We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel in Maastricht” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haas op het Vrijthof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Haas op het Vrijthof to your Saves list
Haas op het Vrijthof
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Vrijthof 20, 6211 LD Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 40 Maastricht B&B and Inns
Oman
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel in Maastricht”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in Triple Room with Patio. It says "Triple room", but it has 2 rooms; one is with a large bed for two with TV, fridge and tea/coffee facility, and another small room with a single bed and the patio. So our 5 year old son had his own bedroom, and we could relax while he was concentrating on Lego in his room! The room was clean and stylish, and it was nice to see some fresh flowers on the table. We met 3 different staff during our stay. Although they weren't particularly knowledgeable with the tourist information, they were very very helpful to collect the information we needed from the net. The owner was also very kind and helpful, and we enjoyed having a chat with him. Looking over the churches and having breakfast on the patio was lovely, and having a Nespresso machine was a bonus!! Being by the historical location was also great, and the train/main bus station was only 10 min stroll!
A few things we were disappointed - There was no WIFI connection in our room, and we had to sit in the patio (it was cold in the morning and the evening) or to come out of the room to get the connection. Another thing was that the extra cost for children wasn't clear on Booking.com - As we booked a Triple room with 1 large and 1 single bed, we thought the basic room charge was for up to 3 people.
However, it was really a nice place to stay and we very much enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
20
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed at Haas op het Vrijthof in April whilst visiting my daughter who as studying at the University. Despite arriving early in the morning ( 9:00 am) was shown to our room. The room was large with separate kitchen and sitting area which was great for breakfast and lunch. The square provided more than enough options for dinner! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who helped us choose places to eat and see in town. OK it lacks the facilities of a chain hotel ( room service etc) but the Wi-Fi was excellent, it had parking nearby and had everything you needed to prepare simple meals. I cannot recommend this place too highly. If you are in Maarstricht stay here – you will not be disappointed unless you prefer the impersonal anonymity of a chain!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I spent four nights in this hotel, having ordered their patio room with breakfast. The price was not high, and the hotel was at the cenre of the old town. The positive experience started when one of the owners called me right before check in time and asked if I had trouble finding the way. Once there I was cordially welcomed in, given all necessary info and asked when I wanted my breakfast served. Lovely. Then the room: Big, airy, good aircondition with no noise (it was 24 to 26 degrees C outside during my stay). Simple, but tasteful decor, The best bed I have ever had in a hotel, my own patio, kitchen with washing machine, cofee machine, fridge, combined micro, grill and convector owen, great breakfast served by one of the lovely hosts at the appointed time and a convenience store right down the street. They rented me a bike, so I could go all over town in my free time. Lots of restaurants and bars just a step away. but no noise to disturb me. The curch bells were there, as this is the middle of the old town, but did not bother me. Maastricht was a pleasant surprise and I will use this hotel again, given the opportunity.

Room Tip: If possible, pick one of the rooms with a patio, and order the breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We spent 3 nights in the "Comfort Suite" at Haas op het Vrijthol and enjoyed it in every respect. We were visiting for work and holiday and the reliable WIFi service was a definite plus.

The suite was immaculately clean, very comfortable, and convenient to all the major sights in Maastricht. Light, lovely and simple furnishings in the "Danish modern" style make the suite a pleasure to come home to after a day of touring or meetings. Daily housekeeping was excellent allowing us to come back to a spotless room at the end of the day.

The bed was very firm (not hard) and comfortable for our bad backs. The bed was fitted with excellent quality linens, fluffy pillows (three per person, more available on request) and was nicely remade every day. While our bath wasn't as spacious as that of our friends staying on the fourth floor, it was well-equipped and spacious enough for two. Our large, walk-in shower had a rain shower head and a hand-held shower, along with shelving for soaps, shampoos, etc. Water pressure and temperature was excellent and we did not run out of hot water even after two long, back-to-back showers. Bath linens were nice and spotless, if not particularly luxurious and were replaced daily.

The kitchenette was very well-equipped for simple meals, with glasses, cups/saucers, bowls, plates, demitasse, flatware and serving dishes for 4 persons. The Nespresso machine was a great addition for coffee with breakfast or after dinner. A round kitchen table, again suitable for 4 people was perfectly placed for our morning meals and another table for 4 was available on the patio for coffee or wine in the open air. We were entertaining a small group of friends and needed some paring knives which were promptly provided. The dishwasher was handy and is loaded by the housekeeping staff if you leave the dirty dishes out. In fact, we discovered our first day that any request for items or information was immediately and happily addressed by Catharina, Rik, or their excellent support staff.

