We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really enjoyed our stay - spacious, clean, designed, central” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hip Hotel St. Martenslane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hip Hotel St. Martenslane to your Saves list
Hip Hotel St. Martenslane
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sint Maartenslaan 6, 6221 AX Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Ludwigsburg
1 review
“We really enjoyed our stay - spacious, clean, designed, central”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

We booked the room just the same day via Internet. It is really a great designed and young, hip Hotel. It has an elevator, 2 floors. The rooms are really spacious and you have everything you need.
The room has a bar with 2 chairs, a table and 2 chairs, a bathroom with bath tub.
It is near the center of Maastricht and you can get to town by foot in appr. 10 minutes.
Shopping center is near the center and has everything you need like H&M, Zara, New Yorker, Esprit, s.Oliver, etc.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, manager at Hip Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, June 15, 2009
Dear Pappnase,

Many thanks for your review. We are always glad to hear from our guests.

It is good to hear that your stay was perfect. Hope to welcome you some other time.

kind regards,

Anke Meijs
Hip Hotel St-Martenslane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    83
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
11
83
15
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2008

I went to this hotel for two main reasons: Its great location a few steps from the central station and the room design which looked oh so cool.

The price was not low but on the same level with other Maastricht hotels I looked at that time.

Maastricht was a perfect base for me, to visit the Pinkpop festival in nearby Landgraaf. Maastricht is pretty and I also recommend visiting the sights in nearby Valkenburg.

As for the room: it was very clean, cleaned each day, quiet and new, with a great design which gave a good feeling to stay in.

A few downsides which you should consider:

1. Indeed no services as mentioned. Did not bother me though.
2. The lobby was actually in the LeRoi hotel across the street. Across means just in front. Cross the street to the other side. You are there.
3. Breakfast is at extra charge and in such a ridiculous price you will definitely skip it.
4. The room to store your bags before check in / after check out
is never locked which is a shame.

Bottom line, I had a very pleasant stay and will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Sales Department at Hip Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, November 22, 2010
Dear AR-IL,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and great to get these compliments!

Kind regards,

Team Hip Hotel St. Martenslane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2007

I booked this hotel one month prior, but on arrival was told that they did not have my reservation!! They were overbooked and were turning lots of people away that had reservations.
But I showed them my confirmation and insisted on a room which they provided as they had one left as I got there early enough.
The room was huge, clean, and quiet -
perfect or so I thought ......except for the fact that they did not mention on their website that "independent, hip hotel" means NO services whatsoever!
No check-in except at sister hotel 3 blocks away which is difficult to find (no signage or map provided at locked door of hotel);
NO security in lobby - nobody at all, just a front door key and a few vending machines;
NO clock in the room which means if you don't bring your own you won't be able to wake up for an early morning appt. or flight;
NO telephone in the room (!) which means no way to contact anyone or get that wake-up call!! I think they should mention these things on their website.
Breakfast was not included (I thought it was) and it was delivered to my room in a box which was innovative. However the delivery person came right into the front foyer of the room (seperated with another door to bedroom area) while I was still asleep - when I complained I was told that i should have double locked the door!
I was travelling alone and as a female I wanted safety and peace of mind - no phone, no security in lobby, people coming into room while i am asleep - did not provide that security for me.
I would only stay here again if the price was low enough to justify the lack of services.

  • Liked — large, clean and quiet room
  • Disliked — no phone in room.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2006

Neat, fun hotel. Excellent rooms and ultraclean. A real bargain!

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hip Hotel St. Martenslane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hip Hotel St. Martenslane

Address: Sint Maartenslaan 6, 6221 AX Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hip Hotel St. Martenslane 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hip Hotel St. Martenslane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hip Hotel Maastricht
Hip Hotel St Martenslane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hip Hotel St. Martenslane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.