We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely different ....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel les Charmes

Save Saved
You added Hotel les Charmes to your Saves list
Hotel les Charmes
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel les Charmes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lenculenstraat 18, 6211 KR Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 38 hotels in Maastricht
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Definitely different ....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This was my first time here, since I usually stay with the competition beginning with K.

Arriving on a Sunday night, I was a little surprised to be confronted with a buzzer and an answerphone. Your key, it said, was waiting for you in the lobby. And so it was.

This is an old house in the centre of town. You knew that. What you may not realise, is that if your room is at the top of the house, then you must be prepared to climb up into the rafters of the roof. And when I say up, it´s up. Like rope, ice axe and crampons "up". I don´t know what people do if they arrive with large suitcases, perhaps camp out downstairs.

But once you arrive, you have a room that is more high than wide, but with a slightly clinical bathroom style and the casual friendly Dutch style in the bedroom which you may know. The lighting switches require a degree in mechanical engineering.

Breakfast is served on a tray (a very full tray), and if you like the Dutch way of eating, you´ll enjoy it. Just don´t forget your key in your room, as you´ll have to climb back to fetch it.

Room Tip: Towards the bottom of the building if you have luggage ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    25
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
12
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We had a lovely stay at this hotel during the time of Andre Rieu's concert in Maastricht this year. The owner, Jules, spoilt us with help about where to go to eat, advice about Maastricht and hosted us with aplomb and enthusiasm.The hotel was in a very central position, clean and welcoming. The breakfasts were superb and the rooms large and airy with all the necessities to make our stay very special and to be remembered for a longtime. Free coffee and wifi and lovely rooms down below to read, relax or catch up with friends.We cannot recommend this hotel enough.our experience was a sheer delight.

Room Tip: Just ask Jules
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My son and I stayed here last weekend for one night to attend the open day at the University. The hotel was clean, full of character and in an excellent location. The guy who runs the pace is very friendly and really helpful with recommendations for restaurants etc. we'll stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Overall a pleasent stay in this boutique hotel. We stayed at a deluxe room on the 1st floor, overlooking the back, which was convenient for us. The helpful staff, the very nice decorated public spaces, the delightful breakfast and the good location are the strong points of this hotel. Free coffee and wi-fi are a bonus.

Some issues do exist though, just for one to have in mind (no difficulties for us, but could create for someone else):
- There is no elevator and the stairs are not the easiest ones to climb (so one could consider avoiding the rooms on the 2nd floor), although we had no problem with our 2 year old daughter (who wanted to go up and down on her own).
- There was no-one at the reception from 8pm to 8am, although you could always ring someone if needed. There is a blackboard to leave messages during this period.
- Parking is a general issue in Maastricht. The closest public parking places are around 300m away, with the cheapest parking around 500m away at the park.
- (for our room at least) The matresses were soft, there was no closet (but some space/hangers for clothes) and the rooms were quite hot (in August).

In general we enjoyed our stay, but found the price a 10-20% above what it offers (compared to other hotel prices in the city).

Room Tip: If you like a fresh healthy breakfast, then don't miss what the hotel is offering. For the parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Located near enough to city centre but away from the noise & bustle of cafes/pubs. Beautifully restored interiors with eclectic taste, work-in-progress for several things but the essentials are all there. Disregard negative reviews made previously by others on TA here, as there is : hairdryer in bathroom, EXCELLENT quality beds & linen, nice toiletries & good breakfast. Lovely Outdoor Terrace for breakfast in the summer, amidst the greenery, shielded from the sun. Helpful & friendly service from Jules, the owner/manager, who is most accommodating. For our first trip to Maastricht, this was a wonderful experience and we reccomend this hotel for couples & families with children old enough to climb stairs (no lift in this hotel but it's not a big problem, Jules will help with your bags).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very good-looking, cool and charming hotel in a perfect location. I was on a flying visit so didn't have time to enjoy more than a few hours in my hotel room but it was enough to get a very good impression - clean, gorgeous room with tv, wifi, great bed and big bathroom (I especially liked the toiletries) and a very welcoming and accommodating hotel manager/owner. I'll definitely come back next time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liège
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great location, nice breakfast, good service and beautiful rooms! This hotel was absolutely pleasure to stay in. All the guys here are always accommodating and nothing is ever too much trouble. The facilities at the hotel are very good. My stay was very comfortable and refreshing. I would highly recommend this place to all my friends and family members.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel les Charmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel les Charmes

Address: Lenculenstraat 18, 6211 KR Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel les Charmes 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel les Charmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Charmes Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel les Charmes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.