We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Pietersberg Caves

St. Pietersberg Caves
Slavante 1 (starting point tours Zonneberg) | Luikerweg 71 (starting point tours North), 6212 NH Maastricht, The Netherlands
+31 (0)43 3252121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 32 Attractions in Maastricht
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Outdoors
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a walking tour in this subterranean network of caves and tunnels.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We visited Maastricht last weekend and had a tour of the caves. Our guide, Anton, was fantastic. He has a true passion for his subject and his knowledge of the caves, and of other caves in the area is impressive. One feels a connection with all those who worked in and visited the caves through the ages as you move through the dark passages and see chisel marks and graffiti. The earliest signature we saw was from 1554 - amazing! I get a bit claustrophobic so had to take a few deep breaths as I began to understand what a labyrinth it is and how easily one could get lost. But this is part of the experience! Many thanks!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear 456jessica,

Thank you for writing this review. Very brave that you visited the caves even though you are a bit claustrophobic!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    78
    25
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing history, great tunnels, awesome informative tour guide, highly recommend.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We got to Maastricht and it was about to rain. We basically ran to the caves for the last english speaking tour and were hoping we did not make a mistake. The Grotten Nord was absolutely worth it. 90 ft below the city the rain didnt matter. You walk through awesome limestone tunnels and learn about the tunnels its mining and how they were used for safety since 1000 b.c. There at 68 degrees, and total darkness are awesome works of art drawn on the walls with coal. There is an interesting history below the city as there is above and you should not miss it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Nadnerb5,

Thank you for writing this review! Great to hear that your visit to the caves was not only a perfect place to hide from the rain, but that you really enjoyed the tour. Hopefully we will see you again in Maastricht!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerenveen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“'Cool' tour on a hot day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a very interesting tour, you walk from the tour meeting place to the cave entrance, takes about 10 min. Then you walk into the caves and wow, what and extensive labryinth of underground tunnels. They date back quite far when sandstone was quarried from the hills for the building of the Roman settlement. You can see the distince layers as the stone was taken out over the years. We learned that there was a complete set-up for evacuation of the city of Maastricht in case it was needed during WWII, complete with a church area including the stations of the cross, and a bakery! It was never needed to the extent it was set up but so interesting to learn about. It's quite a bit cooler than the air temp outside so bring a light jacket or sweater. We combined this tour with a boat tour, the boat mainly being the means to get to the cave area. Pretty and relaxing on the boat but that part could have been a bit longer in my opinion. You can get food/drinks on the boat but if you do order as soon as you get on or you won't have time to drink or eat!! I think it's about 15 min. each way on the boat. Overall, definitely worth a few hours of your day!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear karkar51,

Thank you for writing this detailed review! Hope to welcome you again at Maastricht Underground!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The caves were the highlight of our trip - they are SO interesting! Our guide was very funny. Great price. Easy walk to St. Pietersberg hill even though it's a little outside of the city's center.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Becky S,

Thank you for all the nice compliments. Good to hear that you guys thought it was so interesting!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great day out at the caves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

It took a while to find the place as we were not driving and quite a steep walk up to the entrence as they are putting in a new road but it was worth it, our guide was very friendly and told us a lot about the history of caves just wear sensible shoes a cafe is there also with great food very reasonable prices.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear AeroScotland,

Thank you for writing this review. Good to hear that you had a great day out!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Pietersberg Caves also viewed

Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 

Been to St. Pietersberg Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Pietersberg Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.