We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask about the art hidden during WWII” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Pietersberg Caves

St. Pietersberg Caves
Slavante 1 (starting point tours Zonneberg) | Luikerweg 71 (starting point tours North), Maastricht 6212 NH, The Netherlands
+31 (0)43 3252121
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #2 of 41 attractions in Maastricht
Type: Caverns/ Caves
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Take a walking tour in this subterranean network of caves and tunnels.
Grafenwohr, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Ask about the art hidden during WWII”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had an excellent guide. His knowledge of history of the time was tremendous. Ask him a question he could answer it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear chakapt,

Thank you for your review and the compliments for our guide!
For the other visitors: the the art that was hidden during WWII was in Caves North.

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    55
    14
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“St. Pietersberg Caves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very interesting experience. We had a great guide who really brought this sight to life. You are walking in a cave so the ground is a bit rough but no problem for almost any traveler who is not disabled. Remember to check ahead of time because not all tours are in English.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Richard B,

Thank you for writing this review and your tip! You are right: via our website you can check the times of tours in English or German. Hope you enjoyed the rest of Maastricht too!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Made our Maastricht visit complete”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was a really great activity to do in Maastricht. We went on the english tour-- which was funny, informative and interesting. We learned interesting history and scientific facts and even got to try to walk in the caves in the pitch black dark. I won't ever forget the random facts or amazing coal drawings from the tour. I highly recommend taking the time to go. Its a nice 30 minute walk from the city center.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Domfas,

Thank you for writing this great review and your compliments about the tour!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very interesting experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We went into the caves not really knowing what to expect - I had been in large caves before, but was not aware that the one we would walk into were manmade.
It was a very impressive sight and the guide we had was great in bringing us in touch with the history of the site.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear null815,

Thank you for writing this review! Good to hear that you found it an interesting experience. A lot of visitors do not know that these caves are manmade!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We visited Maastricht last weekend and had a tour of the caves. Our guide, Anton, was fantastic. He has a true passion for his subject and his knowledge of the caves, and of other caves in the area is impressive. One feels a connection with all those who worked in and visited the caves through the ages as you move through the dark passages and see chisel marks and graffiti. The earliest signature we saw was from 1554 - amazing! I get a bit claustrophobic so had to take a few deep breaths as I began to understand what a labyrinth it is and how easily one could get lost. But this is part of the experience! Many thanks!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear 456jessica,

Thank you for writing this review. Very brave that you visited the caves even though you are a bit claustrophobic!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Pietersberg Caves also viewed

Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 

Been to St. Pietersberg Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Pietersberg Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.