We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“English guides please” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Pietersberg Caves

St. Pietersberg Caves
Slavante 1 (starting point tours Zonneberg) | Luikerweg 71 (starting point tours North), 6212 NH Maastricht, The Netherlands
+31 (0)43 3252121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 31 Attractions in Maastricht
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Outdoors
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a walking tour in this subterranean network of caves and tunnels.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“English guides please”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We took a combination bus,maas river and St Pietersberg tour. The scenery was excellent. On the bus we were handed an English printed copy of the bus tour. The driver explained points of interest, BUT where in dutch. In the caves, the guide could speak English and told us we could ask questions. The complete tour was in dutch. Great if you come there. I was born in Limburg and nolonger speak or understand dutch/limburgs (pity). While I asked a few questions the main theme of the tour lost. I could only understand a few words here and there.
Can I suggest that a pre-recorded device could be offered with different languages, like is done at many tourist attractions.
PS: we entered at the river end.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Gerrymun,

Thank you for your feedback! There actually are regular guided English tours in the caves (mostly in the Northern caves) on set times. We are sorry you could not understand our guide, as the tour was in Dutch. Hopefully he or she was able to answer some of your questions. If you'll ever visit us again, please do not hesitate to contact us for more information about English guided tours!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    78
    25
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Our English speaking guide was excellent and knowledgeable. Amazing place with so much history. It is not for anyone who is claustrophobic.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear virginiaw...,

Thank you for writing this positive review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed the caves, while you came to visit them all the way from Dallas!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

It was amazing to go through the mining tunnels; to hear about the history of the country; and to see the art on the walls. I thought there would be bats based on the ticket booth decor, but there weren't and I was relieved.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear regina w,

Thank you for writing this review! You were a bit early for the bats! They are normally always there in winter time :)

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafenwohr, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Ask about the art hidden during WWII”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had an excellent guide. His knowledge of history of the time was tremendous. Ask him a question he could answer it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear chakapt,

Thank you for your review and the compliments for our guide!
For the other visitors: the the art that was hidden during WWII was in Caves North.

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“St. Pietersberg Caves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very interesting experience. We had a great guide who really brought this sight to life. You are walking in a cave so the ground is a bit rough but no problem for almost any traveler who is not disabled. Remember to check ahead of time because not all tours are in English.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Richard B,

Thank you for writing this review and your tip! You are right: via our website you can check the times of tours in English or German. Hope you enjoyed the rest of Maastricht too!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Pietersberg Caves also viewed

Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 

Been to St. Pietersberg Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Pietersberg Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.