We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sansa

Hotel Sansa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Sansa to your Saves list
Hotel Sansa
Stationstraat 26, 6221 Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Satisfactory; one of the cheaper options in Maastricht, which is a pricey place.
Very close to station.
Friendly staff; one gets the impression that the hotel is a bit of a sideshow to the fritteur downsairs.
No maid service, so beds not made etc if you are staying more than one night.

NB although they want your credit card details to book, you have to pay CASH on arrival.

Room Tip: I had room A1 which was a corner room; it was much nicer than the room my friend got (?A3) Althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    7
    3
    7
See reviews for
2
6
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel is next to the station and most visitors travel by train to Maastricht so it is great that you don't have to carry the bags a lot. It is a side business to the kebab joint downstairs. At times the hallways smell of food but not very often. We stayed 4 nights and I felt it twice but the room was smell free and clean. We had a 3 person room and there were two beds joined, comfortable, but the third one was an extendable and very squeaky. Small bathroom but at least it was in the room. If you get a shared bathroom it will be between the floors, shared among 6 or so rooms. There was a lot of noise at night as the hotel is next to the street. Rooms don't have a table or luggage rack so the bags stayed on the floor. Also no AC :( Staff was very nice to us. WIFI broadband is available in all rooms and on the terrace in front of the kebab place witch is opened from the afternoon till late in the night. Lots of places to eat and drink in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are very hot in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

inexpensive hotel, just above a kebab shop. The location is perfect however, but the beds are uncomfortable and the lot is not really clean. At least only the staircases & hallways smell of kebab, the room was odorless :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I walked all over Maastricht looking for a room for two nights. This is the cheapest (50 Euros per night) and Maastricht is a very expensive city. It is near the station and part of a kebab/chip shop. My room had no WC or wash facilities so it was up a flight of stairs to a toilet and shower. We are not talking clean folks! There are lots of shops nearby if you want food or to drown your sorrows. Top tip is T'Hofnar by the Basilica - unfortunately I had already paid my money here so learn by my experience! The door always seemed open so watch out for "dodgy" people.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Shared dirty toilets with an extra - no sinks (at all, not even in the room). You have to wash your hands in the showers. They run a french fries shop at the first floor, all the hotel's floor is oily and it smells. Staff unfriendly and unhelpfull.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

My friends and I stayed for a few days in Maastricht when we lost our backpack with some really expensive stuff in it most probably in the facilities of the Hotel Sansa. We thought that I wouldn´t be a big deal, as we saw that the Hotel had cameras installed. Upon request if they could only check if we left the building with our backpack ON that faithful night we where pardonned, the authorized person to do that wasn´t on site. He should return the next or a few days later. As we called them the day after first, that person was there, but had no time. Next try the person was gone again and had not returned at all as they told us now. They intentionally lied to us. The following days we tried various times to get that person at least to the phone, but no chance. All we asked for was that they looked at the camera footage on a specific time, but no chance. They lied to us and treated us really bad eventually, just hanging up or barking at us. We always adressed them calmly and polite!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

Me and my girlfriend spent one night in the "hotel sansa" in Maastricht. We phone this hotel as it was the only one available under 100€/night. We paid 70€ without breakfast.
when you enter the "hotel" you understand why they do not propose breakfast as there is no common area.
our night was an awful experience !!
first there is no entry hall, only a tiny reception desk. When you check-in, they first ask you to pay the night in advance and then they ask for 10€ more as a deposit... when I saw the room later I wonder why they ask for a deposit ! the room is horrible : first it is very dirty, the carpet is full of stains, and they glue paper on the unique chair of the room (to hide the stains ?). then the room is very small and everything falls in the bathroom. we went back to reception and asked for another room but they said they were full. we went back a second time to reception when we discovered that the window was broken and could not being closed. They "fix" it but we could not open it anymore.
but the worst was to come... at night, impossible to sleep: you can hear everything from the neighbours (which neighbour I could not guess as noise was coming from all directions) and, even worse, the walls shake ! I do not know why, but it seems that every time that someone walk in the upper level the walls tremble !!
I do not understand how they can dare rent a room like this.

  • Disliked — Everything except the proximity of the train station
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sansa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sansa

Address: Stationstraat 26, 6221 Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sansa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sansa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.