We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night Stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht

Save Saved
You added Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nijverheidsweg 35, 6227 AL Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Shifnal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Night Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

After a long car journey with Grandson encountered the Green Toucan symbol for Hotel Van Der Valk Maastricht and elected to stay the night. At least I think it's a toucan.

From the moment we met the registration staff, who were superb, to room 217 and to an excellent breakfast on leaving ,we were very impressed by the excellent quality of this hotel.

This is not a place of faded opulence rather of well thought out functional chic.

As pressed for time did not try pool and by nature avoided the gym. Could not comment on the location other than Ideal for car traveler well worth a diversion from route.

Many thanks to all at the Van Der Valk for a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    94
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
28
77
7
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
188 hotel reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Overall very nice hotel with nice service, Helpful staff who went out of their way to help. I would just say though that it was severely uncomfortable to sit in the lobby with the doors wide open and a bitter wind blowing through just because there were some workmen doing something which somehow entailed leaving the door open.
However everything else was pretty good, although Maastricht itself is going through such construction that from one side one just looks out into a bleak hole.
Also windows in more than one room let in a lot of cold air.
Breakfast was great though and the staff also.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naaldwijk, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have been here for the 2nd time. It is a great place to stay. We stayed in a "family room" good for 2 adults + 2 children. Close to the city of Maastricht. The hotel runs a shuttle service. Free parking. Should try the "Live Cooking" in the evening. Overall the food is great. Breakfast very good, wide selection.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We also stayed here for Andre Rieu's concert and it was a great . Lovely staff. Superb rooms- modern and clean. Restaurant and bar food great. Shuttle bus to city during the day - free, and a return coupon can be purchased for a taxi at reception. €9 to city in taxi- and a special rate in the hotel. We took a local bus into the centre for €2.40 per person- the bus stop is a 2 minute walk down the road. Transport was organised by the hotel to the concert so it made the whole trip very manageable. Having read about the hotel prior to visiting this is not as far out as might be presented- though I don't know about walking . I visited with seniors and it was just fantastic - no worries or concerns about further visits.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a room for 3 adults which was SUPERB at a very reasonable cost and the Bistro Cafe was excellent value for lunch. Staff exceedingly helpful. amazing for what is now termed an INDUSTRIAL HOTEL. for our trip out to the Andre Rieu concert Busses were also supplied at very reasonable cost

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilsyth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

From the moment we entered till we left, the staff and service at this hotel was amazing. Great customer service has to be acknowledged. Nothing was too much bother, taxis laid on, shuttle bus to and from the concert was provided and the cost was really good. We thought we would have breakfast the first morning and then go and look else where but it was so good that we had breakfast every day for the 5 days. The rooms were beautiful and the beds so comfy. I cannot think of any negatives at all and we will definately return next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here to go to the Andre Rieu concert and it was full of concertgoers from all over the world. The hotel is clean and pleasant with helpful staff. The room was nicely decorated, with comfy beds and there was tea/coffee making facilities although there was no milk for tea just coffee creamer, the bathroom was clean with enough toiletries. The Brasserie was well run and the staff were helpful. The a la carte restaurant was expensive, slow and pretentious. The food was ok but a touch pedestrian. More hype-presentation than choice. Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice of hot or cold items. There are hold ups at the tea& coffee dispensers

There was ample free parking but the free shuttlebus did not run during the day on Sunday and it was a very long hot walk that day although there was local bus service once an hour. As there is lots of new roadway being built in the town it would have been helpful if there were maps/road signs to help drivers get out of Maastricht.

The hotel staff spoke English fluently as did the restauranters and shopkeepers in town. Checking and checkouts are prone to delays. Good value would try other hotels the chain.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor if possible as the lifts are VERY SLOW. The top floor and those on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht

Address: Nijverheidsweg 35, 6227 AL Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.