We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basilica of St. Servatius

Basilica of St. Servatius
Keizer Karelplein, Maastricht 6211 TC, The Netherlands
043/325-21-21
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #1 of 41 attractions in Maastricht
Type: Architectural Buildings, Churches/ Cathedrals, Religious Sites
Attraction Details
Bath
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Memorable Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We visited the Basilica of St. Servatius in Maastricht during a day visit to the city which me made by train from Brussels in late June this year. The journey took about 1 hour 20 mins with a change at Liege. The walk to the Basilica across the bridge over the river Maas from the station and then through the old town was in its self memorable.

We have visited many cathedrals throughout Europe but St. Servatius is exceptional with much to see and enjoy. Our visit was made even more interesting by hearing a young student practising on the fine organ. Do visit Maastricht and its fine Basilica if you possibly can.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    36
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We've seen plenty of churches on our European summer trip, but this was really nice. A must see. Make sure you go to the treasure room.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanaken, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“st. Servaas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

we had a great Belgian guide, so really interesting. Nice to see the tresors and to get more info about it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sign of a Rich past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I am not an expert on church architecture but the very many churchess in Maastricht indicate a wealthy past. It was also interesting to hear about the way the churches went after the reformation and how they were patroned by the different communities form both sides of the river. The copper jewellry collection is quite interesting.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“a lot of restoration work done, smaller than others in Europe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

There are some excellent photos to be taken both of the brilliant sienna tower and gothic/roman architectural mix outside, but a lot of restoration work had updated the interior which was a little aesthetically disappointing. The copper/enamel/jeweled collection is beautiful but not the greatest in Europe. I spent 40 minutes here but would not recommend you travel especially to see it given the choice of other European historical cathedrals.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica of St. Servatius also viewed

Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 

Been to Basilica of St. Servatius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilica of St. Servatius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Basilica of St. Servatius to your Saves list