We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sansa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sansa to your Saves list
Hotel Sansa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sansa
Stationstraat 26, 6221 Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 38 hotels in Maastricht
Armagh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good and bad.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I walked all over Maastricht looking for a room for two nights. This is the cheapest (50 Euros per night) and Maastricht is a very expensive city. It is near the station and part of a kebab/chip shop. My room had no WC or wash facilities so it was up a flight of stairs to a toilet and shower. We are not talking clean folks! There are lots of shops nearby if you want food or to drown your sorrows. Top tip is T'Hofnar by the Basilica - unfortunately I had already paid my money here so learn by my experience! The door always seemed open so watch out for "dodgy" people.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    6
    3
    7
See reviews for
1
6
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Shared dirty toilets with an extra - no sinks (at all, not even in the room). You have to wash your hands in the showers. They run a french fries shop at the first floor, all the hotel's floor is oily and it smells. Staff unfriendly and unhelpfull.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

My friends and I stayed for a few days in Maastricht when we lost our backpack with some really expensive stuff in it most probably in the facilities of the Hotel Sansa. We thought that I wouldn´t be a big deal, as we saw that the Hotel had cameras installed. Upon request if they could only check if we left the building with our backpack ON that faithful night we where pardonned, the authorized person to do that wasn´t on site. He should return the next or a few days later. As we called them the day after first, that person was there, but had no time. Next try the person was gone again and had not returned at all as they told us now. They intentionally lied to us. The following days we tried various times to get that person at least to the phone, but no chance. All we asked for was that they looked at the camera footage on a specific time, but no chance. They lied to us and treated us really bad eventually, just hanging up or barking at us. We always adressed them calmly and polite!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

Me and my girlfriend spent one night in the "hotel sansa" in Maastricht. We phone this hotel as it was the only one available under 100€/night. We paid 70€ without breakfast.
when you enter the "hotel" you understand why they do not propose breakfast as there is no common area.
our night was an awful experience !!
first there is no entry hall, only a tiny reception desk. When you check-in, they first ask you to pay the night in advance and then they ask for 10€ more as a deposit... when I saw the room later I wonder why they ask for a deposit ! the room is horrible : first it is very dirty, the carpet is full of stains, and they glue paper on the unique chair of the room (to hide the stains ?). then the room is very small and everything falls in the bathroom. we went back to reception and asked for another room but they said they were full. we went back a second time to reception when we discovered that the window was broken and could not being closed. They "fix" it but we could not open it anymore.
but the worst was to come... at night, impossible to sleep: you can hear everything from the neighbours (which neighbour I could not guess as noise was coming from all directions) and, even worse, the walls shake ! I do not know why, but it seems that every time that someone walk in the upper level the walls tremble !!
I do not understand how they can dare rent a room like this.

  • Disliked — Everything except the proximity of the train station
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sansa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sansa

Address: Stationstraat 26, 6221 Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 38 hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Sansa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sansa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.