We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting history, well worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Pietersberg Caves

St. Pietersberg Caves
Slavante 1 (starting point tours Zonneberg) | Luikerweg 71 (starting point tours North), 6212 NH Maastricht, The Netherlands
+31 (0)43 3252121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 43 attractions in Maastricht
Type: Caverns/ Caves
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Take a walking tour in this subterranean network of caves and tunnels.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Interesting history, well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We took the 12:30 tour through the Grotten Noord. It was a weekend and there were around 15 people on the English speaking tour.

The tour guide seemed very knowledgeable and even cracked some jokes in Dutch humor :)
We walked for a bit over an hour and saw the subterranean cave system which was pretty impressive!

I do recommend to take a sweater/jacket with you. The walk takes about an hour and it can get pretty cold down there!

Nice experience though!

Afterwards one can lay in the park with some ice cream and warm up again in the sun!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear LisaB,

Thank you for writing this usefull review and your tips for other visitors!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    62
    18
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Maastricht Caves”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had some visitors so took them on trip to the caves. Started with a boat trip from Maastricht centre (pick up close to the Mosae Forum), to nearby the Caves entrance, then a good uphill walk to where we met the guide for the tour. It's a short trek so as long as you are able to walk it should be OK. The caves are a nice visit and very well preserved. The guide did a great job of giving the history. The trip including the boat ride and tour was under €15.00, so good value.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Simon H,

Thank you for writing this review and the compliments for our guide!
Hope to see you again!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“worth the time and money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Tour is a good length (ours went over time by 15 - 30 minutes, so best not to be on a tight schedule) with lots of detail offered by the guide

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Owner at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Sue A,

Fantastic that you came all the way from Canada to visit the Caves! Thank you very much for leaving this review. We are happy to hear that you think the tour is worth the time and money.

Hopefully we will see you again in Maastricht!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fascinating caves”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The caves in Maastricht are truly fascinating. Pieter, our tour guide, was an excellent storyteller.

Some of the people in our group had baby carriages, so accessibility isn't really an issue. Pieter took them along a route without stairs.

The cons are that the group size felt much too large and the length felt far too short. I could have spent much longer exploring and will hopefully be back to do so on a private tour one day.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Owner at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear EJ-TO,

Great to hear that you think the caves in Maastricht are truly fascinating! If you decide to come back and do a private tour, please do contact us directly via info@maastrichtunderground.nl. We would love to arrange this for you!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Caves - well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Well worth a visit if you have the time. We had a good guide (Joop) who took us for an hour long walk in the caves and pointed out some interesting points about the caves - these are man made, not naturally created caves, and also some art in the caves. Bring your own torch so you can see more, and also where you are heading - the lighting provided can be quite dim. The cafe above the hill has some great local food - try the local mushrooms grown in the caves! We booked our English speaking tour via the tourist information centre in Maastricht. The caves are a bit out of town - so it's about a 30m walk from town, or you can bike or drive there - the tourist office advised us that it was best to walk there - and it was a good walk from town, as we also threw in a walk around the town's fortifications along the way.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Owner at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear TravelBug0987,

Thank you for writing this review and the compliments for our guide. Good tip for other visitors to bring their own torch!

We hope to see you again at Maastricht Underground!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Pietersberg Caves also viewed

Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 

Been to St. Pietersberg Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Pietersberg Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added St. Pietersberg Caves to your Saves list