We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour with Joe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Pietersberg Caves

St. Pietersberg Caves
Slavante 1 (starting point tours Zonneberg) | Luikerweg 71 (starting point tours North), Maastricht 6212 NH, The Netherlands
+31 (0)43 3252121
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #2 of 41 attractions in Maastricht
Type: Caverns/ Caves
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Take a walking tour in this subterranean network of caves and tunnels.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great tour with Joe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We hired bikes by the station and cycled here. We took the 2.00 English tour of the North caves/mines with Joe and really enjoyed it and found it very interesting. However I was a little disappointed that we did not see the evacuation areas that people sheltered in during the war but this seems to be part of the Zonneburg Cave tour.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear jenny0,

Thank you for writing this review! Hopefully we will see you back one day to visit the Zonneberg Caves!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    55
    14
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
John Bessbrook
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Caves Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Excellent trip English speaking guide very good. We went by boat from main harbour in Maastricht Cave trip lasted about one hour.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Johnc35,

Thank you for writing this review and calling it 'an excellent trip'!


Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We got the Rederij Stiphout boat and cave tour. About 3 hours in total. 2 hours is spent on caves between waiting for the next tour and the actual tour. Our guide for the caves was both knowledgeable and friendly. Would recommend the trip to anyone visiting Maastricht. The only downside is the length of time in the caves only gives you a glimpse of the history down there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Michelle_McW,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. You are totally right...
If you want to see and get to know everything about the history from the caves, you need a lot more time! So, hopefully we will see you again!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Caves in Maastricht”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Historical !!!
Fascinating , many impessions.
Was during war '40 - '45 a place yo hide.
Paintings on the walls , names of American solfiers.
A chapel ( underground ) etc.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Mirrer,

Thank you for writing this great review. Hope to see you again in Maastricht Underground!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Just great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Excellent experience, interesting and well-guided. The sales people failed to tell us that tours are guided in various languages, obviously including Dutch. we found ourselves, along with most of the visit, on a Dutch tour, only saved by the guide's being willing to translate at least some of the tour talk.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear InningsUk,

Thank you for your feedback. Good to hear that you had a great experience!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Pietersberg Caves also viewed

Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 

Been to St. Pietersberg Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Pietersberg Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.