We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never been in such a noisy hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bigarre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bigarre to your Saves list
Hotel Bigarre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Hasseltkade 8, 6211 CC Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Maastricht
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Never been in such a noisy hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

It is 8:13 AM and we've just been woken up by the construction crew that's working on the hotel's new terrace right outside our window. Funny, I had previously been kept awake until 5 AM by the loud humming and buzzing of whatever machinery is beneath my room.... We're checking out as soon as we can.
That's a pity, the hotel is quite nice, well located and the staff is nice enough, rooms are big and beds comfy. Seems to me it would be common courtesy to tell in advance "welcome to our hotel. Hey guess what? Some guys will be outside your window by 7:30 drilling and hammering! Enjoy your stay!"

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    28
    30
    12
    10
See reviews for
15
43
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bremen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We arrived by car and were happy to find covered parking very close. The hotel staff are exceptionally helpful and very friendly. There is a bus stop almost opposite the hotel, but it is located near the river and everything is reachable if you don't mind walking a few minutes. We parked the car and then didn't need it all weekend. The hotel has a lovely ambiance with high ceilings and is full of character. We didn't see any lifts, so if you are not very mobile, this would not be for you as the rooms are all up some stairs. Very good value for money and I would certainly recommend it. We came to look around Maastricht University and found the whole experience fantastic.

Room Tip: I had room 12 which was great. The bathroom had a large shower, sink and toilet. Very modern, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

A pleasant and relatively inexpensive historic hotel situated close to the centre of Maastricht overlooking the Western side of the river Mass. It is about fifteen minutes slow walk from the railway station. Recently extensively and tasteful modernised, although I had the distinct impression (April 2013) that the builders have not quite yet completed their work. Bedrooms are clean and pleasantly furnished in a modern and practical manner, I had a walk-in shower. Some of the bedrooms are accessible only via steep stairs as there is no lift access to some parts of the historic building. Although situated on a large road, the amount of traffic noise is low. Breakfast is served in a suite of rooms with interesting historic decorations. If you want a USofA breakfast buffet you will be out of luck but the slightly unusual breakfast was pure Dutch and delicious. There is a small walled patio at the back of the hotel overlooked by a modern residential development, good for drinks in the summer. There is no restaurant for lunch or evening meals. Some of the bedrooms are situated in an adjacent building with a separate entrance but this should not be a concern. The reception closes at ten o’clock in the evening. If you want a modern bland hotel the Bigaree will not be for you and you should head across the river Mass to the Crowne Plaza. If you are looking for a historic Dutch hotel which is mildly eccentric - then the Bigarre will fit the bill.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and booked two rooms (one for friends). We first received a room which smelled terrible. However, this was only that room, since we received a different room after we complained.

The rooms are clean, well decorated and spacious. There is no elevator, so you have to walk the stairs (we were on the 2nd floor). It was ok for us!

The location is great. In the city centre, near 'the bassin' (a nice spot with bars/restaurants), 'the vrijthof' and the modern area 'wijck'. There is indeed a drugsboat nearby, however we really had no trouble with this at all! Maastricht is really safe!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aerdenhout
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in the hotel or one night and slept in the adjacent building on the street side. Opening the window was no option due to the traffice noise. A wardrobe was not in the room, instead you had to use a rack placed on wheels. Room doors closed loudly, something we took into account after having experienced this - but others apparently forgot in the middle of the night. Stairs made of woon without a carpet, so this too caused noise. Pillows were uncomfortable. Breakfast was served in the other building the next day (in two shifts). Very friendly staff, but a surprising breakfast: unasked for we got eggs (half baked) together with steak ! Only fruit teas and no regular black tea. Jam was only jam with ginger. Raisinbread was overdue, some of the rolls were wet. Croissants could be used to drive a nail in the wall. They tried but it is way overpriced for what you get - there are better offers.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaduz, Liechtenstein
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Good location, next to the market place. Lovely room, (601), just renovated, modern bathroom, but incredibly noisy. Road, people speaking passing by. It was just renovated but they did not change windows. During the night the heating went off, so,in the morning was really cold. The staff is nice and helpful, and understand they are trying to improve their standards, but outside the hotel you find very strange young people selling....whatever and even trying to stop you with their offers! I hope they will do any effort to improve, as the hotel in itself is really nice. What a pity! Remember to avoid rooms facing the main road.

Room Tip: Avoid 601, and rooms facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Lovely rooms, most comfortable beds ever but too many dodgy characters loitering around outside. My wife and I felt very uncomfortable when we stepped outside. Girl on reception very helpful and otherwise the location was good and close to the centre

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Bigarre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bigarre

Address: Van Hasseltkade 8, 6211 CC Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bigarre 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bigarre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bigarre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.