We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kruisherenhotel Maastricht

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kruisherenhotel Maastricht to your Saves list
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kruisherengang 19-23, 6211 Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
London, UK
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Wonderful wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed here as part of the VIP package for Andre Rieu's 2013 Vrijthof Concert and the whole experience was impossible to fault. Ultra modern hotel with amazing if slightly compact rooms. The food was of exceptional quality both for dinner and the breakfast buffet and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I cannot say that the hotel is cheap but when a splurge is wanted I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Great location less than 5 minutes from the town centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    94
    25
    9
    2
See reviews for
34
151
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We spent the second night of a weekend in Maastricht here and the comparison between the previous night is monumental.
This transformation of the old abbey into an Hotel is stunningly beautiful although personally I did find a little conflict between the design of the light fittings and the cathedrals architecture.
As a Hotel the rooms are just perfect, Dinner was excellent, the service was first class and I would certainly recommend this to anybody wanting some luxury within walking distance of the Vrijyhof Square.
I wished we has been there for the two nights but will find a way to ensure this will happen next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Simply a stunning hotel.
Everything is impecable.
Do not miss this beautiful hotel in an amazing city.
Great food everywhere.
One big turn--off is a special 5 euros p/day/person tax. We were 5 people, so it costs us 75 euros.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed two nights at this unique design hotel and really enjoyed the experience. The room rate was Euro 245. The picturesque old town centre is a short walk and has a selection of very good restaurants, cafes and bars.

Liked

+ Very well conceived adaptive re-use of an historic building
+ Excellent design and quality art collection
+ Friendly and very helpful reception staff
+ Unique rooms due to the historic nature of the building
+ Spacious room overlooking the internal courtyard
+ Good natural light, opening windows and quiet room
+ Large bathroom with window
+ Separate WC, walk-in wardrobe arrangement
+ Complimentary drink at the bar
+ Small bag of quality toiletries left in the room a nice surprise
+ Short walk to old town centre


Disliked

- Complimentary Wifi only available in the common areas
- No down pillows/duvet available - synthetic fill only
- Breakfast expensive and cost added to your bill even if you didn't partake (check your bill)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner courtyard are quiet. Some rooms on the top floor are in roof attic with smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

A cathedral turned into an amazing hotel. What a smart concept to save a piece of history.
Lovely suite, large, light, quiet, and a fabulous shower, made for a very unique stay in this quiet city.
Highly recommend it.

Sweet dreams.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay here for two nights. Well located for a 2 minute stroll into the main town square and only 20 minutes walk from all the great restaurants and museums. We stayed for our 1-year wedding anniversary.

Very well designed hotel with fabulous features in a unique setting. The breakfast prices are outrageous but the huge number of good local restaurants and patisseries mean that we didn't eat at the hotel.

The friendly staff spoke great English and were happy to help with any questions we had about local sights and restaurant recommendations.

We stayed in two rooms - we asked to move after the first night due to the really exceptionally loud traffic noise in the first room we were in. The staff were only too happy to accomodate our request. The second of our two rooms - 111 was stunning.

Room Tip: Avoid room 401 - very noisy Room 111 - very highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was a really unique hotel, possibly a little overdone with some of the refurbishments. Definitely worth a stay if you are prepared to pay more than what is needed in Maastricht. Staff were friendly and helpful. Layout of the room was a little awkward but to be expected given this was a 15th century Abby. Was a little disappointed with 2 single beds and the offer for a paid upgrade just for a double bed. Very central to the wonderful town of Maastricht and only a walk to everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kruisherenhotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kruisherenhotel Maastricht

Address: Kruisherengang 19-23, 6211 Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maastricht
#1 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#2 Family Hotel in Maastricht
#3 Business Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kruisherenhotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entrance of the Kruisherenhotel, an ancient monestary and church converted in a hotel and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Escapio, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kruisherenhotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht Hotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Hotel Maastricht
Maastricht Kruisherenhotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kruisherenhotel Maastricht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.