We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uni trip Maastricht” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel les Charmes

Save Saved
You added Hotel les Charmes to your Saves list
Hotel les Charmes
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel les Charmes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lenculenstraat 18, 6211 KR Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 38 hotels in Maastricht
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Uni trip Maastricht”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My son and I stayed here last weekend for one night to attend the open day at the University. The hotel was clean, full of character and in an excellent location. The guy who runs the pace is very friendly and really helpful with recommendations for restaurants etc. we'll stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    26
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
13
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Overall a pleasent stay in this boutique hotel. We stayed at a deluxe room on the 1st floor, overlooking the back, which was convenient for us. The helpful staff, the very nice decorated public spaces, the delightful breakfast and the good location are the strong points of this hotel. Free coffee and wi-fi are a bonus.

Some issues do exist though, just for one to have in mind (no difficulties for us, but could create for someone else):
- There is no elevator and the stairs are not the easiest ones to climb (so one could consider avoiding the rooms on the 2nd floor), although we had no problem with our 2 year old daughter (who wanted to go up and down on her own).
- There was no-one at the reception from 8pm to 8am, although you could always ring someone if needed. There is a blackboard to leave messages during this period.
- Parking is a general issue in Maastricht. The closest public parking places are around 300m away, with the cheapest parking around 500m away at the park.
- (for our room at least) The matresses were soft, there was no closet (but some space/hangers for clothes) and the rooms were quite hot (in August).

In general we enjoyed our stay, but found the price a 10-20% above what it offers (compared to other hotel prices in the city).

Room Tip: If you like a fresh healthy breakfast, then don't miss what the hotel is offering. For the parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Located near enough to city centre but away from the noise & bustle of cafes/pubs. Beautifully restored interiors with eclectic taste, work-in-progress for several things but the essentials are all there. Disregard negative reviews made previously by others on TA here, as there is : hairdryer in bathroom, EXCELLENT quality beds & linen, nice toiletries & good breakfast. Lovely Outdoor Terrace for breakfast in the summer, amidst the greenery, shielded from the sun. Helpful & friendly service from Jules, the owner/manager, who is most accommodating. For our first trip to Maastricht, this was a wonderful experience and we reccomend this hotel for couples & families with children old enough to climb stairs (no lift in this hotel but it's not a big problem, Jules will help with your bags).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very good-looking, cool and charming hotel in a perfect location. I was on a flying visit so didn't have time to enjoy more than a few hours in my hotel room but it was enough to get a very good impression - clean, gorgeous room with tv, wifi, great bed and big bathroom (I especially liked the toiletries) and a very welcoming and accommodating hotel manager/owner. I'll definitely come back next time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liège
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great location, nice breakfast, good service and beautiful rooms! This hotel was absolutely pleasure to stay in. All the guys here are always accommodating and nothing is ever too much trouble. The facilities at the hotel are very good. My stay was very comfortable and refreshing. I would highly recommend this place to all my friends and family members.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The location is excellent. The room are lovely. However, there was no haïr dryer, no gloves in the bathroom, no "peignoir" and a bit of moist in the bathroom. The staff is really nice. Our room (9) was extremely peaceful!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World Citizen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

There were several disappointing aspects to my stay.

1. The rooms are in desperate need of updating and scrubbing. Furniture is old and mismatched.

2. When I mentioned to the front desk employee that I was unable to pick up a wireless signal in my room, she suggested that I could come down to the lobby when I needed to work on my computer. (???) Eventually I was moved to a different room where the signal was detectable.

3. While smoking isn't permitted inside the building, the staff frequently smoke just outside the back door (and sometimes leave the back door open while doing so). The smoke travels straight up the stairwell making the air unbreathable in the hallways. This was a frequent problem.

4. Anyone staying in rooms that face the front of the building may be bothered by street noise. The property is on a side-street, but it is frequently used by students on their way to/from their social activities. We were frequently awakened by the loud conversation of pedestrians, occasionally by drunken singing, and on one occasion by someone playing a drum. You might want to try a room facing the back of the building, but I didn't have an opportunity to try such a room and thus cannot vouch for its features.

5. Basic hospitality was at a minimum. For instance, I noticed on my last morning that there was a stack of local guidebooks available, but these were not kept in an area where guests would notice them, so unless an employee dug one out, you'd never get one. Why don't employees offer a guidebook to all guests upon arrival, or place them in rooms by default?

6. I should also reinforce a point made by another reviewer: the stairs in this property are narrow, steep, and downright treacherous. As a lean, fit adult, I had a nervous time making my way up and down to my room. There is no elevator, so anyone with mobility issues should definitely stay elsewhere.

Bottom line: The city of Maastricht itself is fantastic, but if I return, I will stay in a different hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel les Charmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel les Charmes

Address: Lenculenstraat 18, 6211 KR Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel les Charmes 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel les Charmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Charmes Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel les Charmes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.