We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly magnificant hotel in de center of Maastricht” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kruisherenhotel Maastricht

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Kruisherenhotel Maastricht to your Saves list
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kruisherengang 19-23, 6211 Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence 2014
the Netherlands
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
377 helpful votes 377 helpful votes
“Truly magnificant hotel in de center of Maastricht”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I can be brief here; best hotel in Maastricht. They renovated a church and convent into a wonderfull hotel. Good size rooms, trendy design but still comfortable. Excellent Auping-beds and very good breakfast.
Good value for money and the best location in very attractive, most southern city in the Netherlands.
And when you go; book their Chateau Neercanne for lunch or dinner (amazing venue and amazing food!); you'll need a taxi you will most certainly NOT be disappointed. They have packages, combining the two experiences.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGerretsen, General Manager at Kruisherenhotel Maastricht, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear HPBKraaijeveld,

Many thanks for reviewing your stay in the Kruisherenhotel. We get a lot of positive reactions on the Design and Dining package with our colleagues from Chateau Neercanne.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Berry Gerretsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    113
    28
    10
    5
See reviews for
36
190
18
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
European in England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We returned to Maastricht for a long weekend to catch the pre-Christmas buzz and having coveted the hotel whilst living in the city I was delighted to be surprised by a few nights there by my boyfriend. We had used the bar and restaurant before so expected a high standard for the bedrooms and we were certainly not disappointed. The renovation across the building is superb and the attention to detail in the rooms was only matched by the attention to detail from the staff. Yes, it is quite expensive, but very much worth it. On parking though, I echo previous comments and recommend parking in the underground at the Vrijthof. Great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGerretsen, General Manager at Kruisherenhotel Maastricht, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Gracehound,

Thank you very much for the kind review about our Hotel.

It always good to hear that people return to the Kruisherenhotel after postive experiences in the past. It is nice to hear that you not only liked our building but also appreciated our the attention you had from our Teammembers.

We are looking forward to welcome you in the future!

Kind regards,

Berry Gerretsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a triple room, very quiet with perfect air conditioning, spotless and comfortable. I wasn't quite happy with the open bathroom solution but that was expected and accepted. I didn't experience any problems with the glass door mentioned in other reviews, in fact I hardly noticed it.
It was easy to drive to the hotel and stop at the entrace. they offered valet parking with no access to the car, which I rejected. Instead I used a good underground public parking a few blocks away. They have quite large and empty parking lot right in front of the hotel, and I didn't understand why it couldn't be used for a night parking.
We had a dinner in the hotel restaurantant and enjoyed every bit of it. The surrounding was fantastic as well as the food.
I'm generally not in favour of redesigned historical buildings, but this one was not ruined, and the modern elements were pretty much in harmony with the old walls. The only negative part of it was the restaurant platform when you look at it from the ground level.
The hotel is extremely expensive as well as the dinner, but in such places one pays for experience, not for a sleep..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGerretsen, General Manager at Kruisherenhotel Maastricht, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Smk000,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Kruisherenhotel.

Nice to hear that you enjoyed the conversion of the Church and monastery. We have worked with famous architects and designers in order to preserve the building in a nice way with a very modern twist. Everything that has been changed in the building can be reversed into it's original shape. This was one of the conditions when the building permission was given.

The carpark in front of the Hotel is only for a short stop to unload your car. We do offer a valet service where we park the car two blocks away from the Hotel, and if you would like to use it during your stay we are more then happy to get the car for you.

Hope to welcome you again in the future,

Kind regards,

Berry Gerretsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I was in Maastricht a while back, and didn't book this hotel, because the prices at that time were quite high, but this time it was a good period, so I was glad to be able to enjoy this amazing atmosphere of the Hotel.

First the arrival was very professional, a valet came quick after we parked in front and asked if we wanted to use the Parking Valet service. He gave us instructions about the reasonable steep price before and that was nice, so that wouldn't become a problem afterwards. The reception was very friendly, professional, quick. The interiors inside the church are just breathtaking and having breakfast on the mezzanine floor with the stained glass windows surrounding you is just "wow".

The rooms were a bit disappointing, small, and an awkward glass separation door just after the room door that I didn't really understand why that door was there, except that you have difficulty getting inside your room because you only have 26cm between the edge of the door and the corner of the bed. I would just take them away. maybe our room was special in that way. I wasn't able to check out other rooms. The bathroom was good, all amenities there.
We also tried the restaurant, and that was top quality, Service was very good, food was excellent without being too trendy.
The art displayed a bit everywhere is actually very well curated and you can spend at least an hour discovering them a bit everywhere in the corridors, on the main floor, in your room, ...

For those lovers of something special in a hotel, this one is it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGerretsen, General Manager at Kruisherenhotel Maastricht, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Liteworker,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay in the Kruisherenhotel and dinner in the Kruisherenrestaurant.

Converting a building from 1438 into a Hotel is a Challenge so the lay-out in every room is different. The glass doors are there to make sure you do not get any noise from the corridors during the night. We have 3 different room types which have a different size, starting with a deluxe room, the second room type are prestige rooms and 2 suites.

We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Berry Gerretsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Amazing combination of a historic gothic church and a modern design hotel with all nowadays luxury. Rooms are very comfortable and cozy and have each of them a certain personal "cachet".
Large choice @ breakfast buffet. Lunch & dinner-menus lack just that little finesse to get the restaurant at the same (high) level as the hotel.
Staff is really friendly and helpfull. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, CT
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was a fascinating transformation from church to hotel. You sense that the public spaces are airy and modern at the same time you have never left the old church. The rooms have a sleek personality in terms of arrangement and decor. The service is helpful, the location convenient, and if they were to spread the free wifi in the lobby to the privacy of the rooms, it would be ideal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGerretsen, General Manager at Kruisherenhotel Maastricht, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Glenelg 35,

Many thanks for reviewing your stay. We appriciate the fact that you spend time, writing about our Hotel, and the fact that you like the lay-out of the Building.

Free-wifi in the lobby is a first start, we are working on implenting wifi in the rest of the building but this will take some time.

hope to welcome you again,

Kind regards,

Berry Gerretsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We visited Maastricht to celebrate our wedding annivesary and for a small shopping spree and srayed in this wonderful converted old church into a hotel. The architecture and interior design is unique but what made it even more special was the excellent service and friendliness of the staff. We had our baby son with us and they had discretely left a small toy for him in the room, while when they found we were also celebrating our wedding anniversary they offered us a local champaigne with their wishes! All in all a definite destination when you visit Maastricht conveniently located near the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGerretsen, General Manager at Kruisherenhotel Maastricht, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear IridaX,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially the service from our Team Members.

We are happy to welcome you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Berry Gerretsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kruisherenhotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kruisherenhotel Maastricht

Address: Kruisherengang 19-23, 6211 Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maastricht
#1 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#3 Business Hotel in Maastricht
#3 Family Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kruisherenhotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entrance of the Kruisherenhotel, an ancient monestary and church converted in a hotel and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Kruisherenhotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht Hotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Hotel Maastricht
Maastricht Kruisherenhotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kruisherenhotel Maastricht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.