We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good boutique hotel in Maastricht. Caution! Lots of stairs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dis

Save Saved
You added Hotel Dis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Dis
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Tafelstraat 28, 6211 Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 40 Maastricht B&B and Inns
Toronto
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good boutique hotel in Maastricht. Caution! Lots of stairs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night on a stopover in Maastricht and wasn't disappointed. Other reviews sum it up pretty well. Quiet, clean, and a5 minute walk to grot markt. We stayed in room 7, right at the top of the building under the eaves, and there's lots of narrow stairs to get there. Fine if you're full of energy, but a bit daunting after a hard day's drive or sight seeing, or perhaps a few to many beers at any of the fine local pubs or restaurants in the vicinity. (Note to hotel proprietor: room 7 door needs oiling, if only for the sake of other guests sleep.)
Parking is down the street in a( locked 7 pm to 7am) parking area (warning: do NOT park in any space other than those designated for the hoteloor your car will either be clamped or towed. Saw poor sucker from Austria with a big yellow clamp on their BMW front tire.)

Didn't have breakfast there but on checking out saw the spread and it looked fresh and plentiful.

Id definitely stay again, though maybe not in room 7!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    19
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
24
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Excellent location. Professional and friendly staff. Spacious rooms with high quality fittings. Some initial problems accessing the wi-fi service in my room - but this was quickly attended to and rectified. Room rates are high and generally the hotel was value for money - but at the price I think that the (beautiful) Breakfast should have been included and not an extra charge. The only real criticism I have is that there was very subdued lighting in the rooms, making it almost impossible to read - and the separate toilet area off the bathroom was very dark with completely inadequate lighting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights for the art fair in March. The city is basically old town (left of river) and new town (right of river and where the train station and exhibition centre are located). Location of Dis is excellent close to the Vrithof and its restaurants and little shops. Each room is different as it is a converted house, so when booking do say what you want, and what you do not want. Room was on top floor as requested and which I like, as there is no noise above me (no lift but that is fine with me), it had lovely view out to the adjoining house, and was quiet. Hotel Dis itself is down a narrow lane but it did not feel unsafe. Narrow lanes are characteristic of the Old Town. Bedroom was a generous size ( I booked a deluxe, double bed) . Bathroom good size with good water pressure for long bath but it is somewhat dark. Some of the rooms have rather 'bizarre' art painted in the walls so if that freaks you out do say so. Hotel is spotlessly clean, and recommended for solo female travellers. Bed was comfortable, lovely pillows and duvet. Breakfast is Dutch style, boiled eggs on request, and adequate cold buffet table. Owner is a bit brusque but that's just his style, but you do see him every morning at breakfast, so it does have an effect on one's stay. You get a front door key to let yourself in, and of course your room key.
On the whole, an OK stay, expensive for what it is, due to owner's "service style". Friends who stayed at the Beaumont for the same price said they had a good stay there.
Tip: lovely home furnishings shop nearby- Toro Interior Design, Sint Pieterstraat 34.

Room Tip: Do be specific when booking, as to what sort of room you need. Email works fine with the booking/the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed for a short Spring break in this hotel, conveniently tucked away in a residential area but only a stone’s throw away from the sights of Maastricht. This is a delightful ‘living’ city not yet discovered by the mass tourist market. The Hotel Dis is situated in a beautiful old building – don’t be surprised – there’s no lift and the floors do creak! A lavish buffet breakfast is served in the dining room (though annoyingly is not included in the room rate). Our room on the second floor (Americans read 3rd) was well-furnished, had very comfy beds and a small bathroom – surprisingly for a ‘design hotel’ the only case of design-over-practicality was the shower which splashes water abundantly onto the bathroom floor. If coming by car, be sure to reserve a secure parking space located maybe 30 meters from the hotel - the hotel is easy to find despite Maastricht's one-way systems. James and his team make great hosts, friendly and informative with plenty of local dining tips. One downside is, that whilst marketed as a hotel, the place has more of a feel of an upmarket B&B as there are no public rooms; the beautiful rear courtyard (a key factor in selecting this hotel) was under renovations during our visit and could have been mentioned on the website – for the prices advertised, I expected a little more. Nevertheless, this remains probably one of the smartest small hostelries in Maastricht.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Starting with a beautiful location on a cobbled street, above an art gallery with a cute little square across the road we had high expectations of this hotel and we werent disappointed.
Once you get over the three flights of narrow stairs, everything else about the hotel was perfect. The rooms were big and though perhaps a little tired, they had real charm and character.
The breakfast was one of the best i have had in any hotel, quality ingredients in a beautiful setting with lots of coffee!
Our host gave us a lot of suggestions of things to do and see and great restaurants to eat at. If we return to Maastricht, we will definitely be returning to Hotel Dis.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oud-Heverlee, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We had a short weekend break in Maastricht traveling as 2 couples. The rooms are spacious and nice, bathrooms are very good (we had the one with walk-in shower) but the beds are in no good condition. Both our friends and we had the same complaint: terrible mattresses and cushions! Provided this issue is properly addressed, Dis hotel could be rated as very good. Our nightly unease was however quickly forgotten thanks to a lavish breakfast buffet accompanied by friendly service. The hotel is in a very quiet location in the old city center near to a guarded parking lot. As the hotel was very quiet, we got upgraded to the 2 biggest rooms which was a very nice gesture.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samara, Russia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

For carnival in Maastricht we stayed in Galerie Hotel Dis. This hotel is in the building that dates from the early 17th century!! It's located in a quiet street in the heart of Maastricht. The staff was friendly, the atmosphere was relaxed and the central location was ideal. Breakfast was served in a former beer brewery from the 17th century. On the ground floor of the hotel there's an art gallery with varied exhibitions of contemporary art!! In the room we have bathroom with bathtub, separate toilets, LCD television, free wireless Internet, minibar and a safe. The room was equipped with contemporary furniture and lots of art. Perhaps we'll come back here someday.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Dis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dis

Address: Tafelstraat 28, 6211 Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dis 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Dis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.