We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Natural History Museum (Natuurhistorisch Museum)
De Bosquetplein 6-7, 6211 KJ Maastricht, The Netherlands
31-43 350 54 90
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 76 things to do in Maastricht
Attraction details
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This museum offers interactive activities for kids, interesting displays inside and outside of
the main building, plus - you can buy delicious " in house" honey - beehives are in the museum garden ! Try it : )

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    22
    11
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beek, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Deserves a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This museum is a bit hidden but well worth a visit. Top pieces are Mosasaurus Ber and the skeleton of a giant turtle. A nice museum!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Not enough info in english”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

A cool little museum with lot's of interesting artefacts and exhibits but for a city which is so international I expected the museum to be at least bilingual. All the info was in dutch and there was only one little handout that you could get from the main desk which had the english info on it. If I was visiting on my own this probably would work and i'd be able to navigate my way around the museum in english but there was 3 of us, all none dutch speakers so this one little english card wasn't very practical at all.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
160 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Informative history museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is a well laid out museum in the centre of Maastricht with plenty of exhibits. The museum also has a temporary exhibition space, auditorium, cafe, small shop and a lovely garden with beehives.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Interesting museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We used our Museumkaart to visit this museum as we'd been to the North Caves and were told the bones of a Mosasaurus found in the caves were on display there. We were given a booklet in English and were able to navigate our way around the museum well. The displays were of a wide variety of items so if bones aren't your thing there are stuffed animals, plus a few interactive things like a wheel showing you how the world has changed through the ages.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natural History Museum (Natuurhistorisch Museum) also viewed

Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 
Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 

Been to Natural History Museum (Natuurhistorisch Museum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natural History Museum (Natuurhistorisch Museum), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.