We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Stein-Urmond

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Van der Valk Hotel Stein-Urmond to your Saves list
Van der Valk Hotel Stein-Urmond
Mauritslaan 65 | Urmond, 6129 Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Lorraine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed at Van der Valk for 3 nights. Staff is very nice and helpful. Parking lot is big, easy to find a spot. Location is perfect, 1mn from the highway, 20 kms away from Maastricht. You can rent bikes at the reception. Perfect for families.
Bedrooms are calm. We were on the 5th floor, and never had a problem with noise. The bathroom had been renovated, shower is huge. If you forget something, son't worry you'll find it in your room: soap, shampoo, lotion, shoe polish, sawing kit. You name it they have it!
Nice beds, clean room. TV was a bit old fashioned and not many channels you can watch (I don't speak netherland). Wifi is free everywhere in the hotel.
We had dinner once at the restaurant. Service was great even though it was past 9.30pm. You can even have a drink or eat outside if the weather permits ;-)
Breakfast is AWESOME. You gotta have it. They have EVERYTHING. Plus it's open until 11am. On Saturday we went down for breakfast at 10.30 and they still had all the choices in food. On Sunday it was crowded but we had plenty of food. Several juices, smoothies, coffee, tea, sweet food, salty food, great pancakes, eggs (omelets you can make yourself), fruits, cereals ...ect. You cannot find anything better for that price (13€).

They also have a fitness room for free if you stay @ the hotel but we didn't have time to us it.

We will definitely go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    61
    21
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
59
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Van der Valk offers exactly the things in such a way that it is good, but not surprising or excellent. If you are looking for no thrills and a 'what you expect is what you get' experience; this is a good place to be. The food has bern upgraded the last years.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotel Stein,
Mauritslaan 65
Urmond
Netherlands
Part of the Van Der Valk Hotel Group

The Hotel Stein is very well located, easy access from the highway, just on the outskirts of Urmond.
There is plenty of parking.
Checking in was quick and efficient. The reception team were very nice.

The hotel is really big and even though there is plenty of parking, there is a definite problem with offloading luggage.
Briefly, there is a covered ramp on which you have to stop your car, jump out and offload your luggage.
The trouble is that you need someone to stand there with your luggage whilst you jump back into your car and quickly drive away to find a parking place.
The reason for this rush-rush is that the ramp is single lane and serves ALL cars going in or out the hotel parking area. To be blunt - a real dumb idea !!
Not pleasant at all to be under pressure from other cars coming onto the ramp from both directions !!!!
Once you have sorted your luggage, you take the elevator up to the reception area and from there, it's a long walk to the elevators that take you to the rooms.

The hotel is lovely. Big public areas. The luggage issue was a real pain.
Of course, if you have little luggage, you can simply park out front and climb the long stair case (I guess about 20 stairs) direct to the reception area.

The room was OK. Nothing to be excited about. There was free internet which was very convenient.

The rate was reasonable - no bargain at all - but fair value for what was charged.

Breakfast was also reasonable. The highlight was the croissants !!! How do they get the pastry so perfect ?? :-)

Also remember to book with "Last Minutes" rates on the Van Der Valk website. The Last Minutes rate we got for this hotel made our stay there good value.... even with the nuisance of the suitcases.

There is a supermarket a few minutes drive into Urmond which is very convenient.

All-in-All, we would consider going back to this hotel if we wanted to visit that area again.

Remember : A smile and happy hello to the reception team always goes a long way!
Have fun !!

