We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing history, great tunnels, awesome informative tour guide, highly recommend.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Pietersberg Caves

St. Pietersberg Caves
Luikerweg 71, 6212 NB Maastricht, The Netherlands
+31 43 325 2121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 71 things to do in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a guided tour in this subterranean network of caves and tunnels.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing history, great tunnels, awesome informative tour guide, highly recommend.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We got to Maastricht and it was about to rain. We basically ran to the caves for the last english speaking tour and were hoping we did not make a mistake. The Grotten Nord was absolutely worth it. 90 ft below the city the rain didnt matter. You walk through awesome limestone tunnels and learn about the tunnels its mining and how they were used for safety since 1000 b.c. There at 68 degrees, and total darkness are awesome works of art drawn on the walls with coal. There is an interesting history below the city as there is above and you should not miss it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nadnerb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Nadnerb5,

Thank you for writing this review! Great to hear that your visit to the caves was not only a perfect place to hide from the rain, but that you really enjoyed the tour. Hopefully we will see you again in Maastricht!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
171 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“'Cool' tour on a hot day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a very interesting tour, you walk from the tour meeting place to the cave entrance, takes about 10 min. Then you walk into the caves and wow, what and extensive labryinth of underground tunnels. They date back quite far when sandstone was quarried from the hills for the building of the Roman settlement. You can see the distince layers as the stone was taken out over the years. We learned that there was a complete set-up for evacuation of the city of Maastricht in case it was needed during WWII, complete with a church area including the stations of the cross, and a bakery! It was never needed to the extent it was set up but so interesting to learn about. It's quite a bit cooler than the air temp outside so bring a light jacket or sweater. We combined this tour with a boat tour, the boat mainly being the means to get to the cave area. Pretty and relaxing on the boat but that part could have been a bit longer in my opinion. You can get food/drinks on the boat but if you do order as soon as you get on or you won't have time to drink or eat!! I think it's about 15 min. each way on the boat. Overall, definitely worth a few hours of your day!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank karkar51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear karkar51,

Thank you for writing this detailed review! Hope to welcome you again at Maastricht Underground!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The caves were the highlight of our trip - they are SO interesting! Our guide was very funny. Great price. Easy walk to St. Pietersberg hill even though it's a little outside of the city's center.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Becky S,

Thank you for all the nice compliments. Good to hear that you guys thought it was so interesting!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great day out at the caves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

It took a while to find the place as we were not driving and quite a steep walk up to the entrence as they are putting in a new road but it was worth it, our guide was very friendly and told us a lot about the history of caves just wear sensible shoes a cafe is there also with great food very reasonable prices.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AeroScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear AeroScotland,

Thank you for writing this review. Good to hear that you had a great day out!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Interesting but for me was too long”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We took the 2 hour tour of the caves. It was nice and cool down 40metres after waiting in Sun of 30c up at the top. We were told the temperature in the caves is 12c which might be cold for some people but while you are active it is generally fine but you can feel it when you take a stop. I found that one hour would have been enough but maybe I have a low attention span!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry_St_Clair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Gerry_St_Clair ,

Thank you for writing this review! Good to hear that you could cool off a little bit in the caves during your stay in Maastricht!


Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Pietersberg Caves also viewed

Maastricht, Limburg Province
 

Been to St. Pietersberg Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing