We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht

Save Saved
You added Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nijverheidsweg 35, 6227 AL Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 38 hotels in Maastricht
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel is not located in the center of Maastricht city, but in the business area. This didn't affected us since we were by car, but I can imagine that people without own transport finds this not convenient.
The rooms are clean and spacious. The bed was too soft for me. The bathroom is very clean and our room had a separate bath and douche cabine; which I really loved.
The hotel staff could be a little bit more friendly; especially the lady who manages the breakfast area. She was shouting on the staff in the middle of the restaurant, which is not very nice against the guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    92
    26
    6
    2
See reviews for
28
75
7
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights at the same time as the cycling competition was on. They had made lots of great changes to the decor with a cycling theme which was very nice. Generally a very beautiful and tidy hotel with good staff. Only issue I had was the housekeepers wanting to clean the room too early in the day. I couldn't find the do not disturb sign!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Van der Valk hotel is situated a little way from town (say 25 minutes' walk from Centraal station), though it is on two bus routes (4, 50). My double room was very spacious, and the breakfasts are very good (particularly, they have both real orange juice and real coffee, definite plusses in my book!). I was paying a little over €100 per night for my room, which I think was a conference special deal. The staff spoke excellent English, and were very helpful about maps of Maastricht, places to eat, and even suggested somewhere I could get a new battery for my watch.

There are some downsides, though:
i) you get an hour of free wifi a day, but it is crippled (no email access except webmail, limited bandwidth); this just seems mean
ii) the rooms are not air-conditioned, rather they have a "top conditioning" unit which at best lowers the temperature by about 5 degrees
iii) my double bed had two single duvets on it; this obviously didn't bother me, but if you'd been there as a couple, that wouldn't have been very romantic

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in May for one night. Originally we were supposed to stay in Liège, but there we had an issue and we ended up staying in Maastricht. We walk by this hotel that we randomly pick and we definitively received a good value for the price we paid.

Parking and a buffet breakfast included, we got a decent room with a large bathroom/washroom. They have a pool outside (pictures attached) and a gym. It smells clean and nice everywhere and this hotel has a very friendly staff.

The bed was comfortable and bedbug free. We were so at easy after one night at this hotel that we decided to stay for the day in Maastricht and wonder around the city. Driving (and taking pictures), it took us like 10 minutes to downtown.

We will for sure come back and stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Get the buffet breakfast for a little extra. It worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Great hotel for a weekend away. Very comfy beds, large rooms, we enjoyed the refrigerator in the room to keep drinks cold. Very large bathroom with separate tub and shower. Newly renovated. Free parking on site (hard to come by in Europe :), on weekends shuttle to city center but also public bus stops outside hotel. Lovely central location to enjoy all Maastricht has to offer.

Room Tip: We choose the Luxe Kamer and really enjoyed the french doors for lovely fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

For conferences in the MECC, the location of this hotel is great. 10 minutes walk to the site and to the Maastricht Randwyck train station. If you're a tourist to the city, do yourself a favour and book closer to the city centre!

I was here for four nights for an event in the MECC. I found the hotel to be perfectly adequate for business travel - an hour of free WiFi every day (much appreciated); clean, large rooms with good storage and a nice big TV for the post-exhibition chill-out evenings. My room at the back of the hotel was nice and quiet; the curtains block out all the light. The bathroom was nice and spacious. Lovely, nice sized bath (mainly not so relaxing if you're tall but perfect for me!) and a shower with overhead and handheld shower heads. Well stocked with toiletries which were replenished every day.

Breakfast was good - wide range of breads, some hot choices, freshly cooked fried eggs, fruit, cold meats/cheeses, cereal and pastries. I ate in the bar twice. The food there was fine. Nothing terribly exciting but the pasta, soup, burgers etc were all perfectly edible.

If I was to be nit-picky, I'd say the corridors were dark and the lifts incredibly slow (also, where were the stairs?!) and with no mirrors (us vain businesspeople like a little look at ourselves on the way down to make sure nothing is out of place!) But generally it was fine. I've stayed in better business hotels but I can't really complain about anything here.

Room Tip: Apparently some of the rooms only have a bath, make sure you get your shower as well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I can't really fault Hotel Van Der Valk, but it might not be suitable if you rather stay close to main square. Hotel is not in central but 5-10 min walk from Maastricht Randwyck station, 10 min away from MECC (exhibition centre) and 15 min cab ride from all touristy attractions.
Very clean, amazing choice of breakfast options, lovely reception staff and spacious rooms. What else would you like?

Room Tip: Might not be your best choice for sightseeing trip, but great choice for business travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht

Address: Nijverheidsweg 35, 6227 AL Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Venere and Otel so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.