We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exceptional experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kruisherenhotel Maastricht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kruisherenhotel Maastricht to your Saves list
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kruisherengang 19-23, 6211 Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An exceptional experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

The hotel in the heart of Maastricht - in my opinion the most beautiful city of the Netherlands - has been described as architectural gem and is indeed an interesting combination of medieval architecture and individual modern design.

As we booked several months ahead we were lucky enough to get a suite (No. 10) for a more or less affordable price. Our room was an exceptional experience as we never before entered a hotel room through the bathroom! It was a pleasure to discover how the designer respected on the one hand the historical structure and on the other hand integrated all the modern touches you would expect in a 5-star-hotel.

Nevertheless you should find the time to leave the room - at least to have breakfast in the Entresol - and have a closer look at the twist of modern and medieval in the whole hotel.

The slight flaw with the hotel is that the price is at the upper end of what we usually would spend for a special weekend. For dinner we left the hotel and went to the Petit Bonheur which is definitely a good choice for a romantic evening and had more reasonable prices than the restaurant in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    116
    30
    10
    5
See reviews for
36
198
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

it was all a hotel good offer you - great service - great rooms - great location - great building - great art ' nothing else to say: just check out yourself when you are in Maasticht

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Kruisherenhotel in Maastricht for a short break. The physical property is breathtaking, as it is an old church/monastery that has been converted into a hotel. The main lobby, bar, and restaurant are real visual treats. We sprang for a Deluxe room and I have to say, after the sheer splendor of the lobby, the room was a bit of a disappointment. It was extremely modern, clean, and well-designed, but did not really have a lot of interesting church/monastery architectural features. The room could have been anywhere. Maybe other rooms are more interesting. The bed and duvet were great - a good nights sleep. Breakfast is the usual fare and at a normal rate for a hotel (in other words, exorbitant). There are loads of cafes in Maastricht, so if you are watching your funds rather have breakfast in town. Having said all this, we definitely plan to return - the main hotel lobby and bar are worth it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

The parking space is located at a different place, some 150m walk. Excellent service and friendly staff. The hotel has kept its original gothic facade but a very modern design inside which builds a cosy atmosphere. The breakfast at 27 euros each person was not so impressive and didn't reflect 5 star rating...actually quite expensive! The room was comfy! I'd give the total experience a 7 out of 10.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
239 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

Pros:
- Aesthetically beautiful. A truly original experience to sleep in an old cathedral that has been perfectly restored with modern, trendy design elements.
- Staff were VERY helpful. Down-to-earth, professional, and you can see that they are really trying to make this a perfect experience for all of their guests.
- Great restaurant upstairs. Cool, quiet bar downstairs (both with incredible atmospheres) - - Great little courtyard / terrace for a drink in the sun
- Cool rooms. Each room is designed differently (we had rooms 4 and 5 and were very happy with them).

Cons:
- Parking should be free when you're paying this much (30 euros).
- Breakfast is a rip off (27 euros), but great for the atmosphere if you can afford it.
- We asked them to book a restaurant (ceramique) in town for 8pm, and the hotel staff did so, but forgot to call back to the restaurant to confirm the booking (something that the restaurant said was requested of them in order to guarantee a table). We were able to get a table anyway, so it all worked out ok in the end.

Summary: A few minor improvements could be made to help balance out the "value for money" concept (free parking, and a more reasonably priced breakfast) but all in all, definitely 5 star value and a truly unique experience that puts you in the perfect mood for your time in Maastricht.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

We went there from 13/05 till 16/05.
We have chosen a Prestige room. We got room N°3.
The hotel is in a old church. Simply amazing location! 10 minits from the center of the City.
To the contrary to what we have red before :
- the room was perfectly clean. Spacious (around 50 m²), with an perfect bathroom with bath and amazing big shower room. Very designed furnished. Everything perfect on that side.
- It's a 5 stars hotel, so the price is certainly not cheap (like parking at 30 EUR/day or breakfast at 27 EUR / people) . But the quality of the room, the food and the location is at the level of what you pay for.

Regarding sleeping quality, the beds were perfect, only a bit noisy sometimes because it's stones everywhere, people working in the hotel should perhaps not whear high heels shoes which can make a little noise hearly in the morning.

Only little problems is not regarding the service itselfs: people are very kind and helpfull but there seems to be little logistics problems around the service (between the different departments) and not enough communication to the customers in such an hotel level.
Examples :
- We used the card to get breakfast in our room the first morning. It was not replaced for the next day.
- We took white wine in the mini bar. It was not replaced. When we asked for it. We received red instead. And the same the next days. Surelly this would mean that white wine was missing but in that case, the people of the hotel should know it or a message should be left in the room to explain and appologize.
- Because we had no card to order breakfast in our room for the 2nd day, we called the reception who was very helpful to take the order for us. But we did not get the breakfast the next day! We called and received it 10 minits after with appologises.
- The last day, there was again no order breakfast card in the room. We asked for it and received one. But when breakfast came, is was not complete compared to what we asked : we had tea for one instead of 2, there was no sugar neither. No salt and peper while we had eggs, we asked for mushrooms and there were not there.

The food is excellent : we took a salad in our room the first night and it was simply delicious. So, on saterday night we reserved a table in the restaurant of the hotel. Very beautifull location even if I should thing that the decoration should have been more theatralistic for such a place (but it's my taste)! The food was perfect and the associated wines too, the only problem was that it was a little too long between the courses. We stayed 3 hours for a 4 services cource (desert included).

In conclusion :
- if these little logistics problems should be resolved,
- and personnaly if a system for tea and coffee was also foreseen in the room (at least in the privilege rooms and suite),
it would be a really perfect hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

We had this hotel on our "wish list" already for a long time, been reading about it in magazines, the 'hotel in a church'. The entrance is strange but funny, there is a lot of art & design in this hotel, you will find it through the whole building. It makes you walking around disovering new things all the time. Sometimes I do not understand the art, but some things in this hotel are nice to look at, In the court-yard and even in the loft corridors you will find interesting things. The most impressive is the church itself, again with a lot of art & design. We had a very friendly welcome, the receptionist showed us the room while telling about the history of the hotel. The room we had was very nice & spacious (because it was quiet we were offered a free upgrade). Breakfast was excellent, but make sure you are hungry because there is a lot of choice and it is not cheap. The hotel is located just a 5 minute walk from the Vrijthof. It was a perfect stay, we just wanted to mention one little thing: that it is a kind of strange that you book a room for a much lower price on a booking-site than at the hotel itself. We rung the hotel to make a booking but it was not possible to get the same rate as the booking-site, so we reserved on the booking-site.
We want to thank Mr Oostwegel & his staff for a wonderful stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kruisherenhotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kruisherenhotel Maastricht

Address: Kruisherengang 19-23, 6211 Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#2 Business Hotel in Maastricht
#2 Romantic Hotel in Maastricht
#4 Family Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kruisherenhotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entrance of the Kruisherenhotel, an ancient monestary and church converted in a hotel and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kruisherenhotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht Hotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Hotel Maastricht
Maastricht Kruisherenhotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kruisherenhotel Maastricht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.