Our suite included a spacious sitting area with a large couch, 2 chairs, a flat-screen TV with multiple English-language channels, and a few occasional tables. We were able to comfortably entertain our 4 guests for cocktails/snacks with no problems!

While the room was perfect for our needs, the staff at Haas earn the hotel a five-star rating. We travel often and find that friendly, helpful, and welcoming staff do make a big difference even when the room is lovely. Catharina & Rik seemed to be the hotel proprietors (I didn't ask) and they are available and anxious to help every guest. Catharina provided suggestions, directions, made restaurant reservations, and generally took care of the four of us with energy and enthusiasm.

We had colleagues staying on the fourth floor suite/apartment and the views from their room were spectacular. Previous reviewers mentioned the elevator being problematic but we experienced no problems in our daily treks upstairs. The elevator is small, but comfortably fits 2 people and quite a bit of luggage.

We took breakfast in our room every morning and it was well worth the 15 Euro price. Our meals included fresh yogurt, mueslix with nuts & fruit, hard-boiled egg, meat, cheeses, nuts, orange juice, and a variety of croissants, multi-grain rolls, and pastries. Our last day we were treated to some of the most delicious lox/salmon I have ever tasted! We had so much food we actually used the leftovers as snacks with our evening cocktails. If you enjoy a nice breakfast, delivered at your preferred time in the comfort of your room (at no additional charge) you will be pleased.

As you can tell from this lengthy review, we would not hesitate to recommend Haas op het Vrijthof to anyone traveling to Maastricht.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed for a weekend @ Haas op het Vrijthof.
First of all the location is perfect, the appartment was clean and looked nice (but no design interior), with a view over het Vrijthof. The personnel was helpful and friendly. A free parking place was provided!
After reading all the raving reviews we probably had too high expectations. For a price of €340 (excl.breakfast) per night for 4 persons, you expect something high end. This was unfortunately not the case.
The pillows were too thin and no extra pillows in the appartment, had to ask the next day after a rough night.
The kitchen was equipped a bit minimally, e.g. no 4 wine glasses, salt was empty, no bowls.
Shower did not have a curtain, and ran out of hot water after 3 showers

For this price you might expect something comfortable and luxurious. We thought the price was too high for a nice looking appartment with a view.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krefeld, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We just stayed the second time in the Haas op het Vrijthof, On our first stay my husband and I rented the smallest suite and were already very glad with our choice but this time we reserved the two biggest suites as we were 4 adults and 2 small children. The suites are absolutely amazing - I could just straight move in to live there! The design furniture is picked with excellent taste and the few wunderful pieces in these spacious rooms give you a feeling of real luxery yet you feel at home.

I was especially fond of having your own fully equiped kitchen in all the suites - I used to travel a lot for work and always missed the opportunity of being able to prepare my own meals or store something light in a fridge but instead being forced to go to restaurants every night to grab some food. So I can only recommend the Haas for everyone staying in Maastricht for a business trip!

Not to mention the hosts of the Haas: As I said, we were there with my family and I must admit wer were a bit complicated - one person fell ill on the very last minutre and couldn't join; we had reserved three private parking spaces and in the end only used one; we had planned breakfast all together in one of the suites and changed our plans the very last minute etc - not really the guests that I would wish for :-) But Catharina handled all our requests and changes with a kind smile and her easy friendliness - when we got the bill they hadn't charged us the 5th person who didn't come (now-show fees would be just natural in this case) and they only charged fro the one parking space we finally used. Plus all the restaurant recommendations and reservations they did for us upfront.

Even though Maastricht is just a 1 hour drive from our home and could be easily visited in daytrips the Haas makes it essential for us to stay overnight when in Maastricht. We will for sure return!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had the most wonderful stay in this delightful guest house. The design furniture is stunning and our stay was made so comfortable by the beautiful owners. The location was perfectly situated in the centre of the square and we were recommend so many great places to visit and eat by the owners. I can't wait to come back t Maastricht and to Haas op het Vrijthof! Would recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Haas op het Vrijthof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haas op het Vrijthof

Address: Vrijthof 20, 6211 LD Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Haas op het Vrijthof 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haas op het Vrijthof is a Luxury Guesthouse in the city centre. Full of design and personal service. We offer valet parking service, a private wine shelve with every room and suite, free wifi, coffee and tea and a city guide upon arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Haas op het Vrijthof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haas op het Vrijthof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;