We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice small hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel les Charmes

Hotel les Charmes
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel les Charmes to your Saves list
Hotel les Charmes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lenculenstraat 18, 6211 KR Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A nice small hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

This is a nice small hotel with very good service. The rooms are nice but a little basic.

its quaint and has a charm about it! Nice for a short stay and centrally located.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    27
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
15
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2009

We stayed at the hotel overnight with my parents and our two children. The hotel is located in a very charming, cobblestone street near the Vrijthof. The location is wonderful as the main sights are within easy walking distance. The hotel itself is quite lovely - from the entrance, breakfast room and sitting room. The staff were wonderful, very welcoming and helpful. The rooms are less charming and nothing special, yet offer the basics. It is a shame that the same charm from the ground floor isn't present in the rooms. However, what the rooms lack in charm and character is more or less offset by the public areas of the hotel. If you are traveling with small children, be prepared to carry them up the stairs. We were there with a 2.5 year old and an infant and the stairs are narrow and steep, but quite okay. We were able to leave our buggy at the base of the stairs in a secure area, so we didn't find it a problem or inconvenience at all. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and had a comfortable night and a nice breakfast the next morning. If we were to go again, I think that we would likely look for another hotel yet wouldn't be too disappointed if we ended up here again.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

Stayed in hotel Les Charmes. Location and first floor look great. Service is ok. We stayed in room 8, the suite. Very dissapointing! The carpet and curtains had lots of stains! Not a "charming room". We expected a victorian decorated room. This was not the case. Cold and 'averidge' room. Too expensive.
We'll stay somewhere else next time.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

I stayed at the Hotel Les Charmes for 2 nights last week with my husband and 2 teenage daughters. We had the two rooms on the top floor (4th), which felt very private. If you insist upon upscale, polished, and the latest in convenience/style . . . Les Charmes is not for you. If you prefer local charm/quaintness and can tolerate a little tiredness and idiosyncrasies in furnishings/bathrooms -- and no elevator -- then you will be very happy here. Les Charmes felt more like a private home than a hotel.

We were visiting our son, who is an exchange student at the Univ of Maastricht, and the location was perfect for that. The neighborhood is wonderful and in the heart of the historic district.

We had breakfast one morning in the lovely dining room and were so comfortable that we lingered there for at least an hour, chatting over coffee.

The staff was helpful -- with arranging transportation to the Brussels Airport and with recommending restaurants and making dinner reservations.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2007

This is an aptly named hotel; charming in all the most wonderful ways. The rooms are nicely appointed, decorated with period photography, and unobtrusively themed. I stayed for two nights in the Lila de Kammer (Lilac Room), which had blue paint, lovely velvet curtains, vintage Victorian chandeliers and a magnificent view of surrounding architecture. The Les Charmes is in the Old Part of Maastricht, so lots of touristy stuff is within easy reach. Surrounded by a tantalizing blend of restaurants! "Ginger" is the name of the Japanese Restaurant just down the street … they have world class sashimi … and the Restaurant La Brouche, around the corner, has a charming owner who will make sure you feel special … and especially full! Try the Parisian steak … I did, and it was mouthwatering, especially followed by a the house red. The desk staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful, so long as you aren’t in a hurry … but if you take your time and smile, you’ll be richly rewarded.

Breakfast at the hotel is nothing remarkable, the typical cold ham, boiled egg and coffee, and it’s pricey, too, at 13 euros. But who stays at a hotel in Europe to eat breakfast? Besides, the dining room is airy and pleasant, a great place to fritter away the morning guzzling strong coffee and gabbing with your loved ones. For a cheaper breakfast alternative, you might try one of the excellent bakeries along the Tongersestraat. I would gladly stay at the Hotel Des Charmes again. In fact, it’s fair to say I was enchanted by the experience.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

We were on our way back from a hiking holiday in the Ardennen (Belgium) but we chose to stop for a day in Maastricht. This hotel is related to the city's university and therefore has a free parking at the university site (a tip). We booked at the very last minute and got the Olive Room, a green tinted room with a beautiful bathroom with surprisingly an old claw foot soaker tub. I've stayed there before at one of the attic rooms that was spacious. It reminds me of staying in Oxford dorm (in a good way). Good breakfast served, staying there is like staying in one of those beautiful old mansions in style. Who needs new hotel's ambience?

  • Liked — location in the city, ambience, decoration of our bathroom
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2006

This is a very charming property, the breakfast is not included and a bit pricey. But for it was easier to eat there as any resturant
was a 10 minute walk.........and I have to drink my coffee quickly in the morning! The staff was OK. the stairs are tricky, and we were on the 3rd floor.
Maastricht is a pretty city, especially in the historic section, but it is tricky finding your way around. Many wonderful resturants around. The boat trip down to the caves is well worth the small price and time. I'm surprised more Americans haven't found this city

  • Liked — location and appearance
  • Disliked — price of breakfast, the stairs
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel les Charmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel les Charmes

Address: Lenculenstraat 18, 6211 KR Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel les Charmes 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel les Charmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Charmes Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel les Charmes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.