We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay, modern hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hip Hotel St. Martenslane

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Hip Hotel St. Martenslane
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sint Maartenslaan 6, Maastricht 6221 AX, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 37 hotels in Maastricht
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay, modern hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

My partner and I stayed over at the Hip Hotel for just the one night. We found it quite easily as it’s close to the station and easy for taxis too. The hotel is actually part of the Townhouse Hotel opposite, that also gets great reviews, but the hip is more of a self service type hotel. You check in at the Townhouse and that’s where you have breakfast etc but you stay over the road where there isn’t any receptionist or anything.
There’s a lift, which is always welcome with luggage etc and we were really surprised when we opened our door. The rooms are very modern. You walk in through an entrance hall with complimentary hot drinks and a great bathroom and then in to the bedroom. It’s a really big room with a kind of cub in the center that forms the bed in the center with the TV etc and seating and a table around the outside. Great if you’ve got to work or use a laptop. Good if you like to lye on the bed and watch TV. I haven’t seen anything like it. You can choose different kinds of lighting including different colours.
Both the Hip and the Townhouse have vending machines so you can get drinks etc at any time, and the townhouse has lots of comfortable seating for the evenings if you want company rather than your room. Breakfast is impressive to say the least and is the widest variety we’ve seen when we were traveling across Europe on this trip. It’s not cheap though- could have cost the same as dinner if full price. We got ours included in our deal which made a stay at the Hip much more of a better deal than staying at the Townhouse, so make sure you look at the price of both when booking. Also, breakfast was stupidly busy around eight o’clock. Seems to be lots of business people staying or coach loads or something and it made it difficult to cope, by the looks of things. Leave it until later if you can.
The Hip Hotel certainly is that: it’s modern and trendy. For the size of the room I’m sure much more could have been made of it and it was a little form over function really. The bathroom had very little ventilation and was like an oven. It made it rather uncomfortable for two people to use. We were given less than half a loo roll between us and I had to go and ask for more and the towels were paper thin and not big enough unless you’re a supermodel with no hair. Parking was difficult and could be very expensive if you don’t know what you’re doing. We were lucky.
Overall, great for a one night stay. Roomy, novel and different.

Room Tip: Check The townhouse across the road too- part of the same hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Sales and Marketing at Hip Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Dear Kazzrip,

Thank you very much for your compliments and the elaborate feedback! Your review gives us

the opportunity to improve our concept. Thnx!

Kind regards,

Team HipHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    85
    23
    11
    4
See reviews for
10
75
14
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

This hotel had amazing decor with themed rooms and everything was modern and designer style, very chic. We no issues, staff were friendly, had a really good atmosphere too. Reeeeeaaallllyyyyyyy comfy beds!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, sales&marketing at Hip Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Dear Drew26,

Thank you for the lovely compliments! We are happy to hear you had a good night sleep.

Kind regards,
Team Hip Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennekom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

It was surprising to see the comfort of this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, sales & marketing at Hip Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Dear Bertvandenburg,

Thank you for the compliments!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

We stayed here for one night, and really enjoyed our stay here. It already started when checking in: you need to check in at the hotel across the street, part of the same hotel group, and we got a very warm welcome and a cup of soup from a friendly hostess. A nice small extra touch. It was no problem I was a bit early. The room was, as advertized, very spacious, and had lights that could be either red, white or a combination, and you could adjust the brightness of all lights. That gave a nice romantic atmosphere to the room. The room was cold when I entered it, I already knew more people complain about that, but I switched on the radiator in the late afternoon and I have been warm for the rest of the night.
The corridor (between the room and the bathroom) had a small stand with utilities to make coffee/tea. What it missed was spoons. Breakfast is optional, and across the street in the other hotel, but we just made our own breakfast in the room. The room itself had both seats at a table and a bar, all very modern but comfy, just like the bed itself.
The bathroom was just a regular bathroom, but very clean.
The location is very convenient: it's within 5 minutes from Maastricht Centraal Station, and a short 10-15 minute walk to the old city center, over one of the old bridges. Also a cinema theatre and lots of bars and restaurants are within a 5-minute walk. The street is pretty quiet, although some buses go through it. Downstairs there are vending machines where they sell both food and utilities such as sunscreen lotion.
Overall I had a great stay here, but there were a few things that could use some improvement, like putting spoons in the room, but also the shower was spraying water all over the bathroom, the window/door between the bathtub was too small and let water go through at the bottom. There was no bathtowel, while because of the water the floor got very slippery after taking a shower. We just used a regular towel for that. But price-quality wise it was an excellent hotel, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Sales and Marketing Departmen at Hip Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Thank you very much for your detailed review with all compliments and your feedback! We will improve these details so that your stay will be even more enjoyable next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

The Hip Hotel St. Martenslane is great for young people to stay in, as it is trendy and close to all important places like the station and city center. The rooms are comfortable and hip, you find everything you need for a superb stay.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Sales Departmen of Hip Hotel St. Martenslane at Hip Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, February 22, 2011
Thank you for your kind compliments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soest, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

This is a little hotel close to both the main train station and centre of town.
This is a low budget hotel, suited for everyone that don't intend spending their whole budget on a place to sleep. Quiet neighbourhood. I personally found the bed a bit uncomfortable, but my partner had no problems with it (too soft for my liking).
The optional breakfast buffet is ok. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, at Hip Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Dear Crowded_Minds,
Thank you for the kind compliments. We would be delighted to see you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011 via mobile

Very nice hotel, awesome room with modern furniture and great coloured lighting. Comfy bed, nice staff. Breakfast (with champagne) was good. Overall a very nice hotel for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hip Hotel St. Martenslane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hip Hotel St. Martenslane

Also Known As:
Hip Hotel Maastricht
Hip Hotel St Martenslane
Address: Sint Maartenslaan 6, Maastricht 6221 AX, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hip Hotel St. Martenslane 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, HostelWorld, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hip Hotel St. Martenslane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hip Hotel St. Martenslane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hip Hotel St. Martenslane to your Saves list