We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central B&B w/ very friendly staf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Hofnar Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added De Hofnar Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
De Hofnar Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
De Hofnar Bed & Breakfast
Keizer Karelplein 13 | & Capucijnenstraat 35 (De Hofnar 2), 6211 TC Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 40 Maastricht B&B and Inns
The Hague
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Central B&B w/ very friendly staf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We states at the hofnarmaastricht for one night with my two young daughters and my parents. Very central location and very friendly staf. They have different types of rooms, budget or bigger more expensive ones with private bathrooms.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
20
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We booked a night at De Hofnar on our 3 week bike trip mostly in Belgium. It is located one block from the central market. We were met by Marta, who showed us to our room and where to store our bikes in their interior courtyard. We had a second floor room in the back facing the courtyard which was very quiet except for the church bells which thankfully only chimed the hour after 10PM. The room was comfortable and well appointed. WiFi is free throughout the building. Breakfast was served by Ava, a personable college student working there for the summer. High points. Are the location and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oud-Turnhout, Belgium
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

With four friends, I have stayed at B & B Hofnar in Roermond. This B & B is ideally located, close to the market (but without noise from the street). The host, Ronald was very friendly and helpfully. Rooms were in a very good condition. Varied delciious breakfast (only less point: for 9 rooms, the breakfast room was rather small, but waiting time is rather limited).
This B & B is a good starting place for shopping in the outlet center (which we, men, naturally haven't done), but also for biking to the "Maaslandplassen" or to other nice places in the area.
If my wife has the intention for a shopping weekend in Roermond in the future, we defintely will stay at this B & B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed for three nights in room 12 (2nd floor overlooking cathedral) - very large room with en-suite. The room was clean and had all the facilities. Although very central it was also quiet. The staff were helpful but in reality we did not need much help. We took the option of booking a parking space from them which was about 5 minutes walk @ €12.50 per day. Because it was central we did not have breakfast (€7.50 per person) - there are plenty of cafes to go to. As a central base in the middle of the town centre you cannot fault it for the price!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarn, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Hofnar (Keizer Karelplein) is quite a big bed and breakfast place in a very charming and central location. We stayed there as a team from my work and some of us continued our stay with family and friends.
You receive an email with arrival instructions in case you arrive after the personnel has left (end of the afternoon). This may seem impersonal, but the instructions are really clear (including a phone number in case you get stuck). At your arrival, the atmosphere in the hallway and common / breakfast room is very inviting: drinks and food at you disposal, just to be payed into a bowl in the fridge (total trust). The rooms are really charming (some with en-suite facilities, some sharing facilities with two or three other rooms), awaiting you with a Belgian chocolate on your pillow.
The rooms at the front of the house overlook the charming little church square but can be noisy during weekends because of drunk passengers in the night. There is double glazing if you want to lock out this noise, but then you also lack the ventilation. Still I would opt for a front room (no.7) next time again because of the charm and view.
The rooms could do with slightly more attention. One of our curtains was running of the rail. But when we mentioned this is was immediately fixed. The head of our shower was a quite chalky, so we cleaned it ourselves and the water system is not really stable for so many guests at the same time. You may get a cool shower, while waiting for the others to finish theirs.
The breakfasts really very good, and the personnel is extremely helpful and friendly.
Two 'green' suggestions for the manager:
1. Don't offer daily clean towels to all the guests automatically: ask them to indicate whether they want them or not.
2. Give the goldfish in the small bowl a better life.
We hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: Room no 7 for the lovely view (if you don't mind some street noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beja, Portugal
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Owner and employee were very helpful and nice. The bed was the best, i slept like a baby. Nice breakfast. Location is spot on, right next to the cathedral and the main square. Overall very nice for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Maastricht is a wonderful city but not cheap. I found De Hofnar in a guide book and tried to reserve one of the lower priced rooms with shared bath. They were booked for the weekend but did have available a studio apartment an easy block or two away from the main square and their primary address. This is De Hofnar 2 on Capucijnenstraat 35. What a lovely, clean place. It easily sleeps three (two in a full size bed, one in a single) but has room for more. I would recommend, if traveling with a few friends to rent this as well as the room(s) upstairs, which I did not see. The studio has a fully stocked, remodeled galley-style kitchen, a large modern bathroom, a private patio, a dining table for 6+ on a great street convenient to all the shopping and sights. The physical arrangements of the beds are a bit creative/funky and would require everyone in the studio to turn in at the same time. The breakfast, which is extra, was a full Dutch breakfast, and I was assured by a frugal friend who lives in The Netherlands, that it was reasonably priced. One has to walk from the studio to breakfast, but is quick and easy as well as across the street from a fascinating historic church. A bargain.

Room Tip: Ask for the studio. Details in the review
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De Hofnar Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Hofnar Bed & Breakfast

Address: Keizer Karelplein 13 | & Capucijnenstraat 35 (De Hofnar 2), 6211 TC Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelsNL and Odigeo so you can book your De Hofnar Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Hofnar Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.