We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient low-cost rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hip Hotel St. Martenslane

Save Saved
You added Hip Hotel St. Martenslane to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hip Hotel St. Martenslane
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sint Maartenslaan 6, 6221 AX Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 38 hotels in Maastricht
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Convenient low-cost rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The hotel is run by the Townhouse hotel across the road, check-in and breakfast is right there.
Rooms are spacious but are not adequate for a longer stay as they do not have a warm atmosphere. Basic amenities are present, beds are comfortable. Bathroom was clean but showed signs of usage.
Parking is possible in the hotel-garage for 22 euros per day, but parking at "Park&Ride" closeby is cheaper, 12 euros per day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamLaBergereGroup, Reservations at Hip Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Robert,


Thank you for sharing your experiences with us! Great to hear that your like our convenient rooms, they are really big :) . If you are looking for an warm atmosphere please visit Townhouse next time! This is where you checked in and maybe had breakfast. Parking is indeed possible in our secured parking garage next to the hotel. It is safe for 24/7 and if you stay for shopping a day it is a bit cheaper. The P&R parking is indeed an open parking around the corner.

We hope to see you again in Maastricht and maybe surprise you a bit more. Let us know in advance and call us? We hope we that we may welcome you again.


Kind regards,
Edith Vonken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    80
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
11
80
15
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Due to "the big storm" we were unable to go where we'd planned so ended up in Maastricht. We looked at a number of hotels, either way too expensive or not very pleasing so last one was The Town House ( a bit above our budget ) the lovely receptionist then suggested their sister hotel across the road - wow!! What a great find, big room with ultra modern 4 poster, great bathroom and even a little kitchenette, it was quiet, comfortable and really close to the train station. The only down side is it's quite a walk (1/2 hourish) into the main city centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamLaBergereGroup, Reservations at Hip Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,



Happiness for our "hip hotel" on a stormy day! What a nice review, thank you very much. We are very proud of our lovely staff, great that you had a good stay despite of stormy weather. Sorry for your half an hour walk, next time we would love to help you with a map, we are a 15 minutes walk from the Vrijthof! We have bikes as well, please do not hesitate to ask for help next time!



Kind regards,



Edith Vonken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

It was a new experience for us to sleep in a hotel without any reception or any staff member around. The hotel is serviced by the hotel across the road where the reception was very friendly.
Then you have to enter the dark entrance hall of the Hip hotel, almost scary. The room was great - very spacious and mod. We enjoyed the space and the modern design, as well as the coffee-making facilities. We even enjoyed our take-aways with a bottle of wine in the room.

Earlier reviewers mentioned the problems of dimming or switching off the lights. We had no problems to switch off the lights, but could not manage to get rid of the pilot lights. This kept me awake for hours.

We will probably stay here again because of the loveley rooms and facilities. However, we fill find alternative parking. The hotel parking around the corner is a total rip-off.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamLaBergereGroup, General Manager at Hip Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Whalerboy,


Thank you, great compliments for our service and rooms in the Hip hotel! Nice to read you enjoyed the room, they are spacious, more then 40m2… Self service is the concept though you can enjoy service in Townhouse across the street where you've done your check-in.

Sorry to hear that you could not manage the pilot light, you stay with us to rest… My sincere apologies for this, please do not hesitate to call us, we will help you 24/7!
Will you call soon to come back and stay in our lovely rooms again, we are waiting for you to surprise you, and make a reservation in our own parking. Hope to see you soon.


Regards,

Josine Vendrik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We booked this hotel only one week in advance and we got a great deal ! 58 euro's for a night! This was quite a good start though.

Two days before we arrived, the hotel made a phone call to us. They wanted to know we came by car or by train. We told them we should come by car and they offered to make a reservation for their parking lot, which we found great as it was only 14 euro's.

We arrived in the hotel and went to the check in, which is accross the street. Check in went very easy. The lady behind the desk was very friendly, gave us the key and some information about the parking. We drove our car inside the parking but it was completely full! We had to drive out backwards ! The fact they called us two days in advance to make a reservation for a parking and they hadn't one left, wasn't that professional. We parked our car outside and were 'rewarded' with a fine of about 60 euro !

The rooms: Quite big and very clean. You have the opportunity to make yourself a coffee (Senseo Machine) which is always nice.

Sleep Quality: We find it very important to have a good bed to sleep but the bed we had was much too hard and the pillows were way too small. As our room was in the front, we woke up around 6 o' clock cause of passing cars. Also the location of the light switches is just behind the bed. By accidentaly touching the switches during the night , all the lights will switch on automatically. Very annoying if your partner is in deep sleep.

Location: very close to the trainstation and about 10 minutes walking from the city centre.

Wifi: free to use (signal was very good in our room)

We didn't take breakfast in the hotel but went to 'Bread & Delicious', just around the corner.

Conclusion: For the price we paid, we didn't expect very much but we expected at least a good sleep. When we'll visit Maastricht again, we'll look for another hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamLaBergereGroup, General Manager at Hip Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Mathias,


Thanks for your review, it's great you like our big and clean room and of course we have free wifi!

My sincere apologies it was not what you hoped for. I am really sorry about this light, we will take this serious and are making steps towards a solution. Hope you did love the color lightning? About the pillows, we already have new ones, we have a reception 24/7 and regret we could not help you earlier! Don't forget you can call us anytime there is something wrong, we are across the street.

Thanks again for taking the time to give us your feedback please call us next time, your parking will be free, this was not professional! Maybe we may welcome you again in Townhouse?


Kind regards,

Josine Vendrik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to stay. Really kind staff. Good position and cool lights in room. The reception is on the other side of the street, but they are so nice and kind that you won't even notice it. They offer you a 'welcome soup', a free guide and you can spend a great time in the reception hall.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamLaBergereGroup, Reservations Department at Hip Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hello!

Wow thanks - you just made our team smile! Hope to see you again soon The soup will welcome you again!

Kind regards,
Jozet Ringens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagnols-sur-Ceze, France
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The Hip hotel is unconventional as the reception is located in the hotel across the street. Location is very quiet and was recently remodeled. The room is very large (in fact the room is split into two: entrance with hangers and a desk which allows you to make a coffee and the bedroom which is also large). Large desk place with enough electrical plugs. Other furnitures were minimalists including modern-designed arm chairs that are absolutely unconfortable (plastic). No extra pillows, no closets in the bedroom
The ony negative aspect is the amenities in the bathroom. Both soap dispensers were empty and only was filled-up after our inquiery. Shampoo was not provided, an unusual choise for this category of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamLaBergereGroup, Reservations Department at Hip Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hi,

Thank you very much for sharing! Great that you enjoyed your stay and the location of the hotel. Also thank you for being specific, this is were we can work with, perfect!! We are very happy to receive feedback from our guests to improve our product. The dispenser in the bathroom is hair and body soap. Sorry we didn’t mention that to you, though empty is terrible! My sincere apologies we did this after you're inquiry!

Hope you love Maastricht as well and we will see you again in 2014?

Kind regards,
Jozet Ringens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Booked this hotel mainly for the price and reviews and it was a great decision. The one thing i really love about the Netherlands is there fresh, unique and modern take on hotels.

Check in is across the road in it's parent hotel, and a nice welcome of freshly cooked soup was offered on arrival, once checked in you walk across the road to the Hip Hotel. Room's are very large with the bed exactly like in the picture's, centered in the middle of the room with funky furniture around the room. The mood lighting was very fun to play with and adjust as well and made the room very welcoming. The bathroom was very large compared to many others i have used in hotels across Europe.

Parking is directly outside the hotel but a max limit of 4 hours or something around that is in place, just move your car to 2 car spaces down and pay for another 4 hours so you wont get a ticket.

City Centre is only around 5 minutes in a car so it is very central and the station is around the corner. McDonald's and other restaurants are about 3 minutes away by car so everything is really close.

Staff as you will notice with EVERYONE in the Netherlands are very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamLaBergereGroup, Reservations at Hip Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Sir,Madam,



What a fantastic review! Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. Great to read that you had a great stay with us and in Maastricht! May we welcome you again in the future?

Kind regards,



Edith Vonken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hip Hotel St. Martenslane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hip Hotel St. Martenslane

Address: Sint Maartenslaan 6, 6221 AX Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hip Hotel St. Martenslane 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Hip Hotel St. Martenslane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hip Hotel Maastricht
Hip Hotel St Martenslane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hip Hotel St. Martenslane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.