We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dis to your Saves list
Hotel Dis
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Tafelstraat 28, 6211 Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 45 Maastricht B&B and Inns
canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Location, location...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Hotel Dis is a charming boutique hotel ideally located (at least for us) in the no-less-charming city of Maasricht, Netherlands. We were there for a wedding and the hotel had been arranged for us and friends by the bride's family. Like many such European hotels, its entrance is unprepossessing and you'd walk right by it if you weren't looking for it.
Inside, it is a different story. It has perhaps half a dozen rooms (we didn't count) situated on 3 storeys up a fairly narrow, semi-steep stairway. The stairs were a bit of a challenge with luggage but we managed.
The building is clearly an old one, well refurbished. The view we had was lovely - over the courtyard garden and on a level with the rooftops of Maastricht which were, in themselves, charming (photos included). The rooms had slightly creaky wooden floors, might have been a bit disturbing to those below (we didn't ask) but, since we were on the top floor, we were fine. They were well-appointed and we needed nothing.
The service was excellent, and the complimentary breakfast, tasty. The room through which one passes to the dining room is a mini art gallery.
What we liked most was that it is at the intersection of 4 streets but with little traffic and, in an island in the middle of the intersection is one of those lovely little European outdoor spaces with tables and chairs looked after by the lovely (and worth a visit) little restaurant, Lure, just across a narrow street. One can sit out and have a light meal, a beer (excellent local brews) and feel like a native. We sat and watched as groups on young(ish) 'Maastichians' met, visited, and the size of the groups at adjacent tables grew and diminished as people came and went.
The hotel is a short walk from everywhere you'd want to go in Maastricht and a nice quiet place to come back to after a day of exploring.
It's not the Hyatt so don't look for pool, spa or fitness room.
We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    19
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
33
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Spent 2 nights in this wonderful Hotel. Comfy bed in a huge room with great art. Room 1 does face the street and as others have noted, there can be some street noise (even with the windows closed). At some point, I think the owners should replace the windows with some new double or triple pane units that block noise. Great location in a quiet corner of Maastricht.


Recommend Gio's for dinner. We also ate at Le Tapage and was frankly disappointed with the food and slow service.

Maastricht is one of my favorite places in Europe! The Dutch people are wonderful and there are more outdoor cafes with great beer in Maastricht than you can count. Tons of great shops for clothes, shoes and fine jewelry.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were upgraded to the front room on the first floor. Excellent, huge, well lit room. Luckily the street is rather quite, as the windows let every noise go through. Another part of town would have been a nightmare. Breakfast was great, we must say that the place really has a lot of magic, old house, nicely renovated, interesting art gallery, breakfast in an old chapel. It is true there is no lift but depending on your condition, you reserve where you want to be. Parking can be easily arranged if you care to reserve for it. Centrally located in the old town which allow you to discover it in a very relaxed way : by foot. We will go back. Excellent staff by the way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night on a stopover in Maastricht and wasn't disappointed. Other reviews sum it up pretty well. Quiet, clean, and a5 minute walk to grot markt. We stayed in room 7, right at the top of the building under the eaves, and there's lots of narrow stairs to get there. Fine if you're full of energy, but a bit daunting after a hard day's drive or sight seeing, or perhaps a few to many beers at any of the fine local pubs or restaurants in the vicinity. (Note to hotel proprietor: room 7 door needs oiling, if only for the sake of other guests sleep.)
Parking is down the street in a( locked 7 pm to 7am) parking area (warning: do NOT park in any space other than those designated for the hoteloor your car will either be clamped or towed. Saw poor sucker from Austria with a big yellow clamp on their BMW front tire.)

Didn't have breakfast there but on checking out saw the spread and it looked fresh and plentiful.

Id definitely stay again, though maybe not in room 7!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Excellent location. Professional and friendly staff. Spacious rooms with high quality fittings. Some initial problems accessing the wi-fi service in my room - but this was quickly attended to and rectified. Room rates are high and generally the hotel was value for money - but at the price I think that the (beautiful) Breakfast should have been included and not an extra charge. The only real criticism I have is that there was very subdued lighting in the rooms, making it almost impossible to read - and the separate toilet area off the bathroom was very dark with completely inadequate lighting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights for the art fair in March. The city is basically old town (left of river) and new town (right of river and where the train station and exhibition centre are located). Location of Dis is excellent close to the Vrithof and its restaurants and little shops. Each room is different as it is a converted house, so when booking do say what you want, and what you do not want. Room was on top floor as requested and which I like, as there is no noise above me (no lift but that is fine with me), it had lovely view out to the adjoining house, and was quiet. Hotel Dis itself is down a narrow lane but it did not feel unsafe. Narrow lanes are characteristic of the Old Town. Bedroom was a generous size ( I booked a deluxe, double bed) . Bathroom good size with good water pressure for long bath but it is somewhat dark. Some of the rooms have rather 'bizarre' art painted in the walls so if that freaks you out do say so. Hotel is spotlessly clean, and recommended for solo female travellers. Bed was comfortable, lovely pillows and duvet. Breakfast is Dutch style, boiled eggs on request, and adequate cold buffet table. Owner is a bit brusque but that's just his style, but you do see him every morning at breakfast, so it does have an effect on one's stay. You get a front door key to let yourself in, and of course your room key.
On the whole, an OK stay, expensive for what it is, due to owner's "service style". Friends who stayed at the Beaumont for the same price said they had a good stay there.
Tip: lovely home furnishings shop nearby- Toro Interior Design, Sint Pieterstraat 34.

Room Tip: Do be specific when booking, as to what sort of room you need. Email works fine with the booking/the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed for a short Spring break in this hotel, conveniently tucked away in a residential area but only a stone’s throw away from the sights of Maastricht. This is a delightful ‘living’ city not yet discovered by the mass tourist market. The Hotel Dis is situated in a beautiful old building – don’t be surprised – there’s no lift and the floors do creak! A lavish buffet breakfast is served in the dining room (though annoyingly is not included in the room rate). Our room on the second floor (Americans read 3rd) was well-furnished, had very comfy beds and a small bathroom – surprisingly for a ‘design hotel’ the only case of design-over-practicality was the shower which splashes water abundantly onto the bathroom floor. If coming by car, be sure to reserve a secure parking space located maybe 30 meters from the hotel - the hotel is easy to find despite Maastricht's one-way systems. James and his team make great hosts, friendly and informative with plenty of local dining tips. One downside is, that whilst marketed as a hotel, the place has more of a feel of an upmarket B&B as there are no public rooms; the beautiful rear courtyard (a key factor in selecting this hotel) was under renovations during our visit and could have been mentioned on the website – for the prices advertised, I expected a little more. Nevertheless, this remains probably one of the smartest small hostelries in Maastricht.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Dis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dis

Address: Tafelstraat 28, 6211 Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dis 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Budget Places, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Dis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.