We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Stein-Urmond

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Van der Valk Hotel Stein-Urmond to your Saves list
Van der Valk Hotel Stein-Urmond
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mauritslaan 65 | Urmond, 6129 Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Venlo, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I stayed one night at the Van der Valk and found the hotel to be very much in line with other Van der Valk hotels. The hotel is very close to the highway and easy to find. The parking lot is quite large - I had no problems finding a parking spot. The staff were very efficient and friendly. My room was good sized, comfortable and clean. I wish I had gotten the opportunity to try the breakfast, but I had to leave at 7:00 on a Friday morning, so I just didn't have time since the breakfast service starts at 07:00. I would stay at this hotel again if I needed something close to (but not in) Maastricht.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    76
    24
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
84
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I stayed for one night. I like the hotel, it is better than many hotels I stayed at in Maastricht area. Breakfast and dinner were very nice. The room seems recently refurbished, and bathroom is modern and new. KPN wireless Internet is fast, but it keeps disconnected and you have to sign in very frequently.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed her for a two day meeting and it was an excellent experience. The rooms were large, well-appointed and comfortable. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Iverna was a super-star. She allowed me to print out a number of items for the meeting late at night, made sure everything was set for our meeting room and she responded to every request with a smile. The restaurant and bar were quite good as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed at Van der Valk for 3 nights. Staff is very nice and helpful. Parking lot is big, easy to find a spot. Location is perfect, 1mn from the highway, 20 kms away from Maastricht. You can rent bikes at the reception. Perfect for families.
Bedrooms are calm. We were on the 5th floor, and never had a problem with noise. The bathroom had been renovated, shower is huge. If you forget something, son't worry you'll find it in your room: soap, shampoo, lotion, shoe polish, sawing kit. You name it they have it!
Nice beds, clean room. TV was a bit old fashioned and not many channels you can watch (I don't speak netherland). Wifi is free everywhere in the hotel.
We had dinner once at the restaurant. Service was great even though it was past 9.30pm. You can even have a drink or eat outside if the weather permits ;-)
Breakfast is AWESOME. You gotta have it. They have EVERYTHING. Plus it's open until 11am. On Saturday we went down for breakfast at 10.30 and they still had all the choices in food. On Sunday it was crowded but we had plenty of food. Several juices, smoothies, coffee, tea, sweet food, salty food, great pancakes, eggs (omelets you can make yourself), fruits, cereals ...ect. You cannot find anything better for that price (13€).

They also have a fitness room for free if you stay @ the hotel but we didn't have time to us it.

We will definitely go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Van der Valk offers exactly the things in such a way that it is good, but not surprising or excellent. If you are looking for no thrills and a 'what you expect is what you get' experience; this is a good place to be. The food has bern upgraded the last years.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotel Stein,
Mauritslaan 65
Urmond
Netherlands
Part of the Van Der Valk Hotel Group

The Hotel Stein is very well located, easy access from the highway, just on the outskirts of Urmond.
There is plenty of parking.
Checking in was quick and efficient. The reception team were very nice.

The hotel is really big and even though there is plenty of parking, there is a definite problem with offloading luggage.
Briefly, there is a covered ramp on which you have to stop your car, jump out and offload your luggage.
The trouble is that you need someone to stand there with your luggage whilst you jump back into your car and quickly drive away to find a parking place.
The reason for this rush-rush is that the ramp is single lane and serves ALL cars going in or out the hotel parking area. To be blunt - a real dumb idea !!
Not pleasant at all to be under pressure from other cars coming onto the ramp from both directions !!!!
Once you have sorted your luggage, you take the elevator up to the reception area and from there, it's a long walk to the elevators that take you to the rooms.

The hotel is lovely. Big public areas. The luggage issue was a real pain.
Of course, if you have little luggage, you can simply park out front and climb the long stair case (I guess about 20 stairs) direct to the reception area.

The room was OK. Nothing to be excited about. There was free internet which was very convenient.

The rate was reasonable - no bargain at all - but fair value for what was charged.

Breakfast was also reasonable. The highlight was the croissants !!! How do they get the pastry so perfect ?? :-)

Also remember to book with "Last Minutes" rates on the Van Der Valk website. The Last Minutes rate we got for this hotel made our stay there good value.... even with the nuisance of the suitcases.

There is a supermarket a few minutes drive into Urmond which is very convenient.

All-in-All, we would consider going back to this hotel if we wanted to visit that area again.

Remember : A smile and happy hello to the reception team always goes a long way!
Have fun !!

Room Tip: Always chase the "Last Minutes" and don't take "no" for an answer Ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodegraven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Just good value for money, like all van der Valk places.
Location excellent along the motorway, but you do need your car to go to Maastricht.
Rooms very spacious and clean. Light in the rooms is a bit scarce though, specifically if you want to read in bed and at the desk area.
Not a small hotel, so you do need your walking shoes and time to get from A to B.
Free Wifi and parking, as it should be.
Security is up for improvement with too many entries / exits not under (direct) control.
We had a deluxe room (at € 10,-- extra) but can imagine that the standard rooms do need refurbishing.
Good selection at the breakfast buffet with eggs freshly cooked to your liking.
Are we coming back? Yes. Can we recommend? No hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Stein-Urmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Stein-Urmond

Address: Mauritslaan 65 | Urmond, 6129 Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Stein-Urmond 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The van der Valk Hotel Stein-Urmond is located on the threshold of 3 countries, a few kilometers from Maastricht and Valkenburg. Easy accessible by car and public transport. The hotel offers 166 comfortable hotel rooms, ideal for business or pleasure. Van der Valk Hotel Stein-Urmond offers its guests: Fitness-centre, conference-facilities, Wifi-access throughout the hotel, cosy bar & a-la-carte restaurant. Free parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Stein-Urmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel Stein-Urmond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.