Room Tip: Always chase the "Last Minutes" and don't take "no" for an answer Ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodegraven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Just good value for money, like all van der Valk places.
Location excellent along the motorway, but you do need your car to go to Maastricht.
Rooms very spacious and clean. Light in the rooms is a bit scarce though, specifically if you want to read in bed and at the desk area.
Not a small hotel, so you do need your walking shoes and time to get from A to B.
Free Wifi and parking, as it should be.
Security is up for improvement with too many entries / exits not under (direct) control.
We had a deluxe room (at € 10,-- extra) but can imagine that the standard rooms do need refurbishing.
Good selection at the breakfast buffet with eggs freshly cooked to your liking.
Are we coming back? Yes. Can we recommend? No hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemunden, Germany
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

For the past 20 years I have been a frequent customer of the Van der Valk Hotel in Stein-Urmond. The hotel has changed over the years, improved their facilities, redecorated rooms, several times, and prices have kept up with the times too. Still the rooms are very nice, spaceous, with complete bathrooms, rooms well outfitted for business travelers, offering everything you need. I would always recommend this particular Van der Valk if traveling in southern Netherlands, or just across the border in the Aachen area of Germany. I have upon occassion re-arranged a leg of my trips so that I could stay at this particular hotel because it was very comfortable, accomodating, and staffed with good personnel.

Van der Valk is a well known chain in the Netherlands, and of course they have hotels outside of the Netherlands too, but they have a good reputation particularly in the Nethlands, and I would vouch for them anytime. The hotel is a good value for the money. I also recommend insureing that your car is locked and absolute nothing if visable from the outside. As another reviewer noted, and I can also vouch from a friend's experience, Car thieves do frequent this parking lot. Sad but true, and it does have video survalance too.

The breakfast offered is very good, buffet style, and offers everything you would ever expect to find for breakfast in the Netherlands, and in Germany. Evening meals are "different" than you would expect, unless you have ever eaten at a van der Valk before. The restruant is very large, they have a big, very young staff, and service is very quick, sometimes the second course being served before you have finished the first course. For the past 10 to 20 years the meals have been priced very well, a wide assortment of food is available, and the size of the restruant and their fill rate vouch for food quality and quantity. Despite white table cloths and cloth napkins, candles on the table, it is not high class dining, but more higher end "mass" dining, well fit to bus loads of hungrypeople, large parties. What I have noticed that is different than it was in previous years, is that the quantity of the veggies and potatoes brought to accompany the main dish. The main dishes appear to be about the same as before, but the veggies and potatoes that are delivered separately in small dishes are a lot smaller than they were in the past. New and very nice, particularly on Fridays is the evening buffet, and you can stand and watch your meat/fish being cooked. All in all this is still a very good place to eat.

Room Tip: park close to the front door or under outdoorlighting in the parking lot to protect your car. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Hotel was great in terms of comfort and cleanliness, BUT BEWARE! just make sure you don't take a nice car into their car park! Within 30 minutes of parking my car at the front of the hotel a gang of car thieves arrived and removed my classic car. Both the police and several members of staff said to me and I quote " Oh yes this happens a lot at this hotel, it is known for it". We were not offered an apology or even a reduction on the hotel bill, the attitude was completely indifferent once they had produced the CCTV of the whole event to the police. I can't help but wonder how the professional car thieves new the car was there so quickly or do they spend all day at this hotel just waiting for nice cars to arrive?

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Very handy for the Motorway, this hotel has great rooms some with balconys, the breakfat is good and the resturant is first class. There is also a good bar with quick and friendly service. I found this hotel to be great value for money and would use again, no complaints. Ohh its the only hotel that I have stopped in that has a pool full of Terrapins.

Room Tip: They all seem to be fine, if your a smoker there is rooms with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Stein-Urmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Stein-Urmond

Address: Mauritslaan 65 | Urmond, 6129 Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The van der Valk Hotel Stein-Urmond is located on the threshold of 3 countries, a few kilometers from Maastricht and Valkenburg. Easy accessible by car and public transport. The hotel offers 166 comfortable hotel rooms, ideal for business or pleasure. Van der Valk Hotel Stein-Urmond offers its guests: Fitness-centre, conference-facilities, Wifi-access throughout the hotel, cosy bar & a-la-carte restaurant. Free parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Stein-Urmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel Stein-Urmond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.