentive and courteous staff. We were seated in a beautifull private dining room (14 pers. but could easily seat larger groups).

The amuse bouches were extremely tastefull and surprising, showing the craftsmanship of the Chef.
During the six course dinner we had tuna, a well grilled griet filet (don't know the translation of the dutch griet, a type of fish) a combo with scalop and crab, a tarte tatin with lobster and skillfuly prepared filet of lamb, al of the courses with realy tastefull small side dishes.

Desert with among others a beautifull easter egg (it was the friday before easter).

All of these dishes were very well prepared but dit not knock me off my feet in contrast to previous dinners/lunches at Beluga did. May be I have become to picky and have become accustomed to superb cuisine?

The wines arrangement was well chosen and tastefull but dit not really impress me neither.

But after all it was an excellent diner, in a very nice contemporary surrounding, very attentive and professional staff and with really tastefull food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best Place in Maastricht”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

This critic here is fairly simply. If you can afford it, this place is a MUST. The food is absolutely amazing and totally deserves 2 michelin stars. Dont forget to try the home-brewed beluga beer.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in the Netherlands and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Atrue experience. Very unique style and cooking, worth a trip. Book weeks ahaed if you want to come on a saturday. The sommelier is also fantastic.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beluga also viewed

Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 
Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 

Been to Beluga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beluga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.