We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was good, it was delicious, but it did not knock me off my feet.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beluga

Beluga
Plein 1992 12, 6211 GJ Maastricht, The Netherlands
043 321 3364
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 265 Restaurants in Maastricht
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Sittard, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
452 helpful votes 452 helpful votes
“It was good, it was delicious, but it did not knock me off my feet.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

For a diner with collegues and partners we went to Beluga. At previous occasions I was really impressed by the creative cuisine of Chef Hans van Wolde.

There was a warm welcome by an attentive and courteous staff. We were seated in a beautifull private dining room (14 pers. but could easily seat larger groups).

The amuse bouches were extremely tastefull and surprising, showing the craftsmanship of the Chef.
During the six course dinner we had tuna, a well grilled griet filet (don't know the translation of the dutch griet, a type of fish) a combo with scalop and crab, a tarte tatin with lobster and skillfuly prepared filet of lamb, al of the courses with realy tastefull small side dishes.

Desert with among others a beautifull easter egg (it was the friday before easter).

All of these dishes were very well prepared but dit not knock me off my feet in contrast to previous dinners/lunches at Beluga did. May be I have become to picky and have become accustomed to superb cuisine?

The wines arrangement was well chosen and tastefull but dit not really impress me neither.

But after all it was an excellent diner, in a very nice contemporary surrounding, very attentive and professional staff and with really tastefull food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    28
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best Place in Maastricht”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

This critic here is fairly simply. If you can afford it, this place is a MUST. The food is absolutely amazing and totally deserves 2 michelin stars. Dont forget to try the home-brewed beluga beer.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in the Netherlands and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Atrue experience. Very unique style and cooking, worth a trip. Book weeks ahaed if you want to come on a saturday. The sommelier is also fantastic.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
“Simply Outstanding!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was the best dining experience ever. Great atmosphere, staff and of course, cuisine.

The food is simply art, from renowned Chef - Hans van Wolde and the taste is simply out of this world. To top it off the meal is accompanied by beautiful European Wines.

The staff is fantastic and every little detail is taken care of.

Everyone should dine at Beluga once in your life.......and then of course go again.

I'll be back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent formal dining without the formal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

If you dine in haute cuisine restaurants regularly, you will notice that Beluga is not as formal as other 2-star places. In fact, the staff wants you to relax and makes you feel at home. This is unique.
We had a week lunch atumn menu late in October. The amuses gueules where very surprising, the 5 following courses where outstanding. Due to the many different flavours and aromas it's impossible to describe the wonderfull taste experience we had at Beluga.
Worth mentioning is Sommelier Matthijs Vranken. He won the wine-food specialist GaultMillau 2012. For him it's a challenge to find exciting, authentic and affordable wines from around the world. Matthijs is a very talkative and entertaining person who connects the courses like a show host with a high standard of wine and food knowledge. The menu we were offered was flawlessly accompanied by matching whites and ruby. Beluga serves it's own beer with ginger and verveine.
Staff and service are impeccable without the expected stiffness. We had a great Tuesday afternoon, very worthwhile.
Thank you Danielle de Boer and Hans van Wolde.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beluga also viewed

Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 
Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 

Been to Beluga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beluga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.