We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Pietersberg Caves

St. Pietersberg Caves
Slavante 1 (starting point tours Zonneberg), 6212 NH Maastricht, The Netherlands
+31 43 325 2121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 70 things to do in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a guided tour in this subterranean network of caves and tunnels.
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The caves were the highlight of our trip - they are SO interesting! Our guide was very funny. Great price. Easy walk to St. Pietersberg hill even though it's a little outside of the city's center.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Becky S,

Thank you for all the nice compliments. Good to hear that you guys thought it was so interesting!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    133
    37
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great day out at the caves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

It took a while to find the place as we were not driving and quite a steep walk up to the entrence as they are putting in a new road but it was worth it, our guide was very friendly and told us a lot about the history of caves just wear sensible shoes a cafe is there also with great food very reasonable prices.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear AeroScotland,

Thank you for writing this review. Good to hear that you had a great day out!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Interesting but for me was too long”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We took the 2 hour tour of the caves. It was nice and cool down 40metres after waiting in Sun of 30c up at the top. We were told the temperature in the caves is 12c which might be cold for some people but while you are active it is generally fine but you can feel it when you take a stop. I found that one hour would have been enough but maybe I have a low attention span!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Gerry_St_Clair ,

Thank you for writing this review! Good to hear that you could cool off a little bit in the caves during your stay in Maastricht!


Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverwijk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting Tour Underground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Really interesting tour underground with lots of interesting info provided by the guide.
Nice little side trip and fun to do something different after all the churches/museums you see on city trips. Highly recommend - North Caves (and fort) were a pleasant 15 minute walk from the city centre.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Nina B,

Thank you for writing this positive review! Hope to see you again in Maastricht!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great tour with Joe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We hired bikes by the station and cycled here. We took the 2.00 English tour of the North caves/mines with Joe and really enjoyed it and found it very interesting. However I was a little disappointed that we did not see the evacuation areas that people sheltered in during the war but this seems to be part of the Zonneburg Cave tour.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear jenny0,

Thank you for writing this review! Hopefully we will see you back one day to visit the Zonneberg Caves!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Pietersberg Caves also viewed

Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 

Been to St. Pietersberg Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Pietersberg Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.