We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and very comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hip Hotel St. Martenslane

Save Saved
You added Hip Hotel St. Martenslane to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hip Hotel St. Martenslane
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sint Maartenslaan 6, Maastricht 6221 AX, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 37 hotels in Maastricht
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very friendly and very comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel was almost perfectly located for the station in Maastricht, is a short walk from the main sites and the staff were FANTASTIC! Breakfast was included in my room rate and it was very good quality - great range. The room was very comfortable and contained all of the features you might expect from a "design hotel". This sometimes impacted negatively on usability (e.g. the positioning of the shower head seemed to be more for aesthetics than convenience and the light switch panel got in the way if you wanted to sit up in bed and read). But other than small niggles, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Owner at Hip Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Rachel591,

Thank you for this nice review.
Good to hear that you had such a nice stay with us.

We hope that may welcome you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Rino Soeters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    89
    23
    12
    4
See reviews for
10
78
14
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I must say that the receptionist was very kind and helpful, even offering a cup of complimentary soup on arrival! The hotel is a little pricey, however this is understandable with the standard of the rooms! They are beautiful! I have to say that you would have thought breakfast would be included, however I refused to pay €15 for breakfast! Overall a lovely hotel! Ohhh and a really comfy bed!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Owner at Hip Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Matt414,

Thank you for your amazing review!
very good to hear that you had a good stay with us.

We hope that we may welcome you again in Maastricht!

Kind regards,

Rino Soeters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel right near the town and the station. Really friendly and helpful staff. Room was comfortable but the LED lights on the bed shine in your face in the night and there's nothing you can do about it! Breakfast was very expensive so we didn't have it. There are plenty of places nearby that are much cheaper. Would have liked some English breakfast tea rather than fruit teas but at least there was tea & coffee in the room which you don't get often in Europe. Otherwise very clean and would stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Owner at Hip Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Montyspaw,


Thank you very much for you review!
Good to hear that you had a nice stay in our hotel. Thank you for give your advicepoints to us, we will take these in consideration.

We hope we see you again in Maastricht next time!


Kind regards,
Rino Soeters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Clean and modern if not a little odd in decor (not to my personal taste, but hey),
WiFi connectivity worked but poorly.
Rooms were quiet and showers worked well.
Quite central to Maastricht, practically next to the station.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Owner at Hip Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear lochii,

Thank you for sharing your personal experience in our hotel with others!

Good to hear that you had a good stay with us.
We hope to see you again in Maastricht!

Kind regards,
Rino Soeters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights while attending a conference at the MECC. Location good by train station and easy walk to town, buses close by.
I enjoyed being able to use the friendly and relaxed communal area in the Townhouse at any time - for those with jet lag its nice to go across and get a hot drink at any time. Front desk staff very pleasant.
I think it would be helpful to have some instructions for the lights on the bed head - a couple of times in the night my pillow hit the buttons, the lights sprang on and I couldn't get them off..,a bit disconcerting when you are jet lagged! The room was big and clean but little things like replacing coffee cups and tea bags could be addressed. Overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Hip Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear trishcanberra,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Very good to hear that you had a pleasant stay and thank you also for your points of advice.

Hopefully we may welcome you another time in Maastricht.

Kind regards,

Rino Soeters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We slept only 1 night in this hotel but for sure the next time that we will be in maastricht we'll stay longer!
Very clean and very modern room!
The hotel is really close to the city centre, the staff is friendly!
Raccomanded!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Hip Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear lin8045,

How nice that you have taken the time to share your personal experience in our hotel with others. Great to read that everything was okay during your stay in Maastricht!
Hope to see you again!

Kind regards,
Rino Soeters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Wonderfull place, wonderfull room, near the train station, city center is just about a 15 min walk (if you walk slowly). People at the recepción desk is amazing. If you are staying in Maastchrit, do not trink anymore, sleep here! :)
My room was enormous, with a strange and modern arrangement around the bed which You will love if you like modern stuff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Hip Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Vircano,

Wow, thank you for this amazing review.

Good to read that you had such a good stay with us.

We hope that we may welcome you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Rino Soeters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hip Hotel St. Martenslane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hip Hotel St. Martenslane

Address: Sint Maartenslaan 6, Maastricht 6221 AX, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hip Hotel St. Martenslane 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, HostelWorld, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hip Hotel St. Martenslane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hip Hotel Maastricht
Hip Hotel St Martenslane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hip Hotel St. Martenslane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.