We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpfull staff and great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stayokay Maastricht

Save Saved
You added Stayokay Maastricht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stayokay Maastricht
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Maasboulevard 101, 6211 JW Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
“Very helpfull staff and great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Came back after a visit last year and again I was welcomed very helpful!
All staff is very kind. Room is basic and clean. Breakfast superb for this price!
Location is perfect, only 5 mins away from citycenter.
I'll come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luc B, Manager at Stayokay Maastricht, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Joseph,
Good to hear that you have enjoyed your stay again. We are happy to receive such nice comments. We hope to see you back again in Stayokay Maastricht. Kind regards, the Stayokay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    15
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
7
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Trento, Italy
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was definitely my WORST experience in a hostel. I reserved a bed in a female dorm and paid already a lot for it (the price in high season is 31 euro per night in a 6 beds female dorm!)
They messed up my reservation and put me in a mixed dorm; it was a very hot day and the window in the dorm was LOCKED (and could not be unlocked), so the temperature in the room was around 32 degrees (according to my iphone). I complained for the heat and for the room (as it was not what I booked) and they relocated me in a 10 square meters room WITHOUT WINDOW, where the heat was unbearable and, of course, there was no ac.
The hostel is clean and there is a good breakfast, but this is no excuse: when I complained again the day after, they admitted that they put me in a room that "they normally do not rent out because it is too small" (I had to share it with another lady). Overall, it was the worst night I ever spent in a hostel (no fresh air, no window, claustrophobic).
More in general, the hostel is the only affordable place in Maastricht, but has no charme, no character, and everything is overpriced (from lockers to every extra service). I would NEVER recommend it to anybody!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luc B, Manager at Stayokay Maastricht, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear miss Rita,
First of all thank you very much for your feedback. We apologize sincerely for the inconvenience you have suffered. We've tried to contact you via email but haven't been able to reach you. We have looked in to the mistake that has been made to make sure that this will never happen again. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us. maastricht@stayokay.com
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

If you are wondering the city and want to get away from the hustle (5 min walk) and enjoy a nice cold beer right on the River Maas - this is a good and cheap place to do it. They have a bar with seating right on the water and its a nice place to relax even if you arent staying there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Stay Okay is located on the river bank. Very close to the city center (a 5 min walk) and bridge across the river (2 min). The building is clean, even the public bathroom downstairs. Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast is very good and even the 3 course dinner (11 euro!) is very good for the price. Outside terrace, lounge set in the lobby and of course free WiFi.
Rooms are basic, but clean. Good shower and clean toilet. If you are use to have a big towel, bring one of your own.
The public parking next door will cost you 6 euro/24 hrs and that's cheap for this location.
Stay Okay, go there!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed only one night in the hostel with my friend after a long day of driving from barelona.Our gps didnt have a dutch map so we got lost in maastrict while looking for the hotel.We called the reception twice and the guy was very helpful trying to help us to find the hostel.Our room,the toilet and shower were spotless,we had a nice view over the river.The staff at the bar was very friendly as well,we didnt know that it was not allowed to bring food into the hostel so we bought some thai food but had no cutlery..they let us eat in the bar and use knoves and forks from there. The breakfast was delicius with a wild choice of different pastires and cold cuts and the coffee was amazing (im very picky at that)! The only thing i can critise is their pillow-they were not really comfortable-i think they should be changed...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We loved our stay at the StayOkay. We arrived by car and were able to park in the lot next to the hostel for 6 euro/day. That's a good deal by Dutch parking standards.

The building is very modern and clean. The beds are comfortable and simple - all bunk beds, but we requested two beds together and since we had reserved a private room, they were able to make a double bed for us.

The breakfast is ample and served in a truly lovely dining/lounge area. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the location is quiet and peaceful but still just a 5-10 minute walk from the heart of Maastricht. We would absolutely stay here again. It's not luxurious, but it's comfortable, cozy, and the price to value ratio is outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

StayOkay's Location in Maastricht is a little inconvenient and a fair walk from the station (15-20mins), with no buses passing nearby nor free parking. But it's in a huge building scenicly located right on the river, which more than compensates. Its also a quicker walk to the old town (10mins). The dorms are modern, clean and have comfy beds and fresh sheets, and an ensuite shower/toilet, sink and cupboard space. Each bed also has reading light w/powerpoint, a nice touch, only having more overflow bathrooms outside would be ideal. Staff are friendly and helpful, there's fast free wifi throughout and the bar area/restaurant is a stunner; a huge area with sofas, tables, chairs and a sublime outdoor terrace overlooking the river. There was even a salsa/latin night when I stayed, great fun!

The price was good, 19e for HI members, although you have to pay an extra 2e/day for a fancy electronic locker downstairs. Also, the free breakfast buffet was great; coffee machine, juice, 2 types of fresh bread, 2 types of cheese and hams, jam spreads, boiled eggs, cereal and more. It is the only hostel/budget accommodation in Maastricht, but they do an excellent job, making it a great place to stay. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All dorms are the same, and segregated as per HI standards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stayokay Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Maastricht

Address: Maasboulevard 101, 6211 JW Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty lodging in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Maastricht 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stayokay Maastricht is splendidly located on the bank of the River Maas, in the heart of the town and with the bustling Onze Lieve Vrouweplein within walking distance. Stayokay Maastricht has a clean, contemporary interior, with a fresh, hospitable atmosphere. Stayokay Maastricht is the perfect base of operations for anyone visiting the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Stayokay Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stayokay Maastricht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.