We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel which lives up to all expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt to your Saves list
Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weert 9, 6222 PG Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
kansas city
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The hotel which lives up to all expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I am very hotel picky. Oh yes, and this hotel is in an old castle. However, the rooms seem recently renovated. Normally, I don't like "old" castle type places. Centuries of dirt seems to congregate in the corners. It was late when we arrived and the front desk staff was very nice. The art fair was going on and hotel space was limited. How lucky for me! The rooms were a nice size, very clean and modern. The beds were twins and oh so comfortable. The breakfast was very nice and worth the 17 euros. It was relaxing. This whole hotel seems geared toward relaxing and it works and works well. Already, I miss it. Go, stay, enjoy. It will not disappoint!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaeshartelt, Front Office Employee at Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for your response. Very kind words from you.
Hope to see you soon, here at Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt.

Kind regards, Brenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    103
    29
    7
    2
See reviews for
23
153
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vught, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The castle is situated 5 kms outside of Maastricht and is beautiful! It has a lovely garden and cows in the fields in front, very picturesque.
The rooms are a bit dated but comfortable; they have started renovating them.
The staff is friendly and helpful and the free parking and WiFi are important advantages.
However, the restaurant is overpriced and quite below par, this needs to be upgraded! Dinner was not expensive (special offer) but average; breakfast was a big buffet (very good) but hugely overpriced at euro 16,50 per person!
It was a good experience and I would go again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaeshartelt, employee at Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Google Translation
Geachte Rsars,

Hartelijk dank voor uw reactie!

Wij vinden het fijn om te lezen dat u een prettig verblijf heeft gehad op onze Buitenplaats.

Hopelijk mogen wij u nog een keer verwelkomen, op een van onze gerenoveerde kamers.

Met vriendelijke groet,

Lisa Beurskens
Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Good location and particularly like the WIFI which is free, available and of good bandwidth - well done on this. Has a great serpent in the garden whose head moves in the wind - fun! Dinner is good but lunch and breakfast have limited choice. Friendly staff and a nice bar area. Disappointed that there is no room service and not even a kettle in the room to make your own tea. Personally, also, I prefer more covers on the bed - they were sparse. But, overall, there are some strong pluses and I would not rule out staying here again, particularly for the setting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaeshartelt, Employee at Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Herr Charles

Vielen Dank für Ihre Kommentare.
Leider haben wir keine Wasserkocher auf dem Zimmer. Wir möchten Sie und andere Gäste einladen, in unserem Park oder Bar für einem getränk.

Mit freundliche grussen,

Lisa Beurskens
Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here in July for the Andrea roux concert and the place was areal bonus and good value compared to other places in the town centre. It is ashort taxi ride from the town but well worth it for the surroundings,it was so nice we actually spent the whole day in the gardens and surrounding area.big thank you to all the staff who are happy and obliging

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaeshartelt, Employee at Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Mark,

Thank you for your positive response.
We hope to meet you again at Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt.

Kind regards,

Lisa Beurskens
Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I really enjoyed our weekend at this Hotel. It is outside of Maastricht but only 10 minutes to one of the Park & Walk car parks which are again about 10 minutes walk away from the central Vrijthof.The Castle is set in it's own grounds and is very picturesque.The grounds are lovely to walk around and give great views across to the Castle.
All the Staff we met were friendly and helpful and spoke very good English.
The room was nicely decorated but relatively basic, ( no bathtub, no tea & coffee making facilities).
We found the restaurant to be very good and the breakfast buffet was excellent with a large choice of hot and cold food.
The only things that seemed out of place were the plastic chairs scattered around the grounds.
I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This place is located 5km north of Maastricht, and you really do need a car to get to the centre, if you wanted to. Beautiful location and very nicely decorated building. The rooms are located behind the castle, in a separate building, and have a more modern feel to it. They are not luxurious, but this is to be expected for the price we paid (€82 per night). No bathtub or minibar.
Restaurant is good, with very good service and nice food. We enjoyed the Easter brunch, which was perfectly organized, and a tip for families with young children. Staff was friendly. All in all a very enjoyable stay and I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaeshartelt, Director of Sales at Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We are truly thankful for your kind comments about our hotel.

We are happy to know that you like our facilities as our restaurant, trips and the Easter brunch, and our staff that made your stay enjoyable.

Also I want to thank you for your comment about our rooms, we will take it into consideration. As you might like to know we are going to update our rooms and we hope to welcome you in the future.


Yours Sincerely,

Toos Hofstede
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt

Address: Weert 9, 6222 PG Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.