We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel les Charmes

Hotel les Charmes
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel les Charmes to your Saves list
Hotel les Charmes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lenculenstraat 18, 6211 KR Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
amstedam
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“charming stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Perfect location, this old building has been refurbished and decorated with taste, mixing vintage and modern design.
the rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable.The hotel is located in the center so very convenient!
The only minus was the breakfast which was ok although a little expensive about 17 euros pp for what is was (no fresh bread or viennoiseries nor warm dishes)

Room Tip: there is a parking!!! it would cost you 15 euros per day
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    28
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
17
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My daughter and I stayed at Hotel Les Charmes in Maastricht last week and had a wonderful stay. The hotel is conveniently located in a quiet, typical cobble-stone street closed to the old town. The hotel is unique, very comfortable, beautifully decorated. The rooms are cozy and very peaceful and extremely quiet. The breakfast was as much a pleasure to the eyes as it was tasty. The service is impeccable and yet the atmosphere is laid back and friendly! There were small details that are worth noticing: bottles of water readily available at the entrance, an apple with the hotel logo at the reception when you arrive or when you leave. Jules, the young owner, is very friendly, enthusiastic about his hotel, and knows exactly how to take care of the guests and makes them feel special. His English was perfect and he spoke French as well. Travelling with teens that are looking at career plans, he was a great source of inspiration! I recommend this hotel without any hesitation and will visit again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My fiancé and I have just been to Maastricht Carnival and spent two nights in this delightful hotel.
The high ceilings, tall windows, decor and furnishings are just amazing and full of character......I didn't want to leave the building!
Staff were very helpful regarding where to eat, directions and offer of booking taxis and restaurants, giving out their number for you to call 24/7.
We didn't eat breakfast in house, only because of the nature of our trip, but I'm under no illusions that this would have been fab too.
I would highly recommend Hotel Les Charmes as, as well as the above it is also central to the city and very near the Meuse River.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This was my first time here, since I usually stay with the competition beginning with K.

Arriving on a Sunday night, I was a little surprised to be confronted with a buzzer and an answerphone. Your key, it said, was waiting for you in the lobby. And so it was.

This is an old house in the centre of town. You knew that. What you may not realise, is that if your room is at the top of the house, then you must be prepared to climb up into the rafters of the roof. And when I say up, it´s up. Like rope, ice axe and crampons "up". I don´t know what people do if they arrive with large suitcases, perhaps camp out downstairs.

But once you arrive, you have a room that is more high than wide, but with a slightly clinical bathroom style and the casual friendly Dutch style in the bedroom which you may know. The lighting switches require a degree in mechanical engineering.

Breakfast is served on a tray (a very full tray), and if you like the Dutch way of eating, you´ll enjoy it. Just don´t forget your key in your room, as you´ll have to climb back to fetch it.

Room Tip: Towards the bottom of the building if you have luggage ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We had a lovely stay at this hotel during the time of Andre Rieu's concert in Maastricht this year. The owner, Jules, spoilt us with help about where to go to eat, advice about Maastricht and hosted us with aplomb and enthusiasm.The hotel was in a very central position, clean and welcoming. The breakfasts were superb and the rooms large and airy with all the necessities to make our stay very special and to be remembered for a longtime. Free coffee and wifi and lovely rooms down below to read, relax or catch up with friends.We cannot recommend this hotel enough.our experience was a sheer delight.

Room Tip: Just ask Jules
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My son and I stayed here last weekend for one night to attend the open day at the University. The hotel was clean, full of character and in an excellent location. The guy who runs the pace is very friendly and really helpful with recommendations for restaurants etc. we'll stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Overall a pleasent stay in this boutique hotel. We stayed at a deluxe room on the 1st floor, overlooking the back, which was convenient for us. The helpful staff, the very nice decorated public spaces, the delightful breakfast and the good location are the strong points of this hotel. Free coffee and wi-fi are a bonus.

Some issues do exist though, just for one to have in mind (no difficulties for us, but could create for someone else):
- There is no elevator and the stairs are not the easiest ones to climb (so one could consider avoiding the rooms on the 2nd floor), although we had no problem with our 2 year old daughter (who wanted to go up and down on her own).
- There was no-one at the reception from 8pm to 8am, although you could always ring someone if needed. There is a blackboard to leave messages during this period.
- Parking is a general issue in Maastricht. The closest public parking places are around 300m away, with the cheapest parking around 500m away at the park.
- (for our room at least) The matresses were soft, there was no closet (but some space/hangers for clothes) and the rooms were quite hot (in August).

In general we enjoyed our stay, but found the price a 10-20% above what it offers (compared to other hotel prices in the city).

Room Tip: If you like a fresh healthy breakfast, then don't miss what the hotel is offering. For the parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel les Charmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel les Charmes

Address: Lenculenstraat 18, 6211 KR Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel les Charmes 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel les Charmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Charmes Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel les Charmes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.