We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spacious room; good value for money...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht to your Saves list
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nijverheidsweg 35, 6227 AL Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice spacious room; good value for money...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Location: easy access to freeway. Not in a particular nice area. Good location for a overnight stay. Decent restaurants. Small but functional gym. Room: nice, spacious room, large shower and bad tub. Modern decor. Free Wifi in the room. Nice TV with decent selection of channels. Staff: friendly staff; upon arrival the (sofa) bed was not ready - this was corrected very fast and with care. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    131
    38
    9
    2
See reviews for
42
106
7
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aalst, Belgium
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We booked a last minute suite at a very good price and indeed the room was spatious, very clean and equipped with a good bed. The breakfast was absolutely excellent with a large choice and we both concluded that this was one of the most tastefull breakfasts we ever had. Also the main restaurant is a nice place with enough privacy, comfortable and luxury furniture. You can also eat in the brasserie and i advise the surprise dessert (both in the main & brasserie), this is a mix of small deserts at 2€ a piece. Everyone loves this.
Finally be aware that this hotel is in my opinion just a little bit to far from the city center (45min walking), but the better "price/quality" easily allows you to drive to the city (5minutes) and park there for the whole day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed here four nights. I was promised on check-in that breakfast was included but got charged in full on check-out. Girl on the desk insisted on full payment and treated me like I was ten years old. Nothing else going for this hotel, they are building offices on one side and a motorway on the other. Taxis are hard to get so I ended up walking everywhere. It's close to the conference centre but far from everything else. It's in a residential suburb where the foot-paths are covered with dog dirt. Best avoid.

Room Tip: Check the towels, one of mine was used.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is the type of hotel I would look for in any place. Excellent price against an excellent performance.
Very nice desk personnel. Beautiful Brasserie/Grand Cate with lots of choices (food and drinks). The rooms a gorgious and nicely decorated. The bathroom has both a bathtub and separate shower. The beds are excellent. We slept well.

The location is not that nice looking (there are lots of reconstruction works going on along the motorway A2. However it doesn't harm your stay.

The hotel is of walking distance from down town Maastricht. From the hotel go underneath the bridge and follow the road along the motorway (oranjeplein) untill the large crossing. Cross the motorway and continue until a food tunnel. Take the tunnel and contnue to the Stationstraat. From there iit is a nice walk into down town Maastricht.

Room Tip: The hotel is of walking distance from down town Maastricht. From the hotel go underneath the bridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed in this nice hotle for 5 nights, and enjoyed every minute. In particular the brasserie/bruin cafe is very pleasant and we could not get enough of it!
The room we booked was the Sinatra Suite and it was really nice and the bath was just about spacious enough for two!!
We had two problems however: the A/C seemed not to be working and also, although all rooms seems to have been renewed, cerainly not our suite. Why was this not communicated?

Room Tip: book any of the new rooms (190) but not the suite; it is not good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Excellent Hotel on outskirts of Maastricht.
Clean tidy and spacious rooms.
Good Value
Plenty of car parking.
Food is adequate but not special.
Have used this hotel as conference facility - it works well in this role.

Room Tip: One side of hotel faces residential area and rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

THE hotel was oké, missing à remote for the tv and à waterboyler. Big enough Nice rooms door to balkons wouln't open. Breakfast was verf bad, raw ego's bad coffee. Diner also bad Theo serve food made early in THE day, meat was hard and dry. Serves bad because we couldn't Eat the meat, THE refunt was poor. I would chose another hotel next time

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht

Address: Nijverheidsweg 35, 6227 AL Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.