We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot to improve” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bigarre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bigarre to your Saves list
Hotel Bigarre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Hasseltkade 8, 6211 CC Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Maastricht
Vaduz, Liechtenstein
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A lot to improve”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Good location, next to the market place. Lovely room, (601), just renovated, modern bathroom, but incredibly noisy. Road, people speaking passing by. It was just renovated but they did not change windows. During the night the heating went off, so,in the morning was really cold. The staff is nice and helpful, and understand they are trying to improve their standards, but outside the hotel you find very strange young people selling....whatever and even trying to stop you with their offers! I hope they will do any effort to improve, as the hotel in itself is really nice. What a pity! Remember to avoid rooms facing the main road.

Room Tip: Avoid 601, and rooms facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    26
    29
    12
    10
See reviews for
15
41
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Lovely rooms, most comfortable beds ever but too many dodgy characters loitering around outside. My wife and I felt very uncomfortable when we stepped outside. Girl on reception very helpful and otherwise the location was good and close to the centre

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

If only the chandeliers were raised a few inches the ceiling room can indeed accommodate tall travelers as the bed is in the right position to limit ceiling crashes. The hotel is very lovely and good value. I found the room to be charming and appreciated the complimentary bottle of Masstrichtian wine. The bathroom was neat as a pin, but the shower curtain was not very clean and smelled mildewy (a problem I find in most hotels no matter how chic - wish it were common practice to wash the curtains after each guest and replace often). My biggest problem with this hotel is security. The hotel is not at fault for this but there was a group of young men outside the hotel all day and night, looking to sell or buy contraband. Some of them were drinking, one was urinating in the alley next to the hotel, and during the night there was a loud and violent-sounding street fight with much shouting and scuffling. I was scared and as there was no hotel phone, my USA cell phone didn't work overseas, and I was solo, it made for a long and tense night. Next morning I explained what happened to the professional staff and they explained that loitering is not illegal there (not so in the USA) and unless the men were committing a crime, the police would not help. Too bad this can't be restricted somehow. Anyway, for the solo traveler or otherwise, be cautious if staying at this hotel especially if returning at night. The room key also works for the front door of the hotel and the staff who checked me in failed to tell me this and that the hotel was not staffed during the night. I thought was locked out at first and then had the idea to check my room key and it worked. Be sure to tell patrons about this please!

Room Tip: I liked the attic room but had to duck to avoid hitting the chandelier. Still worth it though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Owner is not experienced in the hotel business some etiquettes were wrong. Serving breakfast to your guest is old fashioned without asking them what they prefer is rather rude. The beds and location are excellent. When arriving on Saturday by car for the weekend it's cheaper to park outside when Sunday is free parking rather then get 20 euro per day charged by the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordeloos (Holland)
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed here in july with a friend, the room was small but recently refurbished and was very comfortable. The breakfast on the Sunday morning was a bit different, steak for breakfast.
The hotel is in a good location, only a few minutes walk to the Market and Vrijthof square.

Room Tip: If you are a tall person then the attic-room is to small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We rented one of the two bedroom apartments. Two single beds per room (pushed together to make a double). The apartment was very nice, it had a dining table that could seat 6 people, a nice sitting area with TV, one and a half bathrooms, a kitchen, and the two bedrooms. The apartment was clean, the kitchen was full-size with all the amenities, and the main bathroom had a washing machine. Very secluded and quiet spot (even for a Saturday night), with a gated in outside area that had a patio table and chairs. Parking was on the street right outside of the apartment, if you can find an open spot (we did easily on a late Saturday afternoon). The receptionist at check-out was extremely polite.
Cons - Location for this particular apartment was over a kilometer away from the reception desk, which we did not know until check-in. No phone in the apartment. The receptionist at check-in ruined the whole experience, as he was very rude. If it had not been for his very poor customer service, we would have given a four or five star rating.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

We booked a bargain room here for 52/night, but the room was in the part of the hotel that has not been refurbished. It looked really oudated and old, the decor was horrid, and the room smelled quite bad (like old musty stale smoke). After we complained about the smell etc. they suggested we spray some perfume to cover it. We were none too pleased with this suggestions, but we ended up getting a slight discount on one of their large rooms in the refurbished part of the hotel. It was very spacious and very nicely appointed, with wood floors, comfortable bed, good shower, and a big TV. It also has a large terrace that we couldn't take advantage of b/c of snow. I would recommend it so long as you stay in the refurbished part.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Bigarre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bigarre

Address: Van Hasseltkade 8, 6211 CC Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bigarre 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bigarre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bigarre